We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveller rating
316
192
42
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
192
42
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese style roomsukiya styletea ceremony roomkyoto stationminute walkwestern roomjapanese calligraphybus stoptatami matssake tastingprivate gardenquiet streetbicycle rentalwalking distancejapanese experiencelawson convenience storethe bus system
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 578 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Really enjoyed my 4 nights stay in this ryokan.

Location: 10-15 minutes walk from kyoto station. Quite difficult to locate the ryokan for first timer ps though but this is not a problem as Japanese are known to be helpful so you can ask any pedestrians.

Room: we chose to stay in traditional room and it was very spacious, clean and authentic Japanese room. The only complaints the room is not soundproof so you can hear your neighbor's conversation very clearly.

Service: friendly and efficient... Very awesome!

Breakfast: pls opt for the Japanese breakfast set... It's good!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowfish87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

This is the second time that I have stayed here. In 2010, I stayed in a western room and this time I had a Japanese style room.
Toko is so attentive every day and always helpful. Breakfast makes you feel like you are at home. Everyday we were welcomed back with a general interest in what we had done without being intrusive.
The decor is traditional and everything clean. Their suggestions of things today were wonderful.
Location is good with the bus around 2 minutes walk away. They suggested somw great restaurants as well.
I would stay again when I return to Kyoto next time!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank antonialivestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We've spent 3 nights here from 1/12, the room we had is a traditional japanese tatami style room. Have to make up the bed ourselves which is quite fun and interesting. The guests there are friendly, staff there are fluent in english and helpful. The toilet is extremely small but with everything inside, quite amazing... The location is good, about 10mins walk from Kyoto station to the hotel and some 2mins walking distance bus stop to other attractions. There is no wireless in the room, but only in the lobby. However, they do provide LAN cable in the room itself, we brought one router there just in case, turns out its a smart move... We took a taxi from Kyoto Station to Roykan for the first day, gave the phone number to the cabbie and he managed to find the plc, cost us about 700yen. The autumn season is awesome in Kyoto. The red leaf are fantastic! Nice stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen_YY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed at this ryokan for 3nights while in Kyoto. Took some time to find this ryokan as it isnt that near to the Kyoto station. We walked about 15mins and was glad to see this ryokan. It gives an authentic experience as a machiya and located within the residential areas. The room given to us was a Western style, which was spacious and very clean. Toilet is very small though, much of a capsule size. The staff speak great English and they helped us a lot with the reservation to Kokedera. Thanks lots to them! Just one con, the walls between the rooms are too thin. We happen to stay beside a room filled with vibrant neighbors that were speaking very loudly and had great commotion into midnight for couple of nights. However, the staff are very helpful with this to reduce this problem. Still, we managed to have some good sleep and were quite satisfied with this stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yagiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

If you are looking for a really authentic roykan experience this is probably not it. Our family of three us spent the four day Americn Thanksgiving holiday last week in Kyoto to see the fall leaf colors. We chose this guesthouse based on its good reviews. It's within a 10 minute walk of Kyoto station and the walking map the hotel provides is accurate. It's on a quiet side street in a residential neighborhood. We found the public area, where breakfast was served at an additional charge, small but cozy and furnished with large free form wooden tree slabs with hard wood stools for seating. There was a small garden, and excellent free wi fi in the public areas but not in the rooms. We booked two rooms with tatami mats and futons hoping to experience more of the traditional culture. Our rooms were small but functional with a tiny TV which broadcast Japanese only channels, a small table with a tea service, two tiny chairs, and a heater which was welcome because of the chilly weather. We were disappointed in the tiny, plastic, prefabricated bathroom which was not in keeping with the roykan tradition we had expected. We also had to duck our heads constantly because of the extremely low door overhead frames which are not marked and were not pointed out to us. In fact, both my 6ft son and I hit our heads several times and wound up with cuts and bruises to take home with us. Beware if you are 5' 10 or taller! The staff did not make up our futons. We had to remove them from the closet each night, make them up with sheets and comforters, and put them away in each morning. I had expected a maid to do this service for us as I had been previously told that is the Japanese guesthouse tradition. The futons were comfortable enough, and we slept well, although the walls are thin and noisy neighbors might be a very real problem. The staff is marvelous! They served us a good western or Japanese breakfast each morning, helped us plan our days in Kyoto to see as much as possible, helped us detemine which of the many sights had extended their hours into the evenings with special lighting, sold us a daily bus pass each day as the bus system is good and the guesthouse is near the bus station and a bus stop, phoned for taxis when we didn't want to use the bus, made restaurant recommendations and reservations for us, and arranged for an in house saki tasting one evening. The staff's competence, hospitality, friendliness, and English language skills were superb and account for my giving this inn a 4 star rating. Based on the room accommodations alone I would rate it 3 stars.

Room Tip: Our rooms overlooked the street which was quiet but not very pretty. There are rooms which overlook the garden which would be a better choice.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews