We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great base to explore Kyoto”
other travellers have booked this property
House Front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House Front
Entrance Living room/Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
House Front
Entrance
Living room/Kitchen
Japanese style main room
Bedroom
Hallway/Stairs
Utility room
Bath room
Toilet
Ninenzaka & Sannenzaka slope- 1 minute walk
Kiyomizu dera temple - 10 minutes walk
Yasaka Shrine, Gion - 10 minutes walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
matwags
Dublin, OH USA
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great base to explore Kyoto”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for a week during June. Just off the main street of historic district in Kyoto. Very close to temples, restaurants, shops and great vistas. Close to main bus routes to get around Kyoto and to the train station. Clean and quiet with air conditioners in each room. Well equipped kitchen and clothes washer with drying racks.

Please keep in mind that there are no beds. Sleep on futons on the floor. If this is not your idea of a vacation, I would look elsewhere. Our family enjoyed it!

Highly recommend Maeda coffee for breakfast. Great coffee and egg sandwiches.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tussnai K
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“feel home in Kyoto”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Kyoto Nene house for 3 days. The location is great, with a short walking distance to Kiyomizu, a historical shopping street, Gion, big park and many temples around. We could enjoy morning walk to the Kiyomizu prior a coming of thousand tourists ! The owner, Mr. Nobu is very nice and flexible, he allowed us for the early check-in so that we can take a rest, while he was cleaning on the 2nd floor. The house had every things we want and make us feel home in Kyoto.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianJ98
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay in historic Kyoto”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for four nights (2 adults, 2 children) and thoroughly enjoyed it. The house is thoughtfully organised, immaculately clean and much more spacious than a hotel. Right outside the door are beautiful narrow streets with traditional Japanese townhouses, and several temples are within 5-10 mins walk away. We ate out in Gion, and anther night walked through the Pontocho alley. One tip - when you get a taxi from the station, tell the driver to take you to Kodaji temple and then use the access map provided by Nobu to walk up the laneways from there (just round the corner). Staying here was a real experience of traditional Japan - highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
noosadrea...
noosa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely oasis in Kyoto”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We just finished a 5 nt stay at Kyoto Nene house and really enjoyed it. There was plenty of space to relax in and we followed Nobu's suggestion and had one of our sons have his bed in the living room, which gave the other the smaller bedroom to himself. We loved walking around the local area - the house is so well situated and in a very pretty,old part of Kyoto and it was only 5 mins walk to two 24 hr supermarkets, so we were able to get some food,even after arriving late at night.
Not every one will enjoy sleeping on the floor. It is not super comfortable on the mats, but we have done a fair bit of camping, so were fine.
Our only drama was finding the place. We flew to Osaka and caught the limousine bus to Kyoto station and then needed to get 2 taxis in order to fit the four of us and four bags. When we gave the taxi drivers the printed address, they had no idea where to take us. Of course all of this happened late at night while it was raining. Fortunately a local lady saw us standing in the rain looking a bit concerned and came and helped out, and rang Nobu for directions. A couple more phone calls during the drive and we got there, to great relief from all.
I loved walking out the door in the morning and seeing young women all done up in their geisha make up and dress, literally metres from the house. Definitely recommend as a great place to get into the feel of old Kyoto.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing