We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff, amazing attention to detail!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mume

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mume
Ranked #2 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, amazing attention to detail!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

As this was our first trip to Japan, we were a bit unsure what to expect from our stay in Kyoto, specially after having just arrived from fast and crowded Tokyo. As soon as we stepped through the door at the Mume hotel, all our worries evaporated. We had forwarded our luggage and they had put both suitcases in our room, ready fro our arrival. We were escorted into the bar area and offered refreshments whilst the staff hurried in and out processing our check-in. As you are escorted to the lift to go to your room, the staff at the bar come with you to the lift's door and bow as the door closes. Breakfast was absolutely delicious every single day, and we had barely put our spoons down before someone was at you side taking your dish away and asking if you needed anything else! The location is a bit tricky to explain to taxi drivers, but the staff will give you a written explanation to hand to the driver. We were offered umbrellas on our way out on a cloudy day and on our last morning there, we were surprised to be given print outs of the train schedules and location of our next hotel by one of the ladies at reception; we were escorted out to the taxi and hugged warmly (not very Japanese!) and bowed at until we had actually disappeared from view! This is very much a boutique hotel, small but perfectly formed rooms, lovely staff and delicious food! A unique place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macananina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    28
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
105
448
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

After ready the previous reviews on TA we decied to book this hotel for a 5 night stay this July, as we were due to be in Tokyo for business and wanted to see Kyoto for a few days first. My experience of this hotel was truly wonderful, from the first email I received from them, to the moment we left!

Hisako, who owns and runs the hotel is an absolute delight. When we first enquired about staying there via email, her replies were always really helpful and detailed - she speaks perfect English. We're were there for the Gion festival (thoroughly recommended!) and she offered to book us tickets so we had a nice comfortable view of the procession.

The hotel it's is brand new, a small 7 bedroom place in a quiet side street right in the heart of the old Gion district. The street itself is famous for antique shops and galleries, and a 2 minute walk and your amongst the incredible old area of wooden buildings and temples. Lest than a 10 minute walk and you're in the heart of the downtown area for shopping, eating and drinking, you don't need to take cabs at all, it's all on your doorstep.

On arrival your bags are taken up to your room, while you sit and enjoy a cold drink in the bar as you fill out the registration. The rooms themselves are a spaceous and delightful mixture of wonderful original antiques and works of arts with super modern and high tech bathrooms. The beds and pillows are super comfortable and the aircon quiet and effective.

Breakfast is delicious, fresh fruit and yogurt, warm rolls and criossants with jam, boiled egg and chilled soup if you want it.

There is complimentary tea and biscuits in the afternoon, and a complimentary cold drink from the bar before you head off to one of the superb local restaurants that Hisako will recommend and book for you. She also prints out a colour picture of the front of the restaurant and a map so you can find it!

Hisako also recommended all her favourite temples and gardens, so you can escape some of the other more tourist filled locals. Her staff were all delightful and helpful too, nothing was too much trouble for them. And they bowed every time as the lift door closed behind you in the lobby!

We loved it SO much I have already booked it for our business trip next year, it already feels like Hisako and her staff are part of the family!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stylusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

We have just returned from a trip around Japan with our two daughters 18 and 21. Kyoto was a definite highlight for us mainly because of our stay at the Hotel Mume. The hotel itself is beautiful, tranquil and stylish and yet relaxed and fun too. We received every help with where to go and what to see which was invaluable. We felt that we saw many local secrets that we would not have discovered on our own. The staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful, from constantly rushing out with umbrellas for us to helping us with points of etiquette. I would recommend to anyone and be envious of their visit!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

I found the hotel on Tablet Hotels, but the price was the same via the hotel's website - which you can book online as well.

The hotel is discretely located in Gion and if you didn't know where it was, you would never know it was there. We were not interested in a ryokan, but we were interested in something small and more Japanese than the Hyatt or Westin in Kyoto. It met all of your expectations.

The hotel has 7 rooms (I think). The check-in process was great - even with only seven rooms, they functioned much like a large hotel. They delivered our bags to our rooms, performed check-in the lounge with a refreshment and made sure they answered any questions about Kyoto. They have an elevator - by the way.

The recommendations for tourist sites and restaurants were always better than anything we found in a guidebook. Please ask the owner for her recommendations and you will not be dissappointed. Specifically, go to Yamamoto Menzou - an old school udon moddle house.

Because the hotel is so small, it is very intimate and not anonymous - like in a larger hotel. It is almost like staying with a relative you haven't seen in years.

The hotel is in Gion, so within a blocks is the whole geisha area.

On a final note, we bought a lot of stuff in Kyoto. The hotel couriered the box of stuff to our hotel in Tokyo (we left Kyoto to go to Tokyo). It only cost $16. It saved us from having to take the big box on the train - which doesn't accommodate large items very well.

About us: We are a gay couple in our late 30's from Williamsburg, Brooklyn.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nycalamode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

We only stayed in the Hotel Mume for 1 night, but it was a highlight of our travels in Japan. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful -- stylish and intimate feeling, and the rooms are stunning but very comfortable. The staff are unbelievably gracious and helpful, and the welcome/happy hour invoke a real feeling of generosity. The breakfast was so delicious, and the staff kindly accommodated my food allergy!

This hotel is really well-located. It is expensive, but it is worth every penny and I wish I could have stayed there longer.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwsnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

Hotel Mume is an unusual place in an unusual city. Each detail in the hotel was meticulously chosen, and the experience is more like staying in a luxuru
ious residence, than in an hotel. Breakfasts were elegant, rooms are very comfortable withthe most modern bath fixtures I have ever seen. Location is excellent --right in the heart of Gion. Each day we were given a carefully planned itinerary fot the day`s sightseeing. My Blackberry was not working and the owner lent us a laptop for our entire stay. Cannot say eonough about this wonderful property.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rttravel1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

There may be larger, more luxurious hotels in Kyoto, but no one will match the hospitality, services, and local flair of Mume. Yes, its more expensive than other choices, but how many places will let you relax with tea and an introduction to your sightseeing plans while your bags are put in your room? The staff at Mume is was dedicated to my comfort and happiness. And the hotel, though small, was a blissful respite from larger, more commercial properties.

Its important to remember that there are many sites to see in Kyoto. No hotel will be accessible to all. Mume's location in the Gion District is close to Chion-in Temple, Heian-jingu Shrine, the Kyoto Museum of Traditional Industry (Dento Sangyo Fureai-kan), Nanzen-ji Temple, and Maruyama Park. Shirakawa-minami Dori, Old Kyoto and Pontocho Alley are walkable as well.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sabos93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#11 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mume

Property: Hotel Mume
Address: 261 Shinmonzen dori, Umemotocho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0064, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Gion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing