We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it here!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Ranked #55 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love it here!!!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here twice. Once in 2011 and again during sakura season 2012. I liked the traditional ryokan but my hubby liked the wester rooms more.

It's a very small b&b. I love their breakfast especially the fresh tomatoes and yummy spread. You can also buy the unlimited bus ride for tourists.

What I like about the location is its near the tourist bus stop but also you feel how locals live as it is in a residential area.

I would recommend dining in Katsukura and Ippudo.

Room Tip: Book the ryokan room but is you are uncomfortable sleeping in a mat (tatami), get the Western-style...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vhanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    176
    37
    14
    12
See reviews for
66
255
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We spent a weekend at this ryokan in Kyoto during obon festival time. We are a family of four plus we had a relative with us for this weekend. She unexpectedly had to stay in the room with us (we thought we had a second room that she'd booked but we didn't -- our fault not theirs), and unlike many places in Japan that will not let you go over the number of guests, Sakura graciously allowed us to all stay together. As it was obon, there were no other rooms to be had. We were warmly welcomed and showed around. All of the rooms are 6-tatami mat size so not so big but they are finished to a high standard and felt nice and airy. They did say we would be crowded given how many people we were having in the room, but we managed easily. The lobby was a friendly gathering place at all times. The staff are always helpful with whatever you need. They helped us order pizza which we ate in the lobby area (also where breakfast is served), offered restaurant and shopping recommendations, got us taxis large enough for our crew, etc. There was also always something going on in the evening -- they did origami with our kids one night and there was something truly fun about wearing samurai hats made of newspaper that we had just made with a table full of strangers. There were guests from all over the world and there is excellent English support here which was good for us. There is no dinner offered here (but they will help you order in if you want) and you have to make your own futon beds on the floor each night but it was easy enough. We really enjoyed our stay here. It was simpler than the other places we have stayed but it was really fun and we would go back (and get two rooms).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakes12g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We recently took a trip to Kyoto and decided we wanted to experience a more traditional accommodation while there. We selected the Sakura and had a very nice stay. We stayed ina tea room and had a first floor room. It is basically what you would expect, very minimalistic. There are tatami mats in the closet which have instructions and linens. This type of accommodation would not have been good for my parents, but we had fun with it. There is a breakfast at the property which you can add to your stay. It is pretty basic and the western option is not as flavorful as you may be used to, but was nice to have before heading out to explore Kyoto.

Room: Toilet and Bathroom in separate areas, clean. The toilet had a very modern bidet. SHower is small, but gets the job done. Obviously no bed. Tatami mats are not the softest bed in the world, LOL!

Staff: Incredibly helpful. We do not speak Japanese and they were able to give us great recommendations. They also linked us with a tour guide who took us on a 1 day Kyoto tour by public transit. This was fantastic! There is no way we would have seen the cool things he showed us on our own.

Wifi: Great connection speeds!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We originally planned 2 nights but extended to 4 - such a pleasant, friendly place with easy access to the train station and downtown. Staff were always helpful and answered lots of questions. The staff even runs cultural events such as short calligraphy lessons in the evenings. Great fun!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at Sakura Ryokan for 4 nights. The room was quiet and convenient, combining the beautiful Japanese design with Western comfort (Western restroom, air conditioning). The staff was very helpful, English speaking, and kind enough to prepare us a vegan Japanese style breakfast (it's not on the menu, but ask the manager).
We also enjoyed the location. It's not downtown Kyoto, which is positive - it's a quiet neighbourhood, within a short bus-ride from the centre. .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hilla103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The inn is beautiful, the location superb, and the rooms lovely and comfortable. The most important thing though is the staff. I had to visit a doctor one evening, and being a solo traveller speaking almost no Japanese made this a pretty daunting task. After asking the front desk where the closest doctor or hospital was they took the time to phone the hospital, asking if I could be seen, explaining my situation, and making sure the hospital staff set me up with a doctor who spoke english. They did not have to do all of that for me, they could have simply pointed me in the right direction and I would have wandered off hoping for the best. Instead they actually took the time and cared, and that is the atmosphere at this inn. You always feel welcome and at home here. I am planning a return trip to Kyoto in a couple of years and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holladay, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We loved our four-night stay here. Yes, the inn is within easy walking distance of the train and bus stations and major bus routes; and yes, the price of the rooms is quite reasonable. But beyond that, it was always a pleasure to come back at the end of a long day and feel the atmosphere of peace and serenity here. Our "Sukiya-style" room was on the main floor, but was quiet and comfortable. The staff, as other reviewers have noted, was very gracious and accommodating. For example, as a result of a casual comment (something to do with age and sleeping on the floor on a futon), the desk clerk cheerfully said I could have an extra futon, no problem. (I highly recommend that.) We also liked the sake tasting and calligraphy lessons and recommend those experiences as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLB2620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Urushitei
Northern Kyoto
Ryokan Yamazaki
Ryokan Yamazaki
#97 of 369 in Kyoto
184 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Matsubaya Inn
Matsubaya Inn
#64 of 369 in Kyoto
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokufuso
Ryokufuso
#37 of 369 in Kyoto
219 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokan Shimizu
Ryokan Shimizu
#40 of 369 in Kyoto
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji

Property: Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Address: 228 Butsuguyacho Aburanokoji Hanayacho Sagaru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8347, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura is designed like a traditional wooden townhouses in the past and combined with modern-style life. Located in the heart of the city and offers touch of japanese cultures." Feel you're living in Kyoto while you're travelling" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing