We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Memorable Stay in Kyoto”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Microwave,Fridge,Oven toaster, Kettle , IH cooking heater,and simple kitchenware are available Inspired by Taisho Era,
which Japanese & Western cultures are mixed.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Microwave,Fridge,Oven toaster, Kettle , IH cooking heater,and simple kitchenware are available
Inspired by Taisho Era,
which Japanese & Western cultures are mixed.
Western  Living Room
Japanese Living Room
Second Floor
Master Bed room
Bathroom
Washing machine and clothes dryer,  hair dryer are available.
Entrance Sign
Outside View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Traditional) first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
lsmak127
Macau, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable Stay in Kyoto”
Reviewed 21 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The location of KyotoKnot is quite good. Departing from Gojo Subway Station, we spend about six minutes to get there, on the way, we can find convenient shop, supermarket and restaurant. On the other hand, there is one bus stop near the guesthouse. How convenient it is!

The facility of the guesthouse is also good. We appreciate the effort that the host put into renew an antique house into a guesthouse which combines the old and the new. We have to mention the the open kitchen is remarkable, the host offer different tools and tableware for guest, so that guest can enjoy cooking while staying. Moreover, there is a booklet related to the renewal of the guesthouse, we are impressed.

The host of KyotoKnot is very nice and helpful guy. She is willing to answer our questions and give us some recommentation about seeking cherryblossom.

We spent our good time in KyotoKnot =)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2018
Dear lsmak127
Thank you for your great review for us.
We are very impressed that you felt old&new atmosphere during your stay.
It is very good to hear that you also enjoyed checking our booklet as well.Every times guest checked our booklet, that made us happy since we are willing to hear how our guest felt about out house.

By the way, it was good to hear that all of you could see the beautiful cherry blossoms even though the season has come earlier than usual.
Please come to see autumn leaves next time, that is also popular as much us cherry blossoms.

We hope we can welcome you again in the near future!

Kyoto Knot
Kazu&Moe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itsuko_Hi...
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Want to make yourself feel home at a traditional Japanese house? Experience Kyoto Knot Vacation House!”
Reviewed 2 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

If you are on vacation with your family or friends, I'd say 2-4 people, and looking for a 100 year old Japanese house experience, this is the place. It is beautifully renovated to accommodate vacationers with comfort. It is a house to yourself while you are there. A 24-hour supermarket is located nearby so if you are tired of eating out, there is that great option of cooking in a decently modernized kitchen. The second floor has that ambiance of traditional Japanese house. We only slept there on futon But thinking back, dining on the tatatmi-room on the second floor would have been great too. The owners Moe and Kazu are a lovely couple!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2018
Dear Itsuko_Hisashi

Thank you very much for the perfect review!
It made us feel happy to hear your feedback.
Hope you enjoyed your stay with our house and of course sightseeing in Kyoto as well.
Arigato Gozaimasu, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Kyoto Knot
Moe&Kazu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reza M
1 review
“Great for first time tourists!”
Reviewed 4 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Such a lovely, lovely place to stay. Every little detail in the house reminded us of the great care the hosts have taken to ensure that we had a pleasant stay. The location was perfect, as everything was close by. We spent a lot of time just exploring the neighborhood walking around. Bus stop is nearby as well as a bicycle rental store. All in all, it exceeded our expectations and we were fortunate to enjoy the great hospitality from the hosts.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2018
Dear Reza

Thank you for your lovely review for us!
We are glad to hear your feedback.
Hope you have a great memory of your honeymoon trip in Japan,
and we are very happy to be chosen for your special trip.
Our house is also useful for family,so that
we hope we can welcome you with family for the next opportunity!
Take care,and we are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best,
Kyoto Knot
Kazu&Moe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellys020...
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
“It is a wonderful stay”
Reviewed 16 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Besides the Hot Spring Hotel, I always choose Business Hotel as my accommodation when I travel in Japan. Kyoto knot is the first time I live in a traditional Japanese house. Before visiting,I was a bit worried about the heating problems of a traditional house. After visiting, I found it is not a problem at all. Although Kyoto Knot retains the traditional flavor, but also integrated into the modern convenience. It is cozy to stay

Every corner of the house is clean and tidy. The bedding is also comfortable.
Dining room is my favorite place, where the elegant decor and warm atmosphere let me stay and do not want to leave.The bathroom is also worth mentioning because there is more than a shower and a large and comfortable bathtub. After a long day's journey, it is a great thing to have a relaxing bath.

In addition, most importantly, there is a very thoughtful and friendly hostess with heartfelt and charming smile in Kyoto Knot.She knew we had a one-year-old child traveling with us so that she prepared a baby buggy for us in advance. She also helped us make a reservation for MK taxi when she knew that we will leave by taxi on the next day. Although it has a little trouble with the MK taxi, she was still very enthusiastic to help us to find the solution even it was early in the morning.

Anyway, we all had a great time in Kyoto Knot.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2017
Dear Kellys0204

Thank you very much for writing your review for us!
Again we are very sorry for the MK taxi trouble.
Sometimes they are too busy so that they cannot be sure to pick guests up on the exact time.
We appreciate your patient.
By the way, we are very happy to hear your comment and
it makes us happy!
Thank you very much for your lovely voice and we enjoyed reading your message on our guestbook too.
Family guests including kids are very welcomed here,so
you do not need to worry about stroller next time you visit here!

Again, Thank you for choosing us and
we are looking forward to seeing you again.

Kyoto Knot
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanyinh
1 review
“Spacious renovated house, great location, warm and gracious host”
Reviewed 28 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed at Kyoto Knot for 3 nights in October. Converted from an old shop, this cute house has a lot of cool characters and history. The facility in the house is very modern though. We love the kitchen very much, it has everything needed for cooking a nice meal – definitely feels like home. Upstairs there is a living room area for relaxing, listening to the music and enjoying Kyoto atmosphere. Overall the space is more than enough for a family of four.
The location is perfect. It only takes a few minutes to a subway station and several sightseeing spots. There is a direct bus route to Golden Pavilion. Taking a taxi to Kyoto station costs less than 700 JPY. It’s easy to find convenient stores and good restaurants around the house too.
The host is super friendly and helpful. We can feel how much they care for the guests. It’s been one of the best places we have ever stayed.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2017
Dear shanyinh

Thank you very much for your feedback!
It seems you enjoy travelling in Kyoto so much and we are very happy to hear that.
Since your review helps us to do the best for our guest, so that we will constantly work to improve our service from now on too.

Again, Thank you very much for choosing us and
we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future!

Kyoto Knot
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanGirl...
Honolulu
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Everything needed for a home stay in convenient Kyoto location - Great service!”
Reviewed 19 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Pictures are accurate for this very large and comfortable space that is a far better value than hotel rooms for the same (or even higher) price. The place is spotless and beautifully renovated. There are plenty of electrical outlets, and they even had several three- to two-pronged adapters (not the case in the hotels we've stayed in). The house is well lit with handy labels so you don't have to guess which lights will go on when you flip the switch.

Kitchen had all needed appliances with basics for meal prep including tea and coffee, sugar, salt, pepper, olive oil and shoyu. Fantastic shower with adjustable height for us tall people, and the washroom/bathroom had shampoo, conditioner, soap, etc. We made good use of the umbrellas provided. We experienced both very hot and cool weather, and the AC/heater worked well.

There is a rather steep stair case up to the sleeping room and two living rooms. The handrail is sturdy, so no worries going up and down.

The house is about a 12-15 minute walk from Kyoto JR station. The #50 bus (find it at the B2 bay at JR station) stops very close to the house. The Gojo subway station is about a 5 minute walk away. We enjoyed wandering the neighboring streets, poking around in the local shops and trying the nearby restaurants. There is a coffee shop across the street and a Fresco grocery store around the corner.

Best of all was the fantastic welcome, house keeping and personal assistance provided by Moe. She was quick to respond to email/phone calls. Directions to the house were easily followed, and she came promptly after we'd arrived for the check-in process. She happily provided an extra futon for our comfort.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2017
Dear UrbanGirl808

Thank you very much for writing your review for us.
We are sorry for not respond to your review any sooner.
Actually,your feedback is very appreciated and encouraging!

Besides,we enjoyed chatting with you during housekeeping and it was a wonderful time.
We would love to be considered again next time you have the chance to visit Kyoto.
Looking forward to welcoming you!

Kyoto Knot-Moe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuggsyMur...
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Terrific Find and Lovely Service.”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a great stay at the Kyoto Knot Vacation House. It's a relatively new place, recently renovated, so not many reviews - but what a find! The photos here are completely accurate. You get an entire house for the price of a hotel room, including kitchen and bath with washer/dryer, all done in a traditional Japanese style, with ryokan style bedding - good for two friendly couples, ideal for one couple. Location is only one subway stop from the central Shijo district (Nishiki Market/Pontocho Dori), and a quick cab ride from Kyoto Station. Moe is a great hostess and communicator, who made checking in and out very easy. If you're only used to western-style beds and bathing, it may take some getting used to, but the Kyoto Knot is highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2017
Dear MuggsyMurphy

Thank you for writing your review for us!
We apologize for not writing back to you any sooner.
As you said, we do not have reviews so much at this moment but
we are very happy to hear your feedback here!
Since we are still new, there are less review but your voice here is very helpful.
Again, Thank you very much for choosing us and
we are looking forward to seeing you for your next opportunity!

Kyoto Knot
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing