We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
rclee
Singapore, Singapore

Quaint Romantic Japanese Hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks agovia mobile
The staffs are extremely friendly and helpful providing us the map of amenities nearby and even gave us a detailed explanation of how to use the different functions and details of our room.

I noticed the hotel has no lifts, so going up and down might be a challenge for disabled person. You might want to notify the hotel in advance for a room on the ground floor.

Room is really huge for two person. Large sitting area, a huge bathroom and just lots of space. The room comes soft music and a separate music for the bath. Totally zen feeling.

The only downside is the location - the nearest train station is a 15mins walk away but at the same time I love the quiet neighborhood away from all the tourist and crowd. I would recommend taking a bus to visit all the popular attractions since Kyoto is not as well connected via the train compared to Osaka or Tokyo. The bus stop is a short 3-4mins walk away. Bus 12 brings you to the downtown Shijo area (20mins ride).

The nearest FamilyMart/convenience store is 4mins walk if you wanted to grab snacks or drinks.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Prepare to walk a good 15mins from the nearest train station - Marutamachi Station (Karasuma...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
THE JUNEI HOTEL 京都, 支配人 at THE JUNEI HOTEL Kyoto Imperial Palace West, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr. rclee1988,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

It was an absolute pleasure having you both and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope your time in Kyoto exceeded your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kindest regards,

THE JUNEI HOTEL Kyoto Imperial Palace West
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £194
  • Priceline
0.9 miles from THE JUNEI HOTEL Kyoto Imperial Palace West
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £50
  • Hotels.com
0.9 miles from THE JUNEI HOTEL Kyoto Imperial Palace West
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £58
  • Booking.com
2.0 miles from THE JUNEI HOTEL Kyoto Imperial Palace West
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £103
  • Priceline
2.5 miles from THE JUNEI HOTEL Kyoto Imperial Palace West
Free Wifi
Pool
£56
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
2.7 miles from THE JUNEI HOTEL Kyoto Imperial Palace West
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • Rakuten Travel
    £93
  • Hotels.com
2.6 miles from THE JUNEI HOTEL Kyoto Imperial Palace West
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £193
  • Hotels.com
1.6 miles from THE JUNEI HOTEL Kyoto Imperial Palace West
Restaurant
Room service
【蓮花の湯】瞑想の湯(男性)
£76
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
2.3 miles from THE JUNEI HOTEL Kyoto Imperial Palace West
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    £62
  • Hotels.com
2.4 miles from THE JUNEI HOTEL Kyoto Imperial Palace West
Free Wifi
Free parking
新特別室RIKYU 庭
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £112
  • Booking.com
3.2 miles from THE JUNEI HOTEL Kyoto Imperial Palace West
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
127
27
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
127
27
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel imperial palace no elevator google maps great boutique traditional japanese style spacious room great room quiet neighborhood would stay here again the bus the hotel staff hydrogen bathtub castle amenities mat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2024

Small but nice hotel. Our room was clean and large with tatami area. The bathroom was very nice. Service was great. Only was a bit out of the way to many of the sights we wanted to see but close to the Imperial palace which we walked to. Easy to catch taxis about 100 feet away.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JUNEI HOTEL, 支配人 at THE JUNEI HOTEL Kyoto Imperial Palace West, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2024

Dear Mr. daviddmT1666BY,

Thank you for using your time to write us a review. We deeply appreciate.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your Premium Double room and the bathroom with the Shigaraki ceramic bathtub.
Regarding our location, as we strive to provide a quiet environment away from the busy centers, some points of interest might seem relatively far when compared to other locations. However, being in Kamigyo ward, most major attractions can be easily reached either by public transportation or taxi. We hope you did not have trouble reaching the sights you were interested into.

Kindest regards,

The staff of THE JUNEI HOTEL Kyoto Imperial Palace West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2024

Amazing luxurious stay! Premium, clean and comfortable at a reasonable rate. The hotel staff was extremely attentive and helpful. Rooms were big and had a great atmosphere with the tatami area, built-in speakers with ambient music, and of course the relaxing bath! 10/10

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank imprincevince
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
THE JUNEI HOTEL 京都, 支配人 at THE JUNEI HOTEL Kyoto Imperial Palace West, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

Dear imprincevince,

Thank you so much for your kind review.
We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure chatting with you both.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Kyoto someday soon!

THE JUNEI HOTEL Kyoto Imperial Palace West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2024

This small boutique hotel is located in quite area of Kyoto, close to the imperial palace.
The staff made our stay very pleasant and were always ready to accommodate any request or questions we had.
The rooms where large even by western standards, more than 40 m2 and the bathroom with the tub was wondwrful
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that goes to Kyoto.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicho64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JUNEI HOTEL, 支配人 at THE JUNEI HOTEL Kyoto Imperial Palace West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2024

Dear Mr. Vicho64,

Thank you very much for your kind review. Our team is happy to hear we were able to help you during your stay in the city and that you enjoyed your Premium Double Room.

Although quite early, we hope you were also able to have a glimpse of what Spring in Kyoto feels like and enjoy what the city has to offer.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

The staff of THE JUNEI HOTEL Kyoto Imperial Palace West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2024 via mobile

Really cute “boutique” hotel with a serious Japanese vibe. The room was big and has a tatami mat area with a low table and cushions to sit Japanese style to enjoy your tea & breakfast that is delivered to your room. There is a beautiful copper tub that electronically fills up to whatever temperature you specify. Would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: no elevator for physically challenged. Lots of technology in the room from music, electronic keypads, automatic toilets & lights
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank amclarke927
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JUNEI HOTEL, 支配人 at THE JUNEI HOTEL Kyoto Imperial Palace West, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Dear Ms. amclarke927,

Thank you for kindly writing us a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide a good balance between traditional Japanese room layout with some of the comforts of a western style room. We also understand that one of our roles is to introduce to our guests some of our favorite aspects of Kyoto life, thus why our tea is produced locally and breakfast prepared by traditional Japanese restaurants nearby.

We hope your two days were enough to visit the places your were interested into and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

The staff of THE JUNEI HOTEL Kyoto Imperial Palace West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2024

Had a wonderful three nights here. The beds were super comfy, the room spacious and the staff were absolutely amazing. Very welcoming and took the time to do whatever you needed. Would highly recommend staying here. There was also some lovely green tea and sweets in the room too.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JUNEI HOTEL, 支配人 at THE JUNEI HOTEL Kyoto Imperial Palace West, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2024

Dear jaseface84,

Thank you for kindly writing us a review.It was our pleasure to be able to help you both during your stay in Kyoto and we feel honored to be chosen for such a special date as your birthday. Although three nights may feel brief, we hope you had the chance to explore Kyoto together to your heart's content and make many new cherishable memories in the city.

Kindest regards,

The staff of THE JUNEI HOTEL Kyoto Imperial Palace West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews