We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dining experience”

Giro Giro Hitoshina
Ranked #86 of 12,247 Restaurants in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Shimogyo-ku
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had an excellent dining experience at Giro Giro! Although reservations are strongly suggested, we were lucky to walk in and find two places at the balcony where we could watch the young staff prepare creative and delicious food. Fun dining experience and not expensive for the opportunity to experience a contemporary version of traditional kaiseki.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    46
    15
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Creative and fun dining experience”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were seated at bar counter where the chefs prepared the food. Great experience, from the creative food to the attentive and fun chefs. A japanese guy beside me kept on ordering sake for the chefs which seemed to me like a gesture of thanks for the wonderful dishes. It made the chefs more relaxed and engaging to the diners. Will definitely see them again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lpj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Modern Kaiseki”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This place is a great option if dining in Kyoto. It is like many of the restaurants in Kyoto, hard to find. It is worth the trouble to find it. It is a great alternative to traditional kaiseki. The dishes are creative, great flavors and still maintains the tradition of seasonal courses. The atmosphere is lively, youthful, exciting. Not to mention chefs with "punk style" hair. The food is not only exceptional it is a quarter of the price of comparable places.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lastresortname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I'm a fool to not keep this a secret....”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

One of the most mind blowing food experiences I've ever had. I'm not a foodie and I'm not a food snob. So perhaps I don't have credibility. But I've never eaten so many of the amazing tastes and types of food that I had here. Prepared in the most artistic and creative way I've ever seen. It's also a truly exceptional Japanese experience for a foreigner

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigBenBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry England
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“GIRO GIRO is a great choice”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

If you base things on how popular places are, then this is a great starter. We turned up to an answer of 10.30pm and had to book two days in advance to get a 6.30pm slot. We were glad that we came back as the 8 course set menu for around 3,800 yen was excellent value. Being at the bar right beside the kitchen was very atmospheric and appeared to be a better choice than being upstairs. All the courses were great and there was a real diversity. Unfortunately we added 4 large beers (around 2,500 yen) and 2 dry sake (3,000 yen but excellent) and ended up with a final bill around 13,000 yen. Well it was our last meal in Kyoto.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simoncoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giro Giro Hitoshina also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Giro Giro Hitoshina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing