We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£45
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Priceline
£31
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
£28
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Navara68
Bangkok, Thailand

Great location for Arashiyama and Kyoto city

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Apr 2024via mobile
Hotel M plus Shijo Omiya located only 2-3 minutes from Randen Train station which direct you to Arashiyama only 25 minutes. Also easy to board buses to Shijo Kawaramachi which is Kyoto’s shopping street. We stayed only 1 night for our Arashiyama and Sakura at night at Maruyama koen next to Yakasa Shrine. Staff are nice and speak English, room’s in good design and clean.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£221
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £245
  • Agoda.com
    £191
  • Hotels.com
    £230
0.8 miles from Hotel M's Plus Shijo Omiya
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£145
  • Hotels.com
    £145
  • Vio.com
    £117
  • Expedia.com
    £142
1.4 miles from Hotel M's Plus Shijo Omiya
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£87
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £67
  • Agoda.com
    £65
  • Hotels.com
    £80
0.9 miles from Hotel M's Plus Shijo Omiya
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£62
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £59
  • Agoda.com
    £52
  • Expedia.com
    £71
1.6 miles from Hotel M's Plus Shijo Omiya
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£104
  • Expedia.com
    £117
  • Agoda.com
    £77
  • Priceline
    £116
1.6 miles from Hotel M's Plus Shijo Omiya
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£225
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £309
  • Agoda.com
    £166
  • Expedia.com
    £287
1.2 miles from Hotel M's Plus Shijo Omiya
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
£59
  • japanican.com
    £67
  • Vio.com
    £45
  • Priceline
    £54
1.3 miles from Hotel M's Plus Shijo Omiya
Free Wifi
Free parking
【蓮花の湯】瞑想の湯(男性)
Booking.com
£89
  • Priceline
    £88
  • Agoda.com
    £82
  • Vio.com
    £86
1.3 miles from Hotel M's Plus Shijo Omiya
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£40
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £33
  • Agoda.com
    £29
  • Vio.com
    £35
1.8 miles from Hotel M's Plus Shijo Omiya
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£61
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £67
  • Agoda.com
    £56
  • Vio.com
    £58
3.5 miles from Hotel M's Plus Shijo Omiya
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
62
139
43
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
62
139
43
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hankyu line the bus modern hotel kyoto station stayed here for nights free toiletries ice machine family mart within walking distance comfortable stay comfortable room triple room fantastic hotel coin laundry the ground floor excellent location arashiyama
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2023

If you can get best price for this hotel you're lucky because the hotel is very strategic cause near of the train station and bus station also trem station. The room have bathroom so you can enjoy your hot bath in bathtub. They also provide night pijamas to wear so you can wash your clothes.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ホテルエムズ 予約担当, オーナー at Hotel M's Plus Shijo Omiya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2023

Dear Dewe17

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Hotel M's Plus Shijo Omiya.
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to meet your expectations.
Also, thank you for having praise for location.
We are always looking for ways to improve our services, and your feedback is invaluable to us.
We will take your comments into account as we continue to strive to provide our guests with the best possible experience.

Thank you again for choosing Hotel M's Plus Shijo Omiya.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Hotel M's Plus Shijo Omiya
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2023

Nice and comfortable room, the bathroom was clean.
We liked the location, there are many buses that stop nearby so it's very easy to get anywhere. Direct bus to Kyoto Station. We also walked to Pontocho twice, and it's a nice walk.
Staff was friendly, we were allowed to leave our luggage after check-out.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Suzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ホテルエムズ 予約担当, オーナー at Hotel M's Plus Shijo Omiya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2023

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for having stayed with us at Hotel M's Plus Shijo Omiya and taking the time to share your valuable feedback.
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your room, the bathroom, and the location.
We also appreciate that you mentioned our friendly staff .

We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience, so your feedback is very valuable to us. We will continue to work hard to provide our guests with the best possible service and accommodations.

We hope to see you again soon!

Hotel M's Plus Shijo Omiya
Front desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2023

This modern hotel is close to Shijo Omiya for the metro (less than 5 minutes away) and is centrally located with lots of bus stops within walking distance to many of Kyotos attractions. There are also lots of restaurants in the immediate area.

The room was fantastic value for money and whilst small, was practical, clean and modern and nicely configured. There was a safe, a fridge and kettle and shelves for personal items and clothing. There was also an AC unit and free toiletries - the body wash was really nice. The hotel provide bottled water each day.

The staff were really helpful and some of the things we really liked about this hotel were that they have a coin laundry on the second floor which was reasonably priced and they also had an ice machine. On the ground floor is a communal kitchen where you can get water and there was also a microwave if you wanted to heat up food. They also offer coffee for 100 yen which was inexpensive and saved us going out.

At reception you can buy a one day bus ticket for 700 yen which was a bargain and we travelled by bus or on foot to the many incredible temples and attractions. The staff will also provide a bus map which was helpful in helping us get around.

Across the road is a family mart and on the same side of the road is a seven eleven if you want to pick up snacks and inexpensive food. We got some great sandwiches here for lunch and nice salads for lunch. They have Japanese as well as more European options.

We stayed here for 5 nights and had a really comfortable and enjoyable stay. We would absolutely recommend this hotel.

Room tip: Ask reception for a one day bus pass for 700 yen - the buses are fantastic for exploring Kyoto
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Biffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ホテルエムズ 予約担当, オーナー at Hotel M's Plus Shijo Omiya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2023

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay with us at Hotel M's Plus Shijo Omiya .

We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant experience and enjoyed your stay with us.

It is always wonderful to receive positive feedback from our guests and we are pleased that our hotel met your expectations.
Our team strives to provide exceptional service to all of our guests,
and we are delighted to hear that we were able to make your stay with us a memorable one.
Thank you once again for your feedback, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Hotel M's Plus Shijo Omiya
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2023

The best value of this hotel would be its location. There's the Randen line just across the street to take you to Arashiyama and western Kyoto. There's the Omiya station of the Hankyu line about a 5min walk to take you to northern and southern Kyoto. Then there's the numerous buses which stops 5mins from the hotel to take you to/from Kiyomizudera, Gion, Pontocho and most of eastern Kyoto.

The rooms are clean and spacious as compared to regular Japanese business hotels (we got the Triple room). They are following an eco-friendly policy where you can choose not let the cleaning service come into your room, but if you are staying for more than 3 days, they require you to let cleaning service replace towels and sheets. The only weird part about the room was the shower/bath room, which was designed to be like the showers used in onsen where you are supposed to sit down, only that there's no chair (we didn't check with the staff if they provided a chair).

There was a nice lounge at the 1st floor where you can get coffee (100yen / cup) and where you could heat up food (bento meals bought from nearby kombini's) to either start your day or after a long day of touring Kyoto.

Room tip: The hotel has a self-service-type store at the front desk where you can buy your cup for the coffee and other snacks.
Date of stay: May 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ginomempin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2023 via mobile

Very homey hotel, friendly and hospitable hotel staff, spacious kitchen, lovely family room, complete amenities (pair of pajamas in the bedroom), free toiletries (body towel, dental kit, cotton, shaver, hair comb). These are available near the front desk after checking in. Bathroom has shampoo, hair conditioner and body wash. Slippers in the bedroom too!
Excellent - Location-wise - near subway, Lawson, Family Mart, 711, drugstore and restaurants. Guests are allowed to bring in their own food and use the hotel’s well-spaced kitchen complete with microwave/toaster, condiments etc.
Many thanks Hotel M’s
Plus !! We had a lovely and comfortable stay in Kyoto♥️
We keep on coming back because Japan is our second home♥️🇯🇵♥️

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Z5028QTsusans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews