We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic guesthouse that pays attention to small details”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
J-Hoppers Kyoto Guest House
Ranked #32 of 332 Speciality lodging in Kyoto
Jurong, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic guesthouse that pays attention to small details”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Location is 15 mins walk from central JR Kyoto line. It is just situated adjacent a main intersection.

I would commend on the hostel's professionalism. Upon arrival, I was settled in very quickly and in a very orderly manner: payment, general information, extra services. Also there were many information available on the shelves and desk. Staff was very friendly too.

I liked the small touches, like having this board that manually changes everyday which stated
"10 June 2013, 19°C, Fair weather" and also having a small map which tells me the food haunts around the area.

Rooms were spacious. I took the dormitory. It has a small shelf and a power point just beside the bed, and there was enough space to put my duffel bag beside my bag. Extra points for the small lamp too.

I particularly liked the bicycle rental. If I remember correctly it was 500 yen for a whole day so it was definitely a steal for me. I cycled around Kyoto and it was an eye opener.

All in all, definitely recommending it to others.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the lower level if you have luggages as i dont think there is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seexuanbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    81
    21
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
20
65
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The price is right, I guess.
I mean, it's a youth hostel in one of the most expensive countries in the world. It's not great but it will give you a place to sleep. and in all honesty, if you're in Japan, you will hardly ever stay in your hotel. Right?
Service is excellent, room is small but clean. I wish there were free towels but I'm not complaining. Location will need some extra navigation-- just follow the caucasian/non-asian travelers and you'll be fine. The showers and toilet are shared and it's going to be a pretty amazing way to meet strangers. lol.



TIP: The walls are thin. If you're staying out late to party, FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, KEEP YOUR VOICES LOW. If you're planning some sexy time with le loveer, for the love of God, DON'T! ;) Good times, though!
hah.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

A decent guesthouse with the exception of some factors.

It is located at an intersection near Kyoto Station (approx. 10-15 minutes walk). The location is good, but there is not much to see along the way. It can also be a bit of a hassle to reach for those carrying luggages due to the uneven and slanted sidewalk.

As for the facilities, there are several showers and washrooms, so there has never been a time where you will have to wait in line to use them. The only problem is that the sink area is located in the hallway on the second floor. As a result, there is no sense of privacy when it comes to washing up. There is a sink inside the washrooms, but it is very low to the ground with a shelf (?) in the way.

The common room and kitchen are located on the second floor. It is extremely spacious and definitely a nice place to hang out in. With the door leading to it, noise level is never an issue for those who have turned in for the night or sleeping in.

Final verdict: I have been in better guesthouses, but this one is decent. It is nothing compared to the one located in Osaka though. One of the benefits of staying here is if you are staying at the other one, you have a few discounts or gifts to choose from - once you stay more than three nights in total.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yeongji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hostel is only 15 minutes walk from Kyoto station. It is very clean with friendly & helpful staff.
The kitchen is well equipped & there is a clothes washing machine & drier. There is a TV in the sitting room ,it has free wifi & computers with internet access in the reception area. There are several supermarkets closeby. I would recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las-Pinas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Close to the station, staff are really fluent in English, they are also so kind. I remember having multiple changes in my booking since I had several schedule changes too but they were patient enough to accommodate me. This is also a nice place to meet new people, I have new friends now thanks to J-HOPPERS! :)

Room Tip: Dormitory room is a good way to meet new people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thequeenej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Around 10 mins walk from the Kyoto station if you out from the correct exist. Everything is great expect for no elevator when we stay on the 5th floor ( Japanese style twin room) . Bathroom only available on 2nd and 3rd floor so there was some exercise everyday.
Very friendly staff, load of stuff can be borrow for free from the hostel. Night staff was there for emergency. Will definite return :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank myfiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girona
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Very close to JR Kyoto Station.

Cozy place and cheap. Large living room and kitchen. No elevator. Japanese style single rooms available. Very clean and comfortable and well located.

Subway station very close to the hostel. Also bus stop is close but few bus lines available.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jhvx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
APA Villa Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Hana Hostel
Kyoto Hana Hostel
#11 of 332 in Kyoto
261 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Mosaic Hostel Kyoto
Mosaic Hostel Kyoto
#12 of 332 in Kyoto
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
The Lower East Nine Hostel
Southern Kyoto
Kyoto Hostel Ryokan
Kyoto Hostel Ryokan
#44 of 332 in Kyoto
41 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
K's House Kyoto
K's House Kyoto
#4 of 332 in Kyoto
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J-Hoppers Kyoto Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J-Hoppers Kyoto Guest House

Property: J-Hoppers Kyoto Guest House
Address: 51-2 Nakagoryo-cho Higashikujo, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8027, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 332 Speciality lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — J-Hoppers Kyoto Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first J-Hoppers guesthouse in Kyoto of Japan was founded by a trans-continental motorcyclist in 2002. It's an 8 minute walk from JR Kyoto Station. There are many important historical sites such as Toji Temple or Fushimi-Inari Shrine. The nearest bus stop is right in front of this hostel , which is on the quite convenitnt bus route to access to other major sights such as Kinkakuji, Kiyomizudera or Gion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Rakuten and Priceline so you can book your J-Hoppers Kyoto Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing