We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly staff and good location”
Review of Eco and Tec Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eco and Tec Kyoto
Ranked #9 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“very friendly staff and good location”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

What a surprised to arrived in Kyoto and only to be helped by the staff of this hotel outside the metro station. (She just happened to passed by as we were checking the maps of the place. She was so nice and helpful. Make matter even better she offered us a ticket for 2 to watch the parade of the Festival of Ages the following day.
Our room is also a surprised as Japan is known to have small room and very expensive, but this one is very comfortable and have plenty of space. Even have metal hanger to hang the towels outside at the verandah. I must admit, I am very impressed with the thoughtfulness of the Japanese people and this hotel exceeded that expectation. We booked this room via direct phone call and did not know much what to expect. We are very pleased to recommend this to anyone who loves culture and the beauty of this place.

Room Tip: we were in room 208, very spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    133
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
152
65
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, California
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

we had a small but comfortable room (ok well the bathroom was more like and airplane bathroom!). staff was friendly and helpful. breakfast buns were minimal although convenience store nearby meant we could easily supplement it, plus there was a fridge in the room. mattresses are quite firm. wi-fi didn't work the first day but then everything was fine thereafter including ability to use it in our rooms (it was supposed to only work in the common area). enjoyed the massage chairs and long days walking kyoto temples, etc. handy to have laundry on site. location is great for catching the train but a bit far to walk to Gion. decent restaurants a short walk. all in all a great value - very reasonably priced accomodation. thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippin321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Nice rooms bigger than expected, writing table and stool, lots of storage spaces, TV although awkwardly placed, yukata (robes)
Firm beds but not uncomfortably hard; good sleeps
Free massage chairs, water, computers to use, laundry (soap available at reception for a small fee)
Common area with tables and chairs - kind of cafeteria-like as opposed to a lounge
Friendly staff that will make maps and other resources available to you
Quiet, wonderful neighbourhood with good access to transit and 30 minute walk to main shopping area
Breakfast is essentially some pastries - they weren't that great tasting nor filling for a day of walking
Not a huge selection of restaurants nearby but within a 20-30 minute walk lots of options

Room Tip: They're all the same so it just depends what floor you want. We were on the third and found it q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delilahs_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ito, Japan
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband liked this hostel best during our trip with four hotels in Nihon. There are subway stations and bus stations not far from the hostel, leading to Tokyo station and the major tourist attractions. A city bus day-pass is highly recommended. You can even walk to Gion Corner, Shijo Kawaramachi and Nishiki Ichiba for food, shopping, and traditional nipponian marketing with seafood and pickled vegetables.

The staffs were friendly, the room was not big but well-appointed, and the public area was outstanding. We spent one or two hours in the lounge ever night preparing for the next day route, drew support from the references in the public area.

It would be better if wifi covered the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YAO2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I'll keep it short since everyone has already noted how wonderful this place is. I would recommend this hotel to friends without hesitation. This is an affordable, well located, clean, and pleasant place to stay.

Only a few small suggestions for improvement:
-Hotel NEEDS wifi in the rooms. Too inconvenient to use the one internet accessible computer shared by all in the lobby.
-Fresh fruit at the breakfast would be lovely.
-A second towel bar in the bathroom would be nice when trying to hang bath towels. No where to hang them to dry as it is now!

Overall though, an outstanding hotel!

Room Tip: If you plan on using your balcony, ask for one NOT above the smoking porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrunaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Nice hotel with a very correct pricing (for Japan), nice location, closeby the main temples, bikes for rent which is a perfect way to visit this green city.
Room are clean and big enough to stay comfortable. Bathroom is small (but this is not a surprise in Japan) but clean and good. Breakfast is rather basic.
Last but not least, the hotel provides two free massage chairs which are wonderful after a day of sightseeing in the city.
We certainly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeertDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viana do Castelo, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

We realy liked this place and wished we could have stayed longer but there are also some cons to it.
It requires to change subway lines to get to kyoto station and the offered breakfest could be best, i would prefer just simple fresh made bread to the pasteries.
Despite this we dont think you can do mutch better for central location near Gion and value.
I already miss the walks near the river canal at night...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filiphdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
#12 of 369 in Kyoto
486 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace
Sakura Terrace
#19 of 369 in Kyoto
835 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#33 of 369 in Kyoto
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco and Tec Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco and Tec Kyoto

Property: Eco and Tec Kyoto
Address: 40 Awadaguchi Sanjobocho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0035, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kyoto
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#17 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#20 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eco and Tec Kyoto 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
「3rd House」 The new stay style which aims at harmony with environment With the service which considered environment, while having you pass comfortably like a house, I contribute to a guest to the earth through management at society.Just 3minutes walk from Higashiyama Station on the Kyoto Municipal Subway Tozai Line, the hotel boasts a quiet location dotted with temples and shrines while being within reach of the bustling shopping district.Eco+Tec Kyoto will ensure you get the most out of your long stay in Kyoto in a style that takes the environment into consideration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eco and Tec Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco And Tec Kyoto Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing