We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect home base to explore Kyoto from”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Ranked #7 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The perfect home base to explore Kyoto from”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Citidines Kyoto Karasuma-Gojo
“The perfect home base to explore Kyoto from”
The middle part of our trip to Japan was spent in Kyoto and my wife and I chose the Citedines for our 3 day stay.
From Kyoto station take the subway to the Gojo stop one stop away. Go to the left out of exit #1 and the hotel is literally ¾ of a block away. There are some stairs to deal with going this way though. There is an elevator exit from the station that puts you on the street about a block farther away. We had one backpack, (our carry-on), one medium size suitcase that has backpack straps and one large suitcase w/wheels and we could negotiate the stairs with little trouble.
The entrance to the hotel has a classic Japanese feel with a sand/rock garden lining both sides of the entrance hall. The lobby lighting is a little too dark for my taste but the staff was very friendly, English speaking and helpful. We arrived about 11:30 AM and were able to have our bags locked up while we went and had lunch and did some touristing for about 3 hours with no trouble.
A nice security feature I hadn’t seen before which I really liked was the room key card had to be touched to the control pad in the elevator to access the room floors and the laundry/breakfast floor in the basement.
We had room 805 and though less than 280 sq. ft. and smaller than the one we had in Tokyo it was laid out brilliantly. When you walk in you slip your key card into a slot on the wall that allows electricity to flow to the room, can’t leave the lights on when you leave unless you leave your key behind. The only drawback to this is it also shuts off the climate control. It was rather chilly when we were there in early March, it actually snowed one day, so we only used the heat. The unit was easy to figure out and got the apartment nice and toasty again in no time.
The larger closet in the front hall has the safe, ironing board and a folding chair so you can seat two at the small table for meals. The Kitchenette has all the utensils you’ll need plus electric kettle and toaster and the built in one burner stove top was easy to use and very responsive.
The bathroom had a good shower and one of those fancy Japanese toilets that is just a hoot to use. The sink is outside the bathroom but that’s no big deal.
There is a small sofa and a desk/work area with free plug in internet, cable provided.
The large double bed was very comfy and can be almost completely shut off from the rest of the room by a sliding Japanese style screen.
The laundry machines in the basement are only 100 yen to wash and 200 to dry are new and work well.
We didn’t have occasion to partake of the breakfast room as we cooked our own and ate in our room. Skip the 7-11 across the street and go left out the front door then a block and a half on the same side of the street there is a great little grocery store called Fresco,(sign in English), that has everything you’ll need for breakfast and even some great packaged sushi and sashimi for dinner or snacks.
After stomping around to all the fabulous sights in Kyoto, taking a day trip to Nara,(a must do by the way), and shopping at the handy crafts store coming back to the Citadines feels like coming back to your apartment instead of your hotel. Like I said the perfect home base to explore Kyoto from. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oepinusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,116
    625
    94
    13
    7
See reviews for
478
903
91
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed here when we did the Kyoto Marathon 2012.
The hotel is very conveniently located near the subway and is not on the usually busy streets.
Service is simple & unobtrusive; the front desk staff speak good English so asking for directions & recommendations was easy.
The rooms are quite spacious and clean.

Highly recommended if anyone is visiting Kyoto.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisqey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This hotel is a reasonably priced, well appointed accommodation in a location 10-15 mins walk away from the main shopping centre of Kyoto. It's also very close to Gojo Subway Station which is one stop away from the main Kyoto station (so convenient for rail travellers as it's just a little far to walk with heavy bags).

Rooms have cooking facilities (good for those on a budget) and are more spacious than the Japanese standard in this price bracket. There's also a very reasonably priced coin laundry in the basement. No wi-fi in rooms (LAN only) but there is free wifi in the guest lounge/breakfast area.

Breakfast in the morning was good value; normally around 770 yen for a buffet, when we stayed it was reduced to 535 yen. Not exactly gourmet but great for stacking up with food before a long day tramping round the temples.

One downside is that there are not that many useful bus routes that pass right by the hotel, but with a bit of engineering and a one-day bus pass you can easily get to the more major routes. You can also catch the subway to major bus terminals.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrDurden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Our family of 4 stayed here in March 2012.

Love the location as it is very near the subway station Gojo (one stop away from Kyoto station); helped minimize walk and carrying of luggage (do note there are some steps at the exits which you need to carry the bags). Once you come out from Exit (I believe it is Exit 2), just head straight on the same side of the road. The hotel is on the left.

The room has a mini kitchen but well equipped which you can cook.
Every night, we did our laundry at Level B1 and that's where the wifi is available too while you wait.

There are convenience stores like Lawson & 7-11 all within few mins. walk.

A Mcdonalds at the corner of the street and a lovely local lunch restaurant right next to the hotel (simple, fast, value for money and delicious).

There are buses nearby to various sightseeing destinations but as there were 4 of us, we took taxis to Kiyomizudera Temple and also to Nijo Castle. It came up to 3/400 yen more only per taxi.

There's also a clinic nearby (called Sasaki if I remember correctly) within walking distance as one of my sons fell ill upon arrival.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EPLT72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I LOVED staying here. I was quite sad to leave! I only stayed for a few nights and the place felt like home. The staff are extremely friendly and hospitable, and they even placed birthday messages for us one day and personally signed the slips themselves and left candy in our rooms. Nevertheless I gladly filled on their feedback card, rooms are very clean, staff go above and beyond and the cleaners are extremely polite as well. Well worth the money!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yodaahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I loved the clean modern feel of the studio my husband and I stayed in. The bathroom was a bit small and basic for my taste, but the bed was huge and comfortable.
The location is good in the sense that the subway station is right in front of the hotel and that you can get almost anywhere just by taking a taxi nearby. However many taxis had trouble finding it and there aren't many restaurants around. Overall a very nice place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabriconga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Modern 5 star boutique apartment hotel in the center of Kyoto.
Front desk staff had the best English of our whole stay and sent us to visit places that were not on the tourist map.
Great to have kitchenette in the room and laundry in the basement next to breakfast room.
This became our laundry stop as we stayed halfway through our 10 day Japan visit.
There is a 7-11 convenience store across the road and a McD around the corner.
We didn't use the McD because by then were used to eating from the local takeaways (Sushi Train).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 373 in Kyoto
3,004 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace
Sakura Terrace
#19 of 373 in Kyoto
849 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 373 in Kyoto
584 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
#11 of 373 in Kyoto
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto

Property: Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Address: 432 Matsuyacho, Gojo Karasuma-dori Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8105, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#3 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#9 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#16 Best Value Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for business and leisure travel, Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto is located a short walk from the business district and Kyoto's tourist belt. Restaurants, shopping and entertainment are close by as are many of the cultural heritage sites. For destinations throughout the city, the subway is highly efficient and the Gojo subway station is outside the residence. It is one stop from the main Kyoto station of Shinkansen. These stylish serviced residences provide the comfort, convenience and security desired while living and working in Kyoto. Choice of Apart'hotel Choose from the studio twin, studio double, studio premier twin, studio premier double and one bedroom premier for the apartment that suits your requirements and budget. Each of these Kyoto serviced apartments is fully furnished with stylish interiors, designer fittings and modern amenities. The prime address allows for easy access to the city as well as a retreat with 24 hour security, services and facilities. The resident's programmes provide the opportunity to explore and discover Kyoto. Relax in the resident's lounge and work efficiently with business facilities available. Ideal Location Discover Kyoto, the cultural center of Japan. The vast number of world heritage sites, shrines, temples, palaces, and cultural facilities are easily accessible to you from Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto. Shopping, restaurants and entertainment venues are also close by the residence and the business district is a convenient 10 minute walk. The Gojo Subway station is one minute from the residence offering access to the network of subways throughout the city. Comfort and Convenience Every apartment is designed to offer space to relax with the amenities to live, work and entertain in comfort. Each apartment is fully furnished with modern and stylish fittings. The fully equipped kitchen has a cooker hob and hood, microwave, refrigerator, and glassware, crockery, cutlery and utensils. Also provided are the bedroom linens, bathroom towels and toiletries and daily cleaning services. Broadband internet access is available in each residence along with direct dial telephone and IDD service. The home entertainment system includes satellite TV, cable, DVD and a HiFi system. To accommodate your stay you may choose extra services from the flexible service menu to fit your budget and lifestyle. Included are the daily maid service, daily continental breakfast, automatic laundry, dry cleaning service and private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Agoda, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Kyoto Karasuma Gojo Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing