We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Room with a Perfect Host”
Review of Nishikiro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nishikiro
Ranked #140 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My friend and I stayed in a Twin Room for 2 nights during a leisure trip around Japan. We wanted to experience a traditional Ryokan and chose Nishikiro to stay in.

A short 5 minute walk from Kyoto station, Nishikiro is extremely easy to find and very easy to travel to! Nishi the owner speaks extremely good English and constantly made sure that we were attended to. Her friendly attitude is the biggest selling point of this Ryokan and it really made us feel right at home!

The room was a traditional Japanese style with Tatami mats, futons & sliding doors! Super cool but very different to Western accommodation, if you have never used a traditional Japanese room before make sure you know what you're letting yourself in for! :)

All in all it was a perfect stay, if we're ever in Kyoto again we'll definitely be choosing to stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inu_Rayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

We have spent 4 nights in Nishikiro Ryokan. We have been positively surprised by the warm welcome and quiet and peaceful atmosphere. We had a simple but comfortable Japanese style bedroom with futons and shared bathroom. We enjoyed the very nice welcome and smile from Nishi. Nishi is exrtemely helpful although she does not speak English very well. You will enjoy clean,quiet, nicely decorated rooms with free internet Wifi. No breakfast nor diner but the Ryokan is 5min walk from Kyoto central station with all convenient places at hand.

Room Tip: View on the patio and bassin with fishes. From there you have also a very good free wifi signal in y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flore136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chouquetteuhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MosesVillain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrTavirow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sevo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Fujiya Ryokan
Fujiya Ryokan
#159 of 379 in Kyoto
35 reviews
Nishijin District
Nishijinso
Nishijinso
#286 of 379 in Kyoto
13 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokan Nakajimaya
Ryokan Nakajimaya
#235 of 379 in Kyoto
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Matsubaya Inn
Matsubaya Inn
#64 of 379 in Kyoto
517 reviews
City Center
Nashinoki Inn
Nashinoki Inn
#277 of 379 in Kyoto
25 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nishikiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nishikiro

Address: 711-7 Higashishiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: £85 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten and Cancelon so you can book your Nishikiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing