We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and elegant Japanese guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Ranked #57 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Modern and elegant Japanese guesthouse”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

From the moment we checked in we appreciated the simple elegance and relaxed feel of this place. On arrival we were asked to take a seat and brought tea to enjoy as forms were filled out and payment was made. We stayed in a garden room, a good size tatami mat room with an entry hall, a small 'dressing' room and standard Japanese 'capsule' bathroom. Having an outlook over a small but pleasant garden was really lovely and rare in urban Japan. We opted to have the western style breakfast which was perfectly adequate to get you on your way in the morning-there aren't many other options nearby. There is wifi in the common areas, but you can also borrow a router to have it in your room, which worked really well for us. We also used the laundry facilities which was a hassle free and relatively quick process. The area is very quiet without many eating options close by, but there are plenty in the station area, about a 10-15 minute walk away. It's a fair walk to the central part of Kyoto, but the buses and metro are pretty easy to use. This is a lovely relaxed way to experience Japanese style accommodation, and a good base for exploring Kyoto.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 36views
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    174
    37
    14
    13
See reviews for
65
252
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I was a little bit scared about sleeping in a ryokan with those futon (really thin mattress) and also rooms divided with just some rice paper, but people in japan is so educated and don't make noise, talking about futon I used 2 togheter so slept well!!
The staff is very friendly and also give lots of good ideas about things to do or places to see..
You can find bikes for ride in Kyoto, the best way to enjoy the city!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LucaSaccoCodroipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Obviously this isn't an ancient Ryokan, but the staff really make a good japanese experience. We stayed at a traditional japanese room, and it was really comfortable. The "garden view"'s garden was a little small, but then again I think everything in Japan can come as very small to foreigners.
Staff was very helpful lending a converter for the plugs.
Everything was very clean. It was a plus that they have a laundry room for people who travel long. One can purchase a daily bus ticket, which is very convenient to go several places around Kyoto.
I also recommend to try the japanese style breakfast, its really nice.
Last, the Ryokan is close enough to the train station, around 10-15 minutes walking. It is in a small street, I recommend to check out the right way in google maps along with the map in the site to get there swiftly. The location is very calm and safe.

Room Tip: We only stayed at the japanese-traditional room, but its very nice. I was concerned with being able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We lived our second half of our vacation in this Ryokan.
It was our first trip in Japan, so to try out a ryokan was very new for us. And it was differently worth it!
It's a 10-15 mins walk from the Kyoto station, and if you don't know the place I recommend you to look for the place in a map, because its a bit hidden.

The staff is very helpful and very nice. We got international breakfast every morning (you can choose the Japanese breakfast instead if you like), where we sat in the nice lobby and eat with the other hotel guests.

I needed to get use to sleep on the futons, when I layed on the side I could feel my hips on the floor, but I have to admit my back really loved the futons! Because I could sleep all day, if it wasn't for our tight sightseeing schedule. ;)

Though, one downer. Is the doors to the hall. They are not sound proof at all. But all in all, great stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zenia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American Canyon, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Like many reviewers stated, its not a 100% ryokan but that didn't bother us one bit. We stayed around the new year holiday for two nights before heading to Tokyo via bullet train. We reserved a non-smoking western style room(good size for 2 people) and the kids stayed next to us in a traditional Japanese room. The rooms are cleaned and tidy. The rooms have locks on it so its not like a sliding door with no security(that was initial concern before I booked it). The only dislike we have is the size of the private bathroom, tiny compare to western standard. One has to be careful if you go into it to avoid bumping your head. After all this is Japan where so many things are small so don't let this stop you from staying here. Also this ryokan is a 10min walk to the Kyoto station and the mall is closed to the station and is is easily accessible by car and foot.
BTW just a quick note, since many taxi driver doesn't know English, its best to print out the ryokan's address in Japanese so they know how to get here. It comes in handy if you get here in the dark of night like we did.

Overall, this was a nice home base when we went to Kyoto. My family enjoyed Kyoto and Tokyo. We like the taxi, so clean and driver is professional. And as for Tokyo, you gotta love their trains. Its so easy to get around on them. I could go on and on and say all the good things about this country. I will stop for now.

Enjoy your stay here. You will not be disappointed with this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This Ryokan made for a fantastic first impression in Japan. All staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming, it was very clean and conveniently located.

We stayed 5 nights in a Western style room (Japanese style also available). The room itself was spacious by Japanese standards with a súper confortable bed. Bathroom was very tight but clean and set up with basic amenities. No internet in the room but good wifi in the common area.

Location was convenient- around 10-15 min walk from the Kyoto train station and very manageable walking distance to several temples as well as the Gion area.

The service was fantastic- staff were very helpful and also organized quite a unique Christmas Eve function with Japanese storytelling, a couple of games and a gift exchange. Recommend having the Ryokan breakfast as the quality of food is good and it's not easy to find other breakfast options nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen-rosaMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Its our first time to visit Japan and like to experience to stay in a ryokan. We planned our trip late so most of the Ryokans are booked. With the help of trip advisor I was able to find this place and booked immediately. We arrived in kyoto by train in the afternoon. Good thing I made a print out of the map from the hotel website. It was a 15 min walk from kyoto station. As soon as we arrived we were welcomed with a warm tea. Check in was very fast. We were surprised when we saw our room. It was bigger than what we expected. It was beautiful & perfect. We booked in the tea ceremony room. VERY CLEAN! We loved our stay here. I recommend this place for other couples.

Room Tip: Print out map of the hotel from the hotel website. Always keep your valubles coz even if you dont re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8audrey8_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Urushitei
Shimogyo-ku
Matsubaya Inn
Matsubaya Inn
#56 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokan Shimizu
Ryokan Shimizu
#55 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
City Center
Sawaya Honten
Sawaya Honten
#27 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji

Property: Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Address: 228 Butsuguyacho Aburanokoji Hanayacho Sagaru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8347, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura is designed like a traditional wooden townhouses in the past and combined with modern-style life. Located in the heart of the city and offers touch of japanese cultures." Feel you're living in Kyoto while you're travelling" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Rakuten, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing