We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Danny C
London, United Kingdom

A wonderful stay at a hospitable ryokan

Review of Ryokan Tori
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Jun 2023
We couldn't have asked for a warmer and more hospitable place to stay that Ryokan Tori. The couple who run it are so kind and welcoming and will go the extra mile to make your trip memorable. The breakfast was delicious and varied every morning, the tea ceremony was elegant and fascinating and the rooms were comfortable. They provided great recommendations for the local area and helped to arrange our luggage forwarding which made the next stage of our trip a lot easier. This is a brilliant place and we would love to come back and stay again.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£50
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 miles from Ryokan Tori
Free Wifi
£107
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.2 miles from Ryokan Tori
Free Wifi
Restaurant
【蓮花の湯】瞑想の湯(男性)
£102
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.9 miles from Ryokan Tori
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£55
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.5 miles from Ryokan Tori
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £183
  • Priceline
1.6 miles from Ryokan Tori
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £65
  • Priceline
2.6 miles from Ryokan Tori
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £104
  • Vio.com
3.1 miles from Ryokan Tori
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £103
  • Priceline
2.3 miles from Ryokan Tori
Restaurant
Room service
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £59
  • Algotels
3.3 miles from Ryokan Tori
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    £70
  • Priceline
3.0 miles from Ryokan Tori
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
19
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
19
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2023

Traditional Ryokan experience in NW Kyoto. Owners can not do enough for you. Traditional bath, tea ceremony and Japanese breakfast. Myself and two adult sons shared a traditional room sleeping on Tatami mats but had a great nights sleep. Excellent recommendations for nearby restaurants and to visit geisha lane where we saw our first geishas is the trip.

Room tip: Ask for restaurant recommendations
Date of stay: March 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Co_MeathEvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 November 2019 via mobile

If you are doing what I did and researching Ryokans, you probably have 19288 tabs open right now. Let me save you time. Stop looking and stay here. Our stay here was the highlight of our trip. The couple who own Ryokan Tori go above and beyond in every sense of the word. We've never felt more welcome or more taken care of. They are truly the kindest, most hospitable people. From the moment we arrived, they got us setup in our Tatami Room, complete with Yukatas, got our private bath ready for us, and then escorted us to a tea ceremony. Satako gave us some suggestions for dinner and while we were out, had our beds prepared for us. My husband cannot stop talking about how comfortable the bed was lol. The next morning we had the most delicious traditional Japanese breakfast and off we went. They have put great attention to detail not only in the care of their guests but in the renovations. The hospitality here is unmatched. Would stay 2838383 more times. I highly recommend you stay too!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kkatnthehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 October 2019 via mobile

Set back from a major road, visitors staying at Ryokan Tori are treated with the best Traditional Japanese hospitality. From traditional futons in bedrooms, the welcoming tea ceremony done perfectly, to the true wonderful Japanese breakfast the stay becomes an unmissable experience. This was one of the major highlights of our visit to Japan. We are so glad to have had this unmissable experience.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank anthonykB3463UL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2019

We were taken care of from the moment we set foot through their door. Though we were early, they graciously took our bags and advised us on attractions to pass the time before check-in. Once we checked in, our bags were already brought to our room, we were served tea, and our bath was already being prepared. After our bath, and a little more sightseeing, we returned in time for the tea ceremony which was absolutely amazing. There's a lot of power and emotion in witnessing this ancient tradition, and the tea was delicious. We were given the story and history of the tea ceremony, and made to feel like this was the first time they'd ever performed it for their guests. It was a very real and genuine Japanese experience, and a real honour to be a part of. Breakfast was so stunning to look at that we almost felt bad eating it. The room in which we eat was gorgeous as well. It's a relatively small Ryokan, and so there's a sense of exclusivity and solitude you wouldn't otherwise get at a bigger inn.

The only downside to this amazing place, in my opinion, is the location. Although it is somewhat away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Kyoto (which some may very well appreciate) it would be difficult for anyone to get to any of the main attractions without having to take an array of public transportation or taxis.

Room tip: Try to at least get the standard room as the budget would be quite small
Date of stay: May 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank thomasliama
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2019 via mobile

Stayed for one night to experience a traditional ryokan. We have not been disappointed. Our hosts did everything to ensure we enjoyed our experience. From the cooling bath session not long after arrival on a very hot August day, to the intriguing tea ceremony and the traditional delicious breakfast, our hosts have made this a thoroughly authentic and enjoyable experience.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 521JulieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews