We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern-traditional Japanese hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Village Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Village Kyoto
Ranked #70 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Szekesfehervar, Hungary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Modern-traditional Japanese hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is a traditional Japanese styled, but modern hotel. Surpisingly spacious tatami rooms, comfortable futons, spacious bathrooms and toilette rooms. Very well equipped rooms: huge refrigerator, microwave oven,AC, Japanese styled pyjamas, tea, coffee and soup in the rooms. The breakfast is served in the guestrooms at the required morning time, there is no restaurant in the hotel. You can choose among the same 3 breakfasts every day. There is a traditional, men-women separated bath in the hotel, here you are wished to have a bath naked and can try famous cosmetics.The location is good, near to metro and bus stops and some attractions are in walking distance. There is coin-laundry and detergent -automat in the hotel. There is wifi only in the lobby, in the room there was not.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piroska M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    156
    48
    12
    7
See reviews for
139
43
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I booked one of the largest rooms here for 4 people and was initially disappointed with the size of the room. We understood that you made you own bedding but there were only 3 sofas in the room, the 4th person we had to make up a makeshift matress with some quilts and blankets which the maid kept removing every morning. I went to speak to receeption and they said it was the biggest room and that it had bedding for 4. It was all a little strange but interesting. We got used to it but it wasnt quite what we thought it would be. The breakfasts were not nice at all and we ditched them after the first morning and bought breakfast just outside at a 7-11 type store. The location was OK, just across the street from the tram to Arashiyama which was handy. It was very easy to find taxis around and it cost about AU$12 to/from the train station. We could never get the wifi to work but there was a computer available at reception that you could use. Overall it was a pleasant and interesting experience but I probably wouldnt stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Central location with buses and subway trains very close. Hotel is ok but not great. The onsen department however is great. It is really very relaxing to take a nice varm bath after a day full of sightseing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed 6 nights in July visiting Kyoto. The hotel is a minute away from either the subway or the bus stops. A daily pass costing 500 yens will let you hop on and off the buses visiting practically all Kyoto attractions.

The hotel staff is attentive with sufficient English skills. The room is a hybrid tatami room, so plenty of space to spread out. The room is also equipped with a hot pot, microwave and refrigerator. It came in handy since there is a supermarket about 200 yards away.

There are two Japanese soaking pools on the first floor, one each for men or women. It was quite relaxing and rejuvenating soaking in it after a day of touring and walking. The hotel also provided bath robe / sleepwear for guests. The breakfast was included and delivered to the room daily. There were choices of western, sushi, or rice plates. Pretty tasty, however, it got after having the same things for 6 straight days. Hopefully, there will be more varieties or variations in the future.

The hotel does not have wifi in the room. It is hard wired only. That was the only inconvenience during our stay. Still, that does not taking much away from the overall pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have meaning window view, looking at the adjacent hotel wall about 5 yards away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wt19999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel location is just steps away from Randen train station, subway, and bus stop. Very ideal hotel for traveller. The facilities and the service, are awsome! Reasonable price also! Highly reccommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fianty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

There was so much to like about this hotel. I found the hotel staff had good English and were quite helpful. The rooms were the best part with a distinct Japanese theme - tatami style flooring, very comfortable futon beds on the floor, three way bathroom which is great considering our family of 6 people, low Japanese dinner table with cushions to kneel on. Room was very clean as was whole hotel. The beautiful onsen style shared hot baths were also very nice. Rooms were very spacious. The only reasons why this hotel did not get an 5 out of 5 rating was that the laundry facilities weren't quite enough for the size of the hotel (only 3 dryers and 3 washing machines for the whole hotel) and that the included breakfast needed to have a more Western style option. Other than these minor points we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I visited during Winter with family members, 3 Elderly parents in their 70s, a Teenage Daughter, me and my partner.

I would say this is the Most Memorable "Photo" Moment of our 2weeks Japan Trip, as we were all wearing the Kimono provided to guests in their rooms, having Hot Pot in our room (you can order as part of Room Service) and we took a photo!

The rooms were very spacious and comfy. At first I was very worried that my Elderly Mum will have problem sleeping on the floor as she would have problem getting up from bed. But it was not an issue at all as they had many layers of the mattress and my Teenage
daughter piled it up so high till it is at the height of a conventional bed and top it off with soft mattress for her Grandma.

There is a Convenience Store just opposite the Hotel and they had the BEST fried chicken ever! Must try and cheap too. We had it several times for dinner.

As we rented a car and driving around, location or public transport was not an issue at all.

And dont believe those reviews that advised you AGAINST driving in Japan, IT IS FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE DRIVING IN JAPAN! We drove from Narita Airport to Kyoto and Kyoto to Tokyo. Hassle-free and parking is reasonable and easy in Kyoto, similar to that in Australia and cheaper!

The only thing that spoilt the experience for us was the "Unsmiling" stony-faced Reception staff. Coming from the first "Awesome" night stay at Kakegawa Grand Hotel where we were treated like "Royalty", this was the completed opposite! You dont get the "Bows" and 100times "Thank-you" as you would and they cant even smile and was "sad" most of the time! Probably "over-worked, underpaid" as it was a very busy Hotel.

Paid Parking is next door, about $10 per night (so cheap!!!) or if full, hotel parking (for a fee) is at the back of the building.

All in all, recommended hotel due to the rooms, good value and convenience store opposite.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bearsticky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#22 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#31 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
#54 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
City Center
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Kyoto

Property: Village Kyoto
Address: 5 Mibu-Bojo-cho, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8804 , Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Kyoto Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing