We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jezlinhotravels
Hong Kong, China

Very nice Ryokan and an authentic experience!

Review of Ryokan Nenrinbo
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Jan 2020
We stayed here for 3 days at the end of December 2019 as a family of 4 adults.
My parents stayed in a bigger room while my brother and I stayed in a normal twin room.
The rooms come with Futon beds which are laid out for you on the Tatami.

The service was very good and the front desk staff do speak English well enough to communicate with each other. The Ryokan hotel is very clean and comfortable. We were not able to go out to the Japanese garden as it was winter and thus closed but you have full view of it from the lobby area. The Onsen (and there are at least 3 onsens per gender) was very nice and comfortable (they open in the morning and after 4pm but not in between). Each Japanese hotel room also had its own toilet and bathtub which is also very comfortable. One suggestion for improvement is that the Futon should come with one more layer of cushion otherwise it’s quite hard for those not so used to the Japanese futons.

Breakfast was a treat and the food was always very beautifully laid out. The Ryokan’s location is to the north-west of Kyoto. It’s not too accessible unless you have hired your own car (parking is free). There is also a mini-bus service that the Ryokan operates but we did not use it. There is a 7 Eleven about 1 minute’s drive away.

One criticism is that the wifi in the Ryokan is not strong at all and you often get cut off. They should consider installing a better wifi system. I also think that the Wifi network is possibly funded partly by the government rather than by the Ryokan itself. They should certainly consider installing their own wifi system which cannot be that expensive.

Dinner was quite expensive (about £45 equivalent) so we drove to the nearest station at Kita Oji which has a mall with several restaurants. If you want to take dinner at Ryokan Nenrinbo you’d need to tell the front desk 1 day in advance.

For 3 nights, the standard room cost us HK$4500 while the bigger garden view room cost us HK$6700 for the bigger room (all inclusive of breakfast).
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£204
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £194
  • KLOOK
    £157
  • Expedia.com
    £221
3.6 miles from Ryokan Nenrinbo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£48
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £52
  • Agoda.com
    £37
  • Rakuten Travel
3.5 miles from Ryokan Nenrinbo
Free Wifi
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hotel Tou Nishinotoin Kyoto

£70
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £75
  • Priceline
    £56
  • Vio.com
    £59
4.6 miles from Ryokan Nenrinbo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£138
  • Expedia.com
    £134
  • KLOOK
    £84
  • Priceline
    £115
5.0 miles from Ryokan Nenrinbo
Free Wifi
Pool
£107
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £103
  • Vio.com
    £86
  • Priceline
    £119
5.2 miles from Ryokan Nenrinbo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£158
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £175
  • ZenHotels.com
    £94
  • Priceline
    £176
4.3 miles from Ryokan Nenrinbo
Restaurant
Room service
£58
Fully refundable
  • Rakuten Travel
  • Agoda.com
    £43
  • Priceline
    £46
5.3 miles from Ryokan Nenrinbo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
【蓮花の湯】瞑想の湯(男性)
£80
  • Priceline
    £83
  • Expedia.com
    £75
  • Rakuten Travel
4.9 miles from Ryokan Nenrinbo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£66
  • japanican.com
    £73
  • Vio.com
    £47
  • Priceline
    £52
4.9 miles from Ryokan Nenrinbo
Free Wifi
Free parking
新特別室RIKYU 庭
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Ryokan Yamazaki

£122
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £115
  • Hotels.com
    £111
  • Rakuten Travel
2.2 miles from Ryokan Nenrinbo
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
50
48
20
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
50
48
20
7
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2019

“This place was incredible! It was nestled close to the mountains, very charming, great service, and the meals were delicious! We truly loved everything about this experience, and for the price it was exceptional! The deep bathtub next to the window, the view of the beautiful courtyard out our windows, the little kitchenette were all wonderful!
We went sightseeing the day we checked out and the Ryoken had our luggage delivered to Kyoto Station for a very reasonable fee! So helpful! We were able to spend the entire day exploring and then retrieve our luggage when we were ready to leave town.”

Room tip: Wonderful accommodation! Very cozy, comfortable, clean, and all amenities!
Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Elisabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2019

We chose this Ryokan for it’s authenticity and great reviews and weren’t disappointed. The staff were amazing and went out of their way to help us (thank you Takahashi!) including choosing an excellent restaurant for dinner and then taking us there and also taking the time to map out our day (including all the train stations and lines) so that we could see everything we wanted to during our brief visit. The breakfast was fabulous - a genuine Japanese experience. And we loved our room. It was beautiful! And the futons were surprisingly comfortable. Would highly recommend - worth travelling out of the main hustle and bustle for.

Room tip: We were in room 607 which was lovely - nice and roomy for the 3 of us.
Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cruiser797162
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2018

My husband and I absolutely enjoyed your hospitality and facilities. it is tucked away in a quiet neighborhood, very relaxing atmosphere, and your meals were great!! We thoroughly enjoyed the scenery as well.I will definitely come back again if I am back in Kyoto.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Relax48720130231
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 December 2018 via mobile

A really nice traditional Japanese hotel. A serene location with a really friendly staff. Loved the traditional spa and the gardens. There are some really nice shrines a few steps away and the bus stop is also a few meters away. Loved it!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank alberteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2018

We made the booking because it was stated on Booking.com that the price we were paying for, would include dinner. But when we arrived, the itinerary from the receptionist stated ‘No Dinner and Breakfast.’ I showed him my Booking.com itinerary which showed ‘Meal Plan’ underneath by booking but they insisted there was no dinner for the price we were paying for. The facilities were just average. The onsen, was very much smaller and less physically attractive than the public bath that I went to. I feel that it isn’t worth the price that we paid for. The service was good, as with Japanese hotels in general!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mting929713
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews