We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£109
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Fel
Jakarta, Indonesia

Location and new hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Jan 2020via mobile
Stay on dec2019 for 3 nights with family at triple rooms. Hotel location is superb, just across the kyoto station. Hotel is new and room is very comfortable. Bathroom, sink and toilet is separate. They provide amenities beside the reception. Lounge is a big plus for us everytime we back to Hotel after strolling the city. Will be definitely stay here again when I’m in Kyoto.
Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
teamKK2, General Manager at Hotel Vischio Kyoto by Granvia, responded to this review
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Dear f3llim
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel Vischio Kyoto.
We appreciate your compliments on our location, room and lounge.
We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. I have thanked all the team for taking care of you.
We continually strive to improve our quality of service and look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future.

Best Regards
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£61
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.1 miles from Hotel Vischio Kyoto by Granvia
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Deluxe Twin
Tripadvisor
£37
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Hotel Vischio Kyoto by Granvia
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£85
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.4 miles from Hotel Vischio Kyoto by Granvia
Free Wifi
Restaurant
新特別室RIKYU 庭
Tripadvisor
£59
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.9 miles from Hotel Vischio Kyoto by Granvia
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    £135
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from Hotel Vischio Kyoto by Granvia
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £224
  • Priceline
1.8 miles from Hotel Vischio Kyoto by Granvia
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    £69
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from Hotel Vischio Kyoto by Granvia
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £148
  • Hotels.com
1.8 miles from Hotel Vischio Kyoto by Granvia
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £66
  • Hotels.com
0.4 miles from Hotel Vischio Kyoto by Granvia
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £189
  • Priceline
1.4 miles from Hotel Vischio Kyoto by Granvia
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
112
36
15
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
112
36
15
2
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2019 via mobile

Stop looking and book this hotel if u like 5 star hotels . Super easy 2 minute walk from Kyoto station with fabulous ammenities. I was blown away with hotel quality and size of rooms. We are travelling as a family group of 6 adults and the rooms could not be better. Seperate shower, sink and loo all makes for extremely easy sharing for two single beds when privacy is required. I booked 3 rooms - a king and two twin singles. I have travelled the world and often stay in 4 or 5 star hotels and I could not have been more delighted with this one. Could not recommend more highly for service, quality and value for money .

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank 517carolineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
teamKK2, General Manager at Hotel Vischio Kyoto by Granvia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2020

Dear 517carolineh
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel Vischio Kyoto.
We appreciate your compliments on our location and room.
We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. I have thanked all the team for taking care of you.
We continually strive to improve our quality of service and look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future.

Best Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2019 via mobile

We reserved two rooms. Our experience was mixed.
Check-in : was only a 3 due to early arrival at 2:15pm. Asked to get room assignment but we did not have to accept room. The answer was a very curt ‘NO’. I thought it was language issue. But we talked to a second person who took a little more time to explain and offer to keep our luggage.
Room - very nice overall. I’d give a 5. Large two beds, very nice bathroom with separate room for toilet. Shower and bath tub were nicely set in a room.
Breakfast - 4. Lots of selections. Nicely flavored and fresh ! The tea choices were excellent !
Location-5. A 3-min walk from Kyoto station (which offers all food, shopping, entertainment choices).
Overall a good place to stay for a few days!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank worldwonder805
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
teamKK2, General Manager at Hotel Vischio Kyoto by Granvia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2020

Dear worldwonder805
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel Vischio Kyoto.
We appreciate your compliments on our room, breakfast and location.
We apologize for that our staff's service didn't meet your expectations this time.We will strengthen staff education, to provide you with better service.
I hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and ensure you had a great stay.

Best regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2019 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently located south of the Kyoto Station - following signs for Avanti is a good guide. Our family of 3 spent 7 nights in a triple room. I would recommend either a short stay or being really close to your roommates as the rooms are a bit on the small side. The layout was 3 twin beds with about 1.5 feet between each bed and about 2 to 3 feet from the foot of the beds to the wall (walking area). The toilet and shower were each in separate rooms, and the single sink was outside in the main area. There was a sliding door from the bed area to the hallway/sink/exit area. There was also not much space to have 3 large luggages open but we made it work. There was also a very quiet air purifier/humidifier. Also the only english tv channel was CNN but that was mostly dubbed with japanese. There is ability to do screen mirror on the tv if you have downloaded movies onto your ipad/phone. Safe and minifridge were also available. And very nice to have lights controlled by each bedside, I enjoyed the dedicated reading lights above the bed that can be made dimmer or brighter.

Given the price and location, and despite the small size, I would stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank smile283
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
teamKK2, General Manager at Hotel Vischio Kyoto by Granvia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2020

Dear smile283
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel Vischio Kyoto.
Thank you for your compliments.
I was delighted to read about how much you enjoyed your experience at our hotel.
We continually strive to improve our quality of service and look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future.

Sincerely yours
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2019

This is a new hotel. It has excellent location across the road from Kyoto JR Station. Service was generally adequate. We had a standard room. Room and bathroom size is average by Kyoto standard. Furnishing is new and adequate. The bed mattress is firm and comfortable. Breakfast included in the room rate is of buffet style; food has many varieties and good quality. I recommend this hotel because it is new, room is of adequate size and has very convenient location.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank gcyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
teamKK2, General Manager at Hotel Vischio Kyoto by Granvia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2019

Dear gcyw
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel Vischio Kyoto.
We are very happy to know that you had a good experience at our hotel and we are pleased and encouraged to have your many praise.
We continually strive to improve our quality of service and hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2019 via mobile

This hotel is new and looks grand, got lots of self servicing facilities including Check-in/out, getting shower gels, tea or coffee at the lobby etc. However, does it mean they can provide rude services and go well below the standard of customer service???

We stayed there in total of 2 nights, 20 Oct 2019 and then went to country side for 1 night and returned to stay with Hotel Vischio on 22 October.

When we checked in on 20 October, the receptionist “greeted” us with a black long face. Initially I thought maybe she is tired despite we only arrived at very normal hours (3:30pm) for checkin. I mentioned to her that we will check in also 1 day after and if they can keep my luggages for that 24 hours before we check in again. With a long black face, the receptionist just replied one single word “NO!” I then asked her if there is a place nearby that we can store our luggage by paying a fee, again Miss Long Black Face said one single word “NO!”

We go to Japan every year and have never seen terrible service like this. We told her all other hotels in japan can store luggage for us as long as you check in again within the next 48 hours. So how come your hotel does not offer such service? Also it is stated in your English website too with exact readings “We will keep your luggage prior to your check-in”. If this is different to your rules, you have translation error in your website and it is a misrepresentation.

Then she finally went to check with the manager and came back with a Yes. Apparently they have 2 large luggage storerooms with individual chains and lockers for guests to store their luggages.

The service was rude, poor attitude and far well below Japanese standards. Even on the 2nd time we checked in and dealt with a different person, the same long black face and single word response was given - so consistent service by all receptionists ... is this how they were trained to be?

Today when I check their English website, they changed it to read they will only keep their luggage for guests on the day they check in.

This hotel is now on my blacklist. It is not closest to the buses or station comparing with hundreds of other hotels that can provide better services (or at least up to standard services) nearby.

Will not even stay in any of the hotels in their Granvia hotel chain from now on. Don’t need this extra frustration and treated as if I am asking for too much while the next door hotel will just smile and greet you politely with better services.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank Mabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
teamKK2, Hotel Manager at Hotel Vischio Kyoto by Granvia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2019

Dear May014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel Vischio Kyoto.
We are very happy to know that you like our self servicing facilities.
However, we apologize for our staff 's attitude and our luggage storage service.Your review is very important to us and we change our rule of the luggage storage service.
If you check out from our hotel and will check in again in a week,we can keep luggages for you before you check in again.We will also continue to strengthen staff education to provide you with better service.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely yours
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews