We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location, but.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Eco and Tec Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eco and Tec Kyoto
Ranked #9 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location, but.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

I really wanted to give this hotel and 'excellent' review - location, price, features, breakfast buns, balcony,all wonderful. However, two things prevent me from doing so. Number one - the beds. Very hard, like sleeping-on-the-floor hard. Being in my 50's, I slept through the night but woke with hips and back aching (this usually doesn't happen to me in hotels)..ouch..the free massage chairs in the lobby helped, so that was nice. Number two - no elevator. Managed ok, but could be a problem for folks with knee issues. So, if you can handle these two issues, you should stay here! can't beat the location and price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boise_IdahoKitty39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    128
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
143
60
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

My wife and I ended up staying in Eco and Tec several more nights than we had planned. As others have pointed out, this place is a super deal for those of us looking for reasonably priced lodgings. The rooms are small but really, we spent very little time in them because the Higashiyama area around it is a fantastic location to explore. Plus, the lounge area has two fully functioning massage chairs and after a long day of walking, we just hung out there getting a massage and having tea.
A word about the staff - the most gracious, helpful bunch of folks we ran into on our travels through Japan. No request was too much - they were ever ready to give us information, call taxis, save us some money by pointing out deals - whatever we needed, they were there to help.
I highly recommend this spot - rent one of their bikes and explore away.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artstew5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Eco and Tec is a great budget option if you're visiting Kyoto - located very near the Higashiyama Metro Station, and multiple bus lines that go to virtually all of the top tourist sites in Kyoto area. Rooms are definitely cramped, but from what I understand par for the course for the area. Very comfortable and clean though. The hotel's lounge is spacious and very conducive to socializing or just spreading out guidebooks and maps to get travel plans put together. All in all, a solid choice if visiting the Kyoto area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiyen1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

###Good###

Location:
This hotel is in the quiet residential area that is very safe. Although it is not in the prime tourist area, the subway station is within the walking distance. It is also close to the convenience store which you can find any cheap-eat food.

Room:
I stayed in the triple room. The room was very clean and comfortable-not that small.

Remark
I would remind the others that this hotel doesn’t provide daily room cleaning-the rooms will be cleaned every four? (can’t remember exact number) nights. If you prefer the daily room cleaning, this hotel will charge you for this service. I have no problem with this policy as long as the room when I check in is clean. : )

###So-So###

Service:
Some staffs can speak English-not that fluent but adequate to communicate. Any way, all of them are helpful and polite.

Breakfast:
This hotel provides only THREE SMALL PIECES OF BREADS/PASTRIES with tea of coffee. It is not enough for me.

###Don’t like###

No elevator:
This hotel is not wheelchair-friendly. If you have heavy bags, the staffs are pleased to carry them to your room.

###Conclusion###

Over expectation for the budget hotel=>good price & location, clean and safe.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

This is a lovely place to stay whilst in Kyoto. Spotlessly clean place throughout. The price was reasonable and the location is very good for visiting many of the temples and shrines and I was able to walk to many of them, and the pretty Mayuma Park is very close. I also hired a bicycle from Eco and Tec and this was an excellent thing to do and I really recommend it. I felt completely safe walking around in the evening and many of the sights were illuminated at night and it was all so beautiful. The staff at Eco and Tek are all wonderful, most speak English, and everyone went out of their way to be helpful. The staff responded quickly and efficiently to all my emails beforehand and their instructions on how to arrive via Kyoto Station and their map was excellent. I had a very sweet room with a balcony overlooking a treelined street and local people`s homes. It was very quiet and the homely atmosphere made me feel I was a guest in someone`s home rather than a hotel. My wifi worked just fine in the room and there is use of a computer for free in the guest lounge area. Laundry facilities are very good (washing machines and driers) and you can hang your clothes out to dry in the fresh air and sun on your room balcony as there is a washing line facility. There is a guest lounge which is very nice and looks out onto green plants; there are free coffee and tea-making facilities, a microwave, and hot and cold drinking water. There are two free massage chairs which are very relaxing to use after a long day out. My room had a small ensuite bathroom, and everything worked great. The toilet is in the same ensuite and is a tight fit when the door is closed but this was really a very minor point and caused me no problems, but as this is a review I thought I would mention this. Each day at Reception, there is a weather update board which is a nice touch and actually really helpful. Eco and Tec has a very welcoming ambiance, is very clean, and is homely and relaxed rather than a hostel or luxury hotel. I had a wonderful stay here because the staff were all so friendly and helpful, my room was nice as well as quiet - I really recommend it and would happily come back again. Directions: The Eco and Tek is very close to the Higashiyama train/underground station on the Kyoto Municipal Subway Tozai Line. Take Exit 2, when you emerge out of the station at street level turn Left, walk a little way and where you see the river in front of you, you cross over the little bridge and then immediately after turn RIGHT and cross at the lights, follow the river which should now be on your RIGHT, at the Dentist on the corner, take that corner LEFT all the way down the little street and follow round and then the Eco and Tec is in front of you. You then need to follow the building around to the RIGHT to find the main entrance up some short stairs.

Room Tip: Room with balcony overlooking private homes was very nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mieldelune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We were looking for a centrally-located, inexpensive place to spend four nights in Kyoto - Eco and Tec was perfect for this. The location is fantastic - within walking distance to Gion, many shrines/temples (literally right around the corner is Shoren-in!), restaurants, shopping and other fantastic sites. Also very close to the subway (Higashiyama stop), which was easy to navigate. Neighbourhood was very, very quiet - but make sure to print off map, as we forgot to and had to ask for help to locate ;) Wander along the canal in the evening for a lovely walk.

There was a light pastry breakfast and coffee/tea in the morning, which was great before many days of shrine/temple wandering. The common room had free wifi, lots of brochures and a great, homey atmosphere. Reception spoke English and was very friendly. Only downside was the beds/pillows were a bit hard.

Like the name suggests, the hotel is ecologically minded in the fact that it doesn't change bedding/towels before four days unless you request/pay - I actually found this a nice touch. VERY good price for the location.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wishybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santorini, Greece
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

Hotel in a nice location, spacious rooms! Offered small breakfast & tea, water, coffee - anytime! Free wifi as well, rooms even have balconies. A lot of stuff to see around the hotel! Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#31 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco and Tec Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco and Tec Kyoto

Property: Eco and Tec Kyoto
Address: 40 Awadaguchi Sanjobocho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0035, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kyoto
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#17 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#20 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eco and Tec Kyoto 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
「3rd House」 The new stay style which aims at harmony with environment With the service which considered environment, while having you pass comfortably like a house, I contribute to a guest to the earth through management at society.Just 3minutes walk from Higashiyama Station on the Kyoto Municipal Subway Tozai Line, the hotel boasts a quiet location dotted with temples and shrines while being within reach of the bustling shopping district.Eco+Tec Kyoto will ensure you get the most out of your long stay in Kyoto in a style that takes the environment into consideration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eco and Tec Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco And Tec Kyoto Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing