We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, helpful but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
First Cabin Kyoto Karasuma
Ranked #28 of 300 Speciality lodging in Kyoto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean, helpful but....”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I really liked staying at this hotel as it is cheap, clean, fun concept, great location and the staff are amazing. When I needed assistance looking for a Giesha performance and booking another hotel in a different city, the staff went out of their way to assist. Always smiling and polite.

The cabins are clean, comfortable and modern.

HOWEVER, be reminded there is no sealed door, only a curtain for privacy. The first night of my 3 night stay I had a man next to me snoring his head off, not good when you are trying to get over jetlag. Lucky for me there was a free cabin to move to over the other side. Night 2 was much better. Ask for a cabin from 402 to 406 as there will be less noise.

Overall a positive experience ;-)

Note to owners: If you install sliding doors on each cabin to reduce noise it would be perfect.

Room Tip: Request a room between 402 and 406
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldholdonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firstcabin_kyoto, お客様担当マネージャー at First Cabin Kyoto Karasuma, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you very much for the valuable advice and the favorable comment on FIRSTCABINKyotoKarasuma. We will try our best to make your stay here comfortable, including changing the room for free (if there are available rooms).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    141
    60
    17
    2
See reviews for
5
7
184
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed at business cabin. It is clean as well with tv attached in the room. Little English explanation which may be a problem for non-Japanese.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuroken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firstcabin_kyoto, お客様担当マネージャー at First Cabin Kyoto Karasuma, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you very much for the favorable comment on FIRSTCABINKyotoKarasuma. We will try our best to improve the English ability of the staffs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
245 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This hotel is correct in many of its advertising. PIctures are accurate. Clean, helpful staff, good price and good location.

BUT there was no mention that the cabins are without locks. True, they provide safes inside the cabin and the reception but that means you still have so much of your stuff exposed to anyone. Yes, they have video cameras. Yes, most japanese are very honest people but not everyone is japanese in this accomodation. They should mention this in their advertising. It's a clear omission. If I knew that it will be a lock free cabin area, I would have chosen a different place. I was stunned when they told me that the cabins do not have locks when I checked in but was so tired (around 10PM) and cannot be bothered looking for another hotel.

Also the bed felt like it was covered in vinyl. Worse, the pillow was so awful, made of some synthetic vinyl-ish material that was so bad that I had to use the duvet/ comforter as my pillow.

Will not use this hotel again but if you are on budget, don't mind a plastic-y pillow and bed and you don't mind having no locks- it's a good option. Personally, will not stay here again as security is a priority for me.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyFNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firstcabin_kyoto, お客様担当マネージャー at First Cabin Kyoto Karasuma, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you very much for the evaluation. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience caused by the misunderstanding of the doors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

So you don't want to spend your cash on a Hilton for a night's stay. You just want to have go out, drink beer, and snore out for a couple of hours. You are fed up of staying at a hostel and want some individual freedom. Or you want to take the Bullet Train early next morning. You like big common baths and you don't mind Japanese breakfast. But you don't want to stay in a plastic coffin that's called a capsule hotel. You even liked it when you traveled business class on a 747. Then this could be your choice.
This is in between a Superhotel and a capsule hotel. It doesn't offer a proper room, but a nice and clean bed with curtains. Could be a little more expensive than a capsule, but cheaper than a business hotel. People should understand this concept and it's their choice. Everyone would prefer a Hilton if they had enough cash, though.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Yobeekool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firstcabin_kyoto, お客様担当マネージャー at First Cabin Kyoto Karasuma, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you very much for the favorable and interesting comment on FIRSTCABINKyotoKarasuma. We will carry on with your support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

On Arrival staff had my check in details. Hotel policy check in time is 3pm - I arrived about 10am. Was told I could not chk in till 3pm so went out sight seeing in Kyoto. Was a bit annoyed to find the hotel was nearly empty and there was no real reason why I could not chk into the room straight away.

First Cabin Hotel is more like a capsule hotel than a standard hotel. None of the pictures shown really give a good indication as to the style of the room.

Basically you get a semi double bed with about 75cm of space down 1 side and a little table in the back corner of the room. There's a lockable draw underneath the bed. Bathroom and toilet are shared facilities.

The front "wall" of the room if just a curtain that is kept closed by a magnetic handle.

There's a 32" LCD TV at base of the ed half way tot he roof.

Bed was comfortable, aircon seemed to have trouble coping with the extremely hot weather - 32-36 in the day and not much cooler at night.

The place was spotlessly clean, close to the main kyoto station and had some good bus router near by for sight seeing. Plenty of cheap places to eat near by as well.

The room was definitely not what I was expecting, but for 3 nights it was OK. Would I book at this hotel again - no, but that was more due to the fact of the curtain front wall as it didn't block out all the light from the hall way, and the hotel seemed to be popular with Japanese salary men who would come back rather drunk and snore through most of the night.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sydboy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firstcabin_kyoto, お客様担当マネージャー at First Cabin Kyoto Karasuma, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you very much for the evaluation. The check in time is after 3 p.m. and the check out time is up to 10 a.m. every day. During the time between, staffs will clean the whole hotel area. Therefore, though the cabins are empty, customers still cannot get access to their rooms until 3 p.m..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimbledon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Staying in First Cabin Kyoto was a different experience to any other hotel I have stayed in before. Being one the first 'cabin' hotel you could expect it to be a little unorganised and completely overwhelmed by this new idea but that is not the case at all. The hotel is very much designed for one night only stays. The business cabin is a first class cabin but no walk way at the side of the bed, a small t.v and in general more cramped.
The first class cabin is very functual. The t.v is bigger and there is more space in the corridor. The pillows are very uncomfortable, so i recommend your own pillow.
Breakfast is very traditional ( salmon, rice ect. )
The bathrooms are large and clean.
Overall a really fun experience

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BestHolidayExpert10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firstcabin_kyoto, お客様担当マネージャー at First Cabin Kyoto Karasuma, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you very much for the evaluation. Actually the breakfast menu has been changed with bread, coffee, yoghourt and eggs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Karasuma Kyoto Hotel
Karasuma Kyoto Hotel
#62 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Eco and Tec Kyoto
#14 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Toyoko Inn Kyoto Shijo-Karasuma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Centurion Cabin & Spa Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
9 Hours Capsule Hotel Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Capsule Ryokan Kyoto
Capsule Ryokan Kyoto
#3 of 300 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Cabin Kyoto Karasuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Cabin Kyoto Karasuma

Property: First Cabin Kyoto Karasuma
Address: 331 Kamiyanagicho Higashiiru Karasuma Bukkojidori Shimogyoku | Takanoha Square 4F, Kyoto 600-8099, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 300 Speciality lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — First Cabin Kyoto Karasuma 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your First Cabin Kyoto Karasuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing