We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal near the Kyoto train station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae
Ranked #15 of 376 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This nice hotel has almost everything a non-Japanese would want. When we came back late fro visiting friends we were invited to have free noodles. This hotel has a public bath which was delightful. I think this is unusual in my experience. The room was comfortable but adequate for space. The one negative was no TV in any foreign language- in Kyoto they should have this, I think.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank geowmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a small but well designed room (not too much bigger than a cruise ship cabin). The decor was a little dark for me but tastefully done. The room was well appointed and very clean. We enjoyed the noodles at night and the onsen. We found the check-in staff helpful and efficient.
The next day we were to catch a train at 1pm. As I was not feeling too good we asked if we could keep the room until 12 noon. We could at a cost of 1000 yen per person per hour. I stayed in the room, my husband sat down in the lobby!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diob255114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Location : Just minutes away from Kyoto Station where the city bus will bring you to all the tourist attractions.

Rooms : Small but tidy and looks new. I got a room with Twin bed and it is perfectly enough for 2 adults and a 5 years old.

Facilities : The onsen is great... however it would be better if they have a family/private onsen too. For the female onsen, they also implemented a password which changes everyday for safety purpose. The entire onsen facility is nice and clean.

Meals : Breakfast is great with a wide variety of high quality choices. During the night, there is also free ramen to satisfy the hunger pangs before going to sleep. You can also request for extra bottled water from the frontdesk if those 2 in the room is not enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KWong_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Very good value hotel 3 minutes from Kyoto Station. Tidy, perfect tiny rooms, but everything works perfectly. A little noisy if you keep your window open. There is an onsen, laundry, free wifi, free noodles at night, but best is the breakfast, where all kinds of high quality Japanese dishes and a bit of western dishes are offered.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank tomshiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This hotel is really hard to beat. First of all, it's literally a stone throw away from Kyoto Station, which makes all journeys a little easier.

It has an onsen (both indoor and outdoor) for hotel guests, and really have extreme attention to detail to make sure girls feel safe to take a bath there- the door to the female side has a password lock, and the password changes every day to make sure no creepy visitors can go in.

The room was quite spacious in Japanese standards, and was, of course, equipped with all basic amenities.

But what really impressed me most was the free late night ramen! It's simply enjoyable to have something warm down your stomach after an onsen bath, or simply an exhausting day of travelling. Two thumbs up for this!

A little tip for ramen lovers- this hotel is just opposite to two famous ramen shops in Kyoto, Dai Ichi Asahi and Shinfuku. There are usually a queue outside both shops, so go early (or really late)!

One minor flaw that could be dismissed given the above- when I asked for a socket converter, they did not seem to have any for UK plugs. Remember to bring your own!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guneingdoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Best hotel of our Japan trip was Dormy Inn in Kyoto. It is such good value. The rooms are very big and comfortable. There is an awesome onsen in the hotel and free delicious ramen between 9-11pm each night. The hotel is a few minutes walk from Kyoto station. Wifi was excellent in the rooms. The shower was pretty good too – strong pressure and nice toiletries – but you must try the onsen which makes bathing a pleasure. There is a handy laundry near the onsen (keep your 100 yen coins handy).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heretoexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Perfectly located across from Kyoto main station, we stayed two nights before moving closer to Gion district. This hotel was very good value. Small, clean rooms, but great ammenities - free morning coffee, free laundry, fantastic 9th floor onsen, and outside onsen too! Great fun, great value establishment.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_siger007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 376 in Kyoto
3,068 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#46 of 376 in Kyoto
2,159 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#26 of 376 in Kyoto
733 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae

Address: 558-8 Higashishiokozicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#17 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: £93 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Rakuten, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing