We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (633)
Filter reviews
633 results
Traveller rating
353
205
47
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
353
205
47
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews western style room kyoto station own futon tatami mats japanese breakfast small garden walking distance stayed here for three nights light sleeper traditional experience google maps rice sakura bus english calligraphy yukata
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 633 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed there with our baby, and it was really pleasant. Although the room was small, it was perfectly thought to be confortable. The attention in the hotel was great. Well situated. It had free internet, laundry, and helped me with my baby´s food!

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I'm a little bit disappointed about this hotel because from the pictures online, there is a little private garden in the Japanese style room and I was really excited about that. But there are just little rooms without anything exciting in reality, or there is only one room with private garden which is really hard to make a reservation. The location is OK, about 10-mins walking distance to the Kyoto station.

Room tip: If you want a room with private garden, call them to make a reservation.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elise317
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We loved out stay at Sakura and would definitely recommend to others.

Good points
Hotel was very clean, everything seemed new.
The style seemed very traditional and was done to a high standard.
The room was very Japanese style and was great as we had never been to Japan.
The staff were great, super helpful and put in a lot of effort eg dressing up on new year and proving noodles for NYE.
Great communal area with wifi.
The place was spotless and our room was cleaned everyday and sheets changed.

Bad points – we knew this before we came so couldn't really complain
Location, was ok, not much going on nearby, but near to the station.
Breakfast was not great and expensive for what it was.
No wifi in the rooms.

The bad points were not that bad, and would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maap1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This ryokan has a great location, it's clean and the staff speaks great English and are very helpful. The rooms are tiny and the bathroom even smaller. I suggest one or two nights tops here, just because one can get tired or be uncomfortable of sleeping on the futon and also tired of the small place. One of the staff members helped us order sushi and told us about a little convenience store just a few blocks away. Also, they might have adapters in case you need one or two.
The Internet speed was great, and the rooms have tvs. Oh, and if you want o get a cab to go somewhere, you can walk a block to a busiest street to find it faster.
This ryokan Was great.

Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Geniegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Everybody at the front desk was very welcoming and all spoke excellent English. It was our first time at a ryokan, and it was everything we expected it to be. The room was a good size and sleeping on the tatami mats was very comfortable. Rooms have wired internet access. The room also comes with kimonos and instructions on how to wear them.

They also provide breakfast but it's a little pricey. All in all, it was a great hotel. We highly recommend it!

The hotel is a medium-sized walk north from Kyoto Station. It's about 15 minutes, so if you have luggage you might want to get a cab, which will cost about $10 USD. It's right on the bus line, so you could also take the bus, especially if you have an unlimited pass. Once you're there, the hotel sells unlimited bus passes, which is the best way to get around Kyoto.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictorL539
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews