We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveller rating
317
192
42
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
317
192
42
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese style roomsukiya styletea ceremony roomkyoto stationwestern roomminute walkjapanese calligraphybus stoptatami matssake tastingprivate gardenquiet streetbicycle rentaljapanese experiencewalking distancethe bus systemlawson convenience store
Filter
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 579 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

It´s not a real ryokan, it´s a hotel where you can sleep in the japanese way. It´s not the same...

Good location with two bus lines a 5-minute walk. A 10-minute bus ride to the railway station.

Reception staff is very kind, above all Lina. She recommends very good restaurants, routes and general info. She´s the soul of the Sakura!!!

They make you pay in advance, even for breakfast!!!! It´s a bit rude.

We reserved a western room. It was very nice, spacious, beautiful, with a big queen-size bed. It had a private bathroom. It was simple, it was like an airplane bathroom, but with all the amenities.

They have free wi-fi, but only in the lobby. Please, free wi-fi in the rooms!!!!

They don´t serve meals, and breakfast only by request. The western breakfast was simple but cheap.

Sakura is a great choice in Kyoto.

Room Tip: Western room if you´re not used to sleep on tatamis.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOSEFELIXAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

close to Kyoto station (10 min), Sakura ryokan is situated in a calm area. Staff is exceptional for kindness and prepartion. They support us for every thing and speack good english. The room was traditional Japanese, with all conforts (bath and toilet private) and we feel home!

If I will come back to Kyoto I will surely come back in Sakura

Riccardo

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riccardo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Nice place to stay in Kyoto, close to Kyoto station and located in a quiet neighborhood. Helpful and friendly staff. Traditional rooms are very comfortable. Public bath not far, plenty of restaurants and french boulangerie round the corner!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephietony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here on our second night in Kyoto since the first Ryokan was not available that night. The photos and reviews were very promising so we decided to give it a try.

Pros: Shower was good, great flow of water. They provide you with a local map upon arrival. The lobby was small but cozy.

Cons: Internet is only available from the lobby and not from your room. Our room was on the second floor facing a small street, the sound of every car going by was horribly loud. The room was tiny, no dinner or tea service and you have to make your own bed, which is in contrast of the typical Ryokan service. We were both having allergic reactions to the bed indicating dust mites. Only one channel is available on the tiny TV and that would be a shopping channel that gets increasingly annoying.

This Ryokan seems to be targeting tourists who don't know what to expect from a traditional Ryokan stay, you get little value with what you pay but has all the expected facilities to comprise a place to sleep.

Bottom line... No food included, no futon made, not even a basic local channel... Not what you should expect from a Ryokan experience.

Would not at all recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank killermeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

If a traditional Ryokan in Kyoto is what your looking for, then you can't go wrong with the Sakura. It's location is about a 15 minute walk from the main station and very close to bus routes. You have 2 temples near by as well.
When we arrived we were told our room would not be ready till 3pm but were offered Bali tea and told they would look after our cases.
The room was very clean and well presented. The only down side was the door way into the bathroom was very low and I had to make sure I bent down every time I went to use it.
The staff were excellent and always helpful and friendly and offered trip advice when asked.
Great value for money as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews