We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going through the motions”

Giro Giro Hitoshina
Ranked #88 of 12,189 Restaurants in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Shimogyo-ku
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Going through the motions”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Firstly, thought the 3,500yen tasting menu was excellent value. An interesting take on kaisekei. That was probably the best bit. There was zero interaction with the chefs, and the english speaking waiter only spoke to us when we walked in, and walked out. We were never informed of any menu offerings/progression, or asked if we had any dietary requirements, sort of essential when you are just going to give people food. We have eaten at many izakaya throughout Japan, on all price levels, many with no english, only google translate and our phrasebook, and had a far superior experience. The chefs were just going through the motions. All the guests at the counter were tourists, as of course I am, but this leaves me the impression that giro giro has had it's day. Izakaya Owan, in Yoyogi-hachiman, Tokyo, is a benchmark for us.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sheepwhisperer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    46
    15
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of my trip”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I did read a good review on NY Times but didn't really know what to expect.
As I only speak a few words in Japanese I was worried about the language barrier but the super professional and friendly waiter spoke English and explained everything perfectly.
The chef and his sous-chefs, together with what seemed like local regular guests created wonderful atmosphere. Even if we first didn't speak the same language, I was welcomed in as one of them, being offered drinks by my fellow guests.
Food, looking more like pieces of art, started coming in and everything tasted fantastic. I was very luck to be seated at the bar counter, watching the dinner being prepared as everything was done with such flair that you know these guys know exactly what they are doing.
Some of the food took me out of my (Western) comfort zone but as it is a set menu, you don't have too much choice, and I am very happy I got to try lots of new flavours. I was asked if I had any allergies or special requirements, though.
Eventually my dinner got to its end and unfortunately I had to leave the restaurant but before leaving I shared some sake with the chef and the waiter (in Japan you don't leave a tip, instead, if you really insist, you may offer a drink).
I will definately go back next time in Kyoto and can hardly to wait the try the chef's other restaurant in Paris!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JTK595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had an excellent dining experience at Giro Giro! Although reservations are strongly suggested, we were lucky to walk in and find two places at the balcony where we could watch the young staff prepare creative and delicious food. Fun dining experience and not expensive for the opportunity to experience a contemporary version of traditional kaiseki.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Creative and fun dining experience”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were seated at bar counter where the chefs prepared the food. Great experience, from the creative food to the attentive and fun chefs. A japanese guy beside me kept on ordering sake for the chefs which seemed to me like a gesture of thanks for the wonderful dishes. It made the chefs more relaxed and engaging to the diners. Will definitely see them again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lpj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Modern Kaiseki”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This place is a great option if dining in Kyoto. It is like many of the restaurants in Kyoto, hard to find. It is worth the trouble to find it. It is a great alternative to traditional kaiseki. The dishes are creative, great flavors and still maintains the tradition of seasonal courses. The atmosphere is lively, youthful, exciting. Not to mention chefs with "punk style" hair. The food is not only exceptional it is a quarter of the price of comparable places.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lastresortname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giro Giro Hitoshina also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Giro Giro Hitoshina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing