We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£56
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Binit K
London, United Kingdom

Great Hotel -great stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Oct 2019via mobile
We stayed there for 4 nights and had a fantastic stay .The hotel is very clean with spotless rooms .The breakfast served on the 2nd floor is very nice with great choices and different varieties every day . The public bath is very clean and nice and all areas are well maintained with a good relaxation room .

The front staff are very friendly with any advice and really take the pain and effort to help you .They handle any issues calmly and go out of their way to help you .Unfortunately I had trouble with my tooth whilst I was there ,however the hotel staff (Hazels, Odube) were very helpful in getting me an appointment in the near by Hirana Dental clinic. The doctor was very nice and sorted out my issue ,had to go back to back and the hotel staff were very helpful and co-operative in sorting this out .

On our last day they kept our luggage whilst we were sightseeing before preparing for our next journey and were very helpful and did it without any hesitation.

The location is fantastic and very close to the city centre and taxis are available right outside .

The staff provide a very professional service with high standards representing the great country of Japan in every way .

Will definitely stay here on our return and recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Kyoto .

Binit

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MGH-kyotosijo, Front Office Manager at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review
Responded 29 Oct 2019
Thank you for staying at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo.We are highly pleased that you are satisfied with the services we provide.Our aim is to offer a memorable experience in Kyoto for all of our guests. Therefore it is an absolute pleasure to find out that our services have been highly evaluated.We feel that all the work we have been put in is all worth it when we read a kind comment like yours. We continue working hard to provide the comfortable environment for our guests. We hope your stay has been something memorable and would like to come back again in the near future.We are pleased to announce that we are planning to have extention and renovation work this winter. Due to this construction, the entire building will be closed for 103days from 2nd December 2019 to 13rd March 2020. We are confident that the new environment will be more comfortable and satisfying for everyone. We look forward to welcoming you after a major change.We truly appreciate you taking your time to share your experience at our hotel.We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Front Office Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£109
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.4 miles from Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
【蓮花の湯】瞑想の湯(男性)
Tripadvisor
£94
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 miles from Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
新特別室RIKYU 庭
Tripadvisor
£60
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
3.8 miles from Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £234
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    £70
  • Priceline
0.8 miles from Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    £142
  • Priceline
1.2 miles from Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £151
  • Hotels.com
0.9 miles from Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £195
  • Priceline
0.8 miles from Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £62
  • Hotels.com
1.4 miles from Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
    £56
  • Hotels.com
1.2 miles from Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (954)
Filter reviews
954 results
Traveller rating
252
517
134
34
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
252
517
134
34
17
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 954 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2019

Location of this hotel is quite convenient for walking to the traditional market, bus station and tube station. Supermarket, convenient stores, restaurants, cafeteria and bars are available nearby. Though the room is bit small but it’s clean and convertible.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank MelissaLitUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MGH-kyotosijo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2019

Thank you for staying at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo.We truly appreciate that you have taken your time to share a review of your experience here.We are fortunate to be situated in central of Kyoto and the lively Shijo or Kawaramachi district is in walking distance. The Nishiki food market is 10minutes on foot from our hotel, also there are various kinds of restaurant and shops surrounding us. Kyoto city is covered by bus network. You can go to many places of interests with 1-day bus ticket. If you need help with directions please do not hesitate to talk to us at the reception.As for the size of the room, we are fortunately located in central of Kyoto and it is densely populated city so we designed most of our room a bit compact but for function and convenience.We have various types of rooms so please check out the website and find your ideal room.Thank you again for taking your time to leave a kind comment. It is always wonderful to find out our guests had a great time in Kyoto. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights while we toured Kyoto.

The rooms are clean and the staff functional and correct. This is a very basic hotel. There is no fitness center or pool. However, it does have a small public bath which is open to all guest. I think this hotel is positioned as a business hotel but most of the guests that I encounter seems to be tourist.

I picked this hotel as it is “near” Nikishi market. However it is quite a walk and it is better to take a bus there.

It is also quite a walk from the nearest train station especially with luggage.

If I travel to Kyoto again I will stay in a place closer to Kyoto station. There are more transport connections and shopping Malls around the station.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank WoonT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MGH-kyotosijo, Front Office Manager at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2019

Thank you for staying at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo.We truly appreciate that you have shared your comment with us.At our hotel, we have the garden view public bath where our guests can use for free. It is nice to extend your legs in the large hot bathtub after a long day of walking. Where we are located is convenient for our guests. We are situated just off the main Shijo street. From the Shijo underground station, it is approximately a 5 to 10 minute walk. To the famous Nishiki market it takes about 15 minutes on foot. The hotel is located in a residential part of town but we are surrounded by many small interesting restaurants. A convenience store is almost next to us, a couple of shops away. A 24 hour open super market is at the corner of the street. This is a great advantage for our guests to stay here with comfort.We are fortunate to be located in central Kyoto. For the most places of interest you can reach by taking a bus from the bus stops around the corner from us, or just a walk. At the reception, you can purchase a one day bus pass from the ticket vending machine. We have bus maps and tourist maps at the reception to give out. Please do not hesitate to ask us for directions.We hope you have enjoyed your experience in Kyoto.Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2019

We stayed in this hotel with another couple while on a holiday to Japan. The hotel is in a good location close to the main shopping centre and the subway. Rooms by Japanese standards are quite large and are well equipped. Breakfast was a little disappointing with some items such as bread not being regularly replenished, a minor point. Major irritation was arriving at 1.45 to be told we could not check in for 15 minutes so sat in reception waiting for 2.00pm, come on show some flexibility!!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmawhinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MGH-kyotosijo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2019

Thank you for staying at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo. We truly appreciate that you have taken your time to share a valuable review of your stay. It is wonderful to know that you have been satisfied with our convenient location and room. We are fortunate to be located in central of Kyoto. We are surrounded by various kinds of restaurants and shops along with popular shopping streets in walking distance. We hope you could enjoy strolling around this area during your stay. It is regrettable to know that our breakfast is not what you expected. Our breakfast is served as a buffet with Japanese cuisine as well as western dishes. It is “Obanzai” style breakfast, which is a traditional style of Japanese cuisine in native to Kyoto. Regarding to the check in, it is unfortunate that we had to make you wait at the reception. If cleaning is completed early and room is ready before your arrival, you may be able to check in earlier than expected. We hope your stay in Kyoto has been something memorable. We would like to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2019 via mobile

A very nice hotel with all the features you want! Breakfast available (we didn’t do it), bathhouses and close to the stations to get you anywhere. Local style restaurant in the near vicinity with helpful staff at the concierge.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank julianfloriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MGH-kyotosijo, マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2019

Thank you for having stayed at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo and taking the time to give us your valuable comment. We are so pleased to hear that you were very satisfied with our atmosphere,breakfast,public bath, location and staffs.Our staff members who speak English are normally present at the reception to help and support our international guests so, we could correspond with their requests.We attempt to do our guests for further improvement in our service and quality.We all look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2019

We had a good rate in autumn. The room was fine and the service was good. Location is quite central you can easely reach all intresting sights by bus from here. Buy a day ticket when you enter the buss.
The breakfast was very nice as well, specialy the cook Tamagoyaki did a very ambitious job. He even excused for having one day of. We stayed for four nights (minimum for a town like Kyoto).

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RealOlawo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MGH-kyotosijo, マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2019

Thank you for having stayed at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo and providing your
valuable comment. We are centrally located Shijo subway station is within the walking
distance, just five minutes walk. Our useful location also facilitates you to have
easy access to various directions in town. Based on this, it is our great pleasure
to welcome you back for a variety of purposes which Kyoto offers in diversity.
We are also delighted to hear that you were pleased with our breakfast in the moment
of relaxing morning. We value your precious comment which enables us to continuously
improve our services. Once again, we look forward to being of service to you on
your next visit to Kyoto in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews