We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Ranked #8 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Pornainen, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Great new hotel between Kyoto station and downtown. Subway entrance at the corner of hotel. Spacious rooms for Japan. Stayed in a double with extra bed. Nice sliding wall for privacy between doublebed and sofabed. Functional kitchenette with microwave, stove, toaster and waterkettle. On tv CNN and BBC were both english, not japanese dubbed.

Stylish reception hall with efficient and friendly staff. Breakfast was disappointment, though it costs only 770 yen which is cheap in japanese standards. Outside hotel is seven-eleven and about 200 metres east on Gojo-dori (street where hotel is located) is an 24h supermarket with much better variety than 7-11. Better make your own breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sampula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    593
    84
    12
    7
See reviews for
445
859
84
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Would have given an excellent rating if this place had a Gym. Great location only a 1 min walk from the metro or bus. The front desk staff I dealt with were great in helping out with some questions I had. All front desk staff spoke good English.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wlgNZ320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
92 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed at the Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto in August while touring the city. The hotel is easily accessible from the main train station by taking the subway one stop to the Gojo Station and then exiting the station using exit #1 (north side). The hotel was up a flight of stairs and only a few meters walk.

The hotel is well located since it is right next to a subway station. It is about a 20 to 30 minute walk to the main shopping street near where most of the restaurants are located.

We had a studio room. Our room was bright, clean and easily large enough for two people. The bathroom has only a shower and a toilet. The sink is located in the main room. The kitchen has a heating element, a refrigerator, a toaster and a kettle. There were sufficient plates and cutlery for our use. The air conditioning worked well and was a nice feature when we returned after a hot day.

The studio room we booked also had a balcony which was a pleasant surprise. We could sit and watch the busy street below. The glass doors to the balcony offered amazing sound insulation. There was a shocking difference in the noise level when we had the door open and shut.

All of the staff were very friendly and spoke excellent English. We asked one staff member to recommend a good sushi restaurant and the one she recommended turned out to be amazing. She pulled up the restaurant's website for me so that I would recognize it when I saw it and she even offered to call the restaurant to make a booking.

There is a grocery store located about 150m to the left once you leave the hotel. We were able to shop here to find everything that we needed.

Overall, a very good experience. Not the most centrally located hotel, but it is convenient to the railroad station and to the subway. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhnstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

This hotel is highly regarded for a reason. While it is not anything out-of-this-world-spectacular, it just scores high on all important counts.

Our rate was about $190 per night; this is not super cheap, but not much more expensive than a similar hotel in a similar location within Kyoto. The rate did not include breakfast, but who needs a hotel breakfast with the abundance of cafes and eateries within 10-15 min walk from the hotel.

Location is excellent. 15 min straight and pleasant walk on Karasuma Street from Kyoto station; 5 min by taxi for 660 Yen if you have luggage with you. Getting from Kansai airport to Kyoto is also pretty easy - you just take the Haruka Limited Express which stops right outside the Arrivals level at the airport. Tickets can be purchased directly from the machines in front of the station; they take credit cards and have an English button for non-Japanese speaking users. The non-reserved seat ticket costs almost 3000 Yen and the ride takes 1hr 20 min. We arrived on a Thursday night and left on a Sunday evening and I saw no need to buy a reserved seat ticket (which may be necessary if you travel during rush hour?). Each car has racks to stow luggage just at the entrances on both sides. The racks can accommodate no more than 10 normal sized suitcases, but most people on the train travel lightly, and we didn't find a problem getting ours on the racks.

Kyoto station is also a hub for trains and buses going to every important from a sightseeing point of view place in Kyoto; we used the JR Nara line to get to the Inari shrine, and JR Saga-Arashyama line to get to Arashyama forest and Nijo castle.
Nishiki food market is within a 15-20 walk from the hotel in a direction opposite from Kyoto station, Gion district with Yasaka shrine - about 25-30 min walk. Large shopping complexes within 15 min walk also, along Shijo dori (runs parallel to Gojo dori, where the hotel is located). If you don't want to walk, there is a subway station (Gojo) right at the hotel's doorsteps, but can't provide any insightful information since we did not use.

Much has been said about the hotel rooms - even the smallest rooms (studiolike) have either double beds or a fullsize bed + a small pullout couch. Sink is in the room, a small kitchenette available too with utensils, fridge and others of the like. Bathroom is of the premanufactured type, but because it is new, it doesn't look bad at all. Really, I cannot describe it any better than the rest of the Tripadvisor reviewers did before me.

I was fairly happy with the front desk people. At least a few of them spoke English well, they were kind and helpful as expected from a hotel with such good reviews.

A few random comments - internet usage is free (i believe it was LAN only, with wireless available in the lobby). There are also laundry facilities, 300Y per wash, 100Y per 30 min dry cycle. We got a smoking room by mistake and it had this stale smell, so typical of smoking rooms, so non-smokers - make sure you get the non-smoking rooms. View from your room may end up being a view from the nearby building walls, not an issue with me since I was not there to spend the day in the room. Check out time is 12pm, which is great, though they get antsy if you stay longer than that (since the hotel is always at full capacity and they need to get ready for the next guests).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bulgarian_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

My family, 5 people, stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during our stay in Kyoto last week. First we wanted to stay in a hotel close to Kyoto Station. However, the review of this hotel in Tripadvisor is really good so we decided to give it a try. Overall we're very happy with our stay and would recommend this hotel to our friends who will travel to Kyoto either for business or personal.

Location
The hotel is right in front of Gojo subway station, one stop from Kyoto Station. Taxi fare from Kyoto Station to the hotel was only 640yen. So if you have more than 2 companies travel together, taking a taxi would be best choice as it would cost 210yen each for 1 subway stop. There're 7-11 across the street and McDonald's nearby. A noodle restaurant next to the hotel is also good and quite cheap. In my opinion, this hotel is very convenient.

Room
We booked 2 rooms for 5 people and they upgraded the room for 3 people for us. :D The rooms size was considered large based on Japanese standard. I stayed with my parents and didn't feel tight althougth there were 3 big beds inside the room. The bed was very comfy and clean. There're a microwave and a water-boiled machine provided which I like most. If there's wifi available in the room, everything would be perfect. FYI, wifi is avalable in a hotel lobby.

Price
We booked our rooms via hotel's official website and got a pretty good deal. There were many promotional rates available i.e. Citi Bank, Krisflyer, Asia Miles ect. If you don't own any of those membership, you can still apply for Ascot online membership for free to get sppecial rates. Value for money is excellent.

Service
Staff spoke good English and very helpful. They helped us suggest places to go shopping, explain directions and transportations and call a cab. During a checkout, their staff looked really guitly when informed us that we had a 41yen additional charge for local call LOL.

Overall, we're very happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: If travel with a group and reserve rooms from it's websit, better book separately. Otherwise, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kulanuj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Higashikagura-cho, Japan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

I recently returned from a family trip to Kyoto. We stayed for 3 nights at the Citadines Kyoto and found the hotel to be a perfect choice. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and had everything you might need....fully equipped kitchen, free internet, flat screen TV DVD player and so on. My 7 year old son said it was the best hotel he had ever stayed in (and he is lucky enough to have stayed in quite a few!).

The hotel is located one stop from Kyoto station on the subway line and the hotel is 1 minute on foot from the Gojo subway station (be sure to exit the station from Exit Number 1).

We will stay again for sure! Check the Citadine homepage for the best rates. I got a great rate which was for Citi cardholders only but there are other special rates available. We paid 11,000 yen a night for a twin room.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AdrianinJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Nice apart'hotel, very well situated, bus, metro, main (and beautiful) Kyoto station not far, extremely clean (every day cleaning without extra charge which is not the case in the Citadines we stayed in in Europe), friendly staff, always very helpful. The residence is new and nicely decorated. If we had to stay again in Kyoto, we would return there without any hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#31 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto

Property: Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Address: 432 Matsuyacho, Gojo Karasuma-dori Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8105, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#9 Business Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for business and leisure travel, Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto is located a short walk from the business district and Kyoto's tourist belt. Restaurants, shopping and entertainment are close by as are many of the cultural heritage sites. For destinations throughout the city, the subway is highly efficient and the Gojo subway station is outside the residence. It is one stop from the main Kyoto station of Shinkansen. These stylish serviced residences provide the comfort, convenience and security desired while living and working in Kyoto. Choice of Apart'hotel Choose from the studio twin, studio double, studio premier twin, studio premier double and one bedroom premier for the apartment that suits your requirements and budget. Each of these Kyoto serviced apartments is fully furnished with stylish interiors, designer fittings and modern amenities. The prime address allows for easy access to the city as well as a retreat with 24 hour security, services and facilities. The resident's programmes provide the opportunity to explore and discover Kyoto. Relax in the resident's lounge and work efficiently with business facilities available. Ideal Location Discover Kyoto, the cultural center of Japan. The vast number of world heritage sites, shrines, temples, palaces, and cultural facilities are easily accessible to you from Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto. Shopping, restaurants and entertainment venues are also close by the residence and the business district is a convenient 10 minute walk. The Gojo Subway station is one minute from the residence offering access to the network of subways throughout the city. Comfort and Convenience Every apartment is designed to offer space to relax with the amenities to live, work and entertain in comfort. Each apartment is fully furnished with modern and stylish fittings. The fully equipped kitchen has a cooker hob and hood, microwave, refrigerator, and glassware, crockery, cutlery and utensils. Also provided are the bedroom linens, bathroom towels and toiletries and daily cleaning services. Broadband internet access is available in each residence along with direct dial telephone and IDD service. The home entertainment system includes satellite TV, cable, DVD and a HiFi system. To accommodate your stay you may choose extra services from the flexible service menu to fit your budget and lifestyle. Included are the daily maid service, daily continental breakfast, automatic laundry, dry cleaning service and private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Kyoto Karasuma Gojo Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing