We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous!”
The front of Apple House ( private gate and entrance )
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of Apple House ( private gate and entrance )
The approach to Apple House along a narrow lane. Four people can comfortably sit and eat in the kitchen / dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
The front of Apple House ( private gate and entrance )
The approach to Apple House along a narrow lane.
Four people can comfortably sit and eat in the kitchen / dining area
The kitchen is well equipped and has both Japanese and western utensils
Tatami mat living area with low table / chairs, TV, DVD and CD players, Internet access, guides etc.
Modern toilet with heated seat!
Vanity unit ( with hairdryer ) and entrance to bathroom
Deep Japanese hot tub and shower. Wonderfully relaxing after a lot of temple-hopping!
Super comfortable futons in one of the bedrooms. Plenty of hanging and storage space for clothes etc
Two modern 6-gear bicycles come with the house. Most locals cycle - a great way to explore the city!
Bustling Shugakuin neighborhood with shops and local station
Take the local 'train' to Demachiyanagi ( 8 minutes, ¥200 ) convenient for the Imperial Palace
Majestic Mount Hiei ( 850m ). A thigh-burning 2-hour climb, or take a cable car
Sekisanzenin just up the road
Japanese maples on fire near Manshuin temple - this area is incredible at the end of November
Yellow cherry blossom!
Washing vegetables from Shugakuin Imperial Villa's fields
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Opportunity to enjoy a home in a quiet area of Kyoto.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Timbore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“All you need for a pleasant and comfortable long term stay in Kyoto”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a week in late January and early February 2014. We have stayed in fifteen or so apartments around Europe and Japan. Apple House was easily one of the best.

The amenities are excellent. You can cook a basic meal on the stove, the washing machine works well, the bathroom is excellent, the reverse cycle heating (and cooling) does a good job, the beds were comfortable. The actual house looks much better in real life than it does in the photos, which surprised me because it is usually the opposite.

There are some good shops nearby and there are public transport options for getting around to see the temples. You are not near the centre of town at Apple House but the sights are spread out all around Kyoto and it will only take about half an hour to get to Gion by public transport.

Hiroko is an excellent host. She gave us a thoroughly professional introduction to the house and its surrounds, explaining public transport and where to shop etc. There are plenty of notes around the house to help you use the amenities, which is helpful and considerate.

I would definitely recommend this place for people who are happy to stay in the suburbs, away from the centre of town, and are looking for something more than a hotel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guidoAntw...
Antwerp
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The perfect base for exploring fascinating Kyoto”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We found Apple House the perfect base for exploring Kyoto. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 weeks stay.
The owner, Hiroko is a very nice and helpful lady, who speaks perfect English. She had an answer for every question and gave us loads of information.
The house is immaculate clean. The kitchen has al you need if you want to prepare your own food.
We enjoyed very much the hot bath, japanese style. Perfect relaxing after a day out!
We slept both very, very good: the sound of the nearby mountainstream make you sleep as a baby. No noice of motor vehicle traffic! What a dream!
Our stay has been both pleasurable and unforgettable.
Everything that you could need is within walking distance: the access to bus, trains, and subway ,well equiped retail stores, and nice and reasonable priced restaurants.
Two bikes are free to use and we have found bicycling in Kyoto exciting and fun.
The house is situated in a very peaceful and friendly neighbourhood in the north-east of Kyoto, near magnificent Mount Hiei. That makes that the beautiful Japanese nature and the fantastic city of Kyoto are both nearby.
We highly recommand Hiroko and Apple house!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the friendliness of the owner
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noahdendr...
Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sublime Stay”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My family of two adults and one child aged nine thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Apple House. Every aspect of this house was perfect...the location away from motor vehicle traffic, falling asleep to the tranquil sound of a nearby perennial stream , the elevated tatami room for sleeping, great cooking facilities and so much more. The proximity to two strategic rail networks allowed us to easily access many parts of this impressive city and beyond.

We are a family who likes to walk (a lot) and there are many wonderful streetscapes and formal gardens within easy walk of Apple House. A large park with a massive playground is also within walking distance and also offers a great option for those wanting a running track.

Hiroko has assembled an impressive list of nearby sights and activities as well as a plethora of useful information relating to Kyoto. One could arrive at Apple House without a guidebook and a clue and make sense of the neighbourhood and city in a short time. It is that easy with the help of Hiroko and Apple House. There were a few specific items I wished to purchase during my stay, and via email I was able to get clear instructions about shop locations from Hiroko who has impressive English language proficiency!

Several small supermarkets nearby offer a full range of ingredients for cooking etc. Otherwise there are a few good places close by to grab well priced lunch and dinner. Nothing is too far away.

I highly recommend Apple House to (almost) everyone. Those individuals that are very tall or very fat or who have significant mobility impairments might find negotiating the steep stairs to the top floor somewhat difficult.

I understand why so many of the comments about Apple House were made by people who have stayed previously. It is the kind of place you want to return to.

Thank you Hiroko and David for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: so much
Liked least: pillows
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Austrwlia
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$80
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing