We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable place”
Review of Hotel Nenrinbo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nenrinbo
Ranked #111 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Well I stayed here in our trip to Kyoto in March with my friends. Room was quite large (or beacause it had no bed so it seemed large) and comfortable. Some of my friends couldn't got used to the Janpanese style room, they got used to sleeping on bed, but for me, it's fine. Room had only basic funiture, no laptop. But this hotel had a very beatiful designed garden with strange plant. I love this place for its peaceful and quite atmostphere !! Recommended !!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vantungphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nenrinbo_kyoto, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Nenrinbo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

We apologize for the delay in our reply. Thank you very much for staying with us and the good rating for the room and garden. We are pleased with your comment and be glad taht you enjoyed the stay at Nenrinbo. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2009

We have never been treated so well anywhere else in the world. The service exceeded all our expectations. The staff people were the nicest people we have ever met. The rooms where nice clean japanese style rooms.
We went to Kyoto for 4 days and it was also our first trip to Japan. Arriving from Tokyo we were expecting to find all places, including the ryokan to be right next to a subway station but we found out that Kyoto only has 2 subway lines and that everything is reachable by bus. The ryokan was 15 minutes away by bus from the kitaoji station so it was well positioned to go to many of the places we wanted to visit in particular the kinkakuji gold temple. The japanese rooms have a nice view of a japanese garden and also it has a good view of the mountains. Our japanese room had a private bathroom but we also had access to a traditional japanese bath which had the most amazing view to the mountains. We included the option of breakfast and dinner in our reservation, which is traditional japanese food (yes you have option of american breakfast). We have never eaten so much and the quality of the dishes was excellent. For these reasons the prices were extremely reasonable. Nenrinbo has both western and japanese style rooms. They speak a little english and they were very helpful in giving us directions to the city. Because the ryokan location there is no city noise and we were able to enjoy the calmness of the place. To get from the Kyoto station to the ryokan you should take the subway karasuma line towards kokusaikaikan and get off at the kitaoji station, then go up stairs to the bus departure place and go to the E door. Then take the bus named "kita one" (weird symbol - 1) NOTE: dont take the bus number 1 which is different. Jump out in the takagamine genkoanmae stop and walk 4 minutes uphill.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank etng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nenrinbo_kyoto, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel Nenrinbo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

We apologize for the delay in our reply. Thank you very much for staying with us and the good rating of the room, meals and our services. We are proud of a nice view of a japanese garden and having a good view of the mountains. And we are glad that you enjoyed the calmness of the place, our Kaiseki dinner and the japanese style room. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 斎
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ozakidmtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 人見晴
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 大地2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chiyakom372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Nishijin District
THE JUNEI HOTEL Kyoto Imperial Palace West
City Center
Urban Hotel Kyoto Nijo Premium
Northern Kyoto
Grand Prince Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northern Kyoto
Momijiya Bekkan Kawa no Iori
Nishijin District
Nishijinso
Nishijinso
#294 of 379 in Kyoto
13 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokufuso
Ryokufuso
#34 of 379 in Kyoto
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nenrinbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nenrinbo

Address: 40 Takagaminekita Takagamine-cho, Kita-ku, Kyoto 603-8468, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Northern Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: £182 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Nenrinbo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting large communal baths and a beautiful garden that changes its colour with the season, Ryokan Nenrinbo is a traditional Japanese-style accommodation nestled in peaceful Kyoto mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Agoda, Rakuten, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Nenrinbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nenrinbo Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing