We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Zip_Coppola
Lauderdale-By-The-Sea, Florida

Fantastic stay in Kyoto

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks agovia mobile
This was a FABULOUS stay, down to the detail. Arrival, room, service, cleanliness, staff and location.
We had a room on the 4th floor which was very spacious and comfy. Perfect temperature, lovely bedding and linens, the lighting, bath and bathroom were all of the utmost simple and elegant standard.
The staff was very helpful thanks to the services provided by Nishkawa, Hori, Ruri and Hirota. They helped us get around Kyoto, arranged for our baggage delivery to our next hotel and even helped arrange for a 24 hour laundry service since their pickup time had already passed.
The anteroom also had a lovely couch and makeup dresser (boudoir) which my girlfriend used and liked a lot.
All around 10/10, highly recommended. If I were to come back to Kyoto I wouldn’t doubt staying here again!
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nishikori Yosuke, 支配人 at Tomoya Residence Hotel Kyoto Nijo Takakura, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr./Ms.115nicol_sm

Thank you so much for your positive & warm comment to us.
We are so glad that your preference met our hotel and it is also our pleasure to have compliments to our staff.
We inform your warm comment of all of our staff. We will keep making effort to provide good service.
Thank you.

Yours sincerely,
Tomoya Residence Hotel Kyoto, Japan

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£206
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £211
  • Agoda.com
    £185
  • Expedia.com
    £231
0.3 miles from Tomoya Residence Hotel Kyoto Nijo Takakura
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£45
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £40
  • Agoda.com
    £37
  • Expedia.com
    £48
0.1 miles from Tomoya Residence Hotel Kyoto Nijo Takakura
Free Wifi
£165
  • Vio.com
    £101
  • KLOOK
    £84
  • Priceline
    £119
1.9 miles from Tomoya Residence Hotel Kyoto Nijo Takakura
Free Wifi
Pool
£85
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £63
  • Vio.com
    £63
  • Rakuten Travel
1.6 miles from Tomoya Residence Hotel Kyoto Nijo Takakura
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£62
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £48
  • Agoda.com
    £44
  • Vio.com
    £55
2.2 miles from Tomoya Residence Hotel Kyoto Nijo Takakura
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£104
  • Priceline
    £116
  • Agoda.com
    £86
  • Expedia.com
    £108
2.1 miles from Tomoya Residence Hotel Kyoto Nijo Takakura
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£176
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £119
  • Skyscanner.com
    £101
  • Vio.com
    £159
0.9 miles from Tomoya Residence Hotel Kyoto Nijo Takakura
Restaurant
Room service
【蓮花の湯】瞑想の湯(男性)
£108
  • Priceline
    £107
  • Expedia.com
    £102
  • Rakuten Travel
1.7 miles from Tomoya Residence Hotel Kyoto Nijo Takakura
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£74
  • Priceline
    £66
  • Trip.com
    £58
  • japanican.com
    £74
2.0 miles from Tomoya Residence Hotel Kyoto Nijo Takakura
Free Wifi
Free parking
新特別室RIKYU 庭
£61
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £67
  • Hotels.com
    £59
  • Vio.com
    £62
3.9 miles from Tomoya Residence Hotel Kyoto Nijo Takakura
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
61
9
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
61
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manga museum nespresso machine a wonderful stay tourist attractions subway station castle amenities accommodation kitchenette laundry futon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2023

We had a beautiful one bedroom suite on the ground floor overlooking a courtyard (Room 101) , so much space, own laundry , separate bedroom, separate toilet, big lounge area for relaxing with a kitchenette. Enormous amount of space by Japanese standards.This is a modern and spotless boutique hotel nestled in the narrow back streets of Kyoto.The staff were all attentive, we interacted with them more than in a normal hotel as you have to hand over your room key when going out for the day.A nostalgic touch !

A beautifully curated tray was delivered into the room for breakfast every morning at the requested time. This was included in our room rate.
Less than 10 minutes walk to 2 different stations, bus is a good option with some research and preplanning.

Part of the adventure was dinner each night in one of the myriad of tiny restaurants hidden in this area (and the quirky bars).Sake bars, wine bars, beer only bars one full of vermouths from around the world, most places with only a few seats. I was captivated by how it all works as a business model as there was only one sitting in the restaurants and we never felt rushed.A few language barriers but every meal was wonderful ,and very reasonable prices by Aussie standards.Absolutely no tipping anywhere including bars.

Room tip: Get adventurous and walk the local streets looking for somewhere to eat!
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank farawaymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nishikori Yosuke, 支配人 at Tomoya Residence Hotel Kyoto Nijo Takakura, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2023

Dear farawaymum,

Warmest greetings from Tomoya Residence Hotel Kyoto.
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your positive comment. We are glad to hear that you had a good time at our property.
We appreciate your kindness and gentleness very much.
We would definitely share this with all of our staff and keep making effort to provide good service. We sincerely appreciate your comment again and look forward to having you here again.

Best regards,
Front desk team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2023

Well appointed room with balcony. The room was large and modern in comparison to other Japanese hotels. Very helpful staff in advance and during our stay. We ended up visiting an exceptional French style restaurant within walking distance called Bistro Ramage for dinner. We highly recommend it. This hotel is a great stay if you are visiting Kyoto. Our only recommendations are to be able to customize the breakfast options and have foam pillows are an options

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nishikori Yosuke, 支配人 at Tomoya Residence Hotel Kyoto Nijo Takakura, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2023

Dear kz44tz,
Please accept our deepest gratitude from Tomoya Residence Hotel.
We are pleased to note that we had met your expectations for our room and we sincerely hope that you did have an enjoyable stay with us. The biggest charm point in our hotel is that our rooms are much bigger as compared to the usual hotel in Kyoto. We also keep pride in keeping our rooms clean so that our guest will be able to fully relax in the room without any worries. We hope that you do find our room well-equipped and that the amenities are user-friendly for you. Once again, thank you very much for the compliments of our room and we hope to serve you again near the future.
Allow us to extend our gratitude for choosing our hotel and for going through the trouble to write us a review. We truly appreciate it.
Best regards,
Front desk team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2023

We recently stayed for four nights in the Tomoya Residence Hotel in Kyoto. We found the accommodation and the friendly and attentive staff were fantastic and just what we were hoping for when we booked. The Tomoya Residence is well situated in a nice part of Kyoto, surrounded by countless restaurants and cafes. It is also nearny to public transport and major attractions including the Nijō Castle and the International Manga Museum.
After staying in hotels for a couple of weeks beforehand it was very handy to have our own self contained laundry within our two bedroom Executive Apartment. It was great to have a bit of space to relax and get prepared for our next adventure. Thank you to Tomoya Residence Hotel for a wonderful stay and an excellent base to explore Kyoto from.

Room tip: Book restaurants early as some of th emore popular ones require lots of advance notice.
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Late4Dinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nishikori Yosuke, 支配人 at Tomoya Residence Hotel Kyoto Nijo Takakura, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2023

Dear Mr./Ms. Late4Dinner,
Warmest greetings from Tomoya Residence Hotel Kyoto.
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your positive comment. We are glad to hear that you had a good time at our property.
Thank you for your compliments to our staff. It is our honor to be able to help during your stay. We will keep making effort to provide good service.
Our location is in the residential area of Kyoto where is very safe and quiet in the evening. But on the other hand, there are many nice restaurants around our accommodation. These restaurants include Michelin star-rated restaurants, local restaurants in Kyoto.
Your review was a pleasure to read and it is always great to know that we have met all your expectations. This truly motivated us to do our best for the guests, each day.
Thank you so much for taking all the time and trouble for this feedback. Please be assure that it will be reflected to our manager in order to make your stay an even more enjoyable one for your next visit near the future.

With gratitude,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2023

Our family (4 members) stayed at the Tomoya Residence Hotel for 8 nights at the end of May and beginning of June 2023.
As we did not want separate rooms, we booked an executive suite with two bedrooms (one with tatami and futons) and a kitchenette. - a mix of Japanese and western style for a comfortable stay. We were extremely satisfied - cleanliness, ammenities, good location with excellent restaurants in the area, nespresso machine and washer & tumbler in the room... but I would like to point out two things in particular: excellent breakfast and extra friendly staff.
Absolutely recommended!
Rating: a perfect ten.
p.s. their pyjamas are divine, I had to buy one to take home

Room tip: Excellent izakaya Saishuan Shiraki just around the corner, Seven-11 24/7 two blocks away, metro 9 min walk.
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Vepege
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nishikori Yosuke, 支配人 at Tomoya Residence Hotel Kyoto Nijo Takakura, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2023

Dear Mr./Ms. Vepege,
Warmest greeting from Tomoya Residence Hotel.

Please do allow us to extend a heartfelt gratitude to you for choosing our hotel. We are delighted to note that you had a pleasant experience with us and truly appreciate your valuable feedback on our services and room.
We are pleased to note that we had met your expectations for our room and we sincerely hope that you did have an enjoyable stay with us. The biggest charm point in our hotel is that our rooms are much bigger as compared to the usual hotel in Kyoto. We also keep pride in keeping our rooms clean so that our guest will be able to fully relax in the room without any worries. We hope that you do find our room well-equipped and that the amenities are user-friendly for you.
Your review was a pleasure to read and it is always great to know that we have met all your expectations. This truly motivated us to do our best for the guests, each day.
Once again, thank you for your last visit and we do hope that the next one will be very soon.

With thanks and appreciations,
Front desk team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2023 via mobile

Tomoya Residence is perfect for families , it’s got a sitting room , laundry room and kitchen .

Lots of privacy for everyone , with great breakfast served to the room and super friendly staff …

The best hotel in our Japan stay by far !! Would rate this 5on 5

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kedarsherlekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nishikori Yosuke, 支配人 at Tomoya Residence Hotel Kyoto Nijo Takakura, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2023

Dear kedarsherlekar,

We appreciate your kindness and gentleness very much.
We are very happy to be your best hotel in Japan.
We would definitely share this with all of our staff and keep making effort to provide good service.
We sincerely appreciate your comment again and look forward to having you here again.

Best regards,
Front desk team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews