We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£355
Fully refundable before Fri, 24 May
Hotels.com
£524
Fully refundable before Fri, 24 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Skyscanner.com
£228
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
shell87124
Albuquerque, New Mexico

Japanese look with English comfort

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Mar 2020
The moment we entered the hotel we felt at peace. The atrium and lounge areas are superior. The rooms are sparsely furnished in Japanese tradition with western beds. The view was awesome (corner room) but very private. The amenities were superb including wooden shoes and pajama style clothing to wear in the room. Attached to the hotel is a restaurant, food shop, wine bar and unique chocolate bar. The staff treated us with the grace that only the Japanese can. It was one block from the train station that comes from Osaka. Near shopping, Nashiki Market, the Gion area and many shrines and temples.
Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Good_Nature_Hotel, お客様担当マネージャー at Good Nature Hotel Kyoto, responded to this review
Responded 15 Mar 2020
Thank you for choosing to stay with GOOD NATURE HOTEL KYOTO.
We are glad to have been of assistance to you during your travels.
We truly hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Thank you for taking the time to post this.
We look forward to meeting you again.
GOOD NATURE HOTEL KYOTO Konishi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£219
  • Hotels.com
    £240
  • Agoda.com
    £188
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Good Nature Hotel Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£133
Fully refundable
  • travelup.com
    £138
  • Agoda.com
    £120
  • Expedia.com
    £149
1.3 miles from Good Nature Hotel Kyoto
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
£87
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £95
  • Agoda.com
    £72
  • Priceline
1.1 miles from Good Nature Hotel Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£88
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £72
  • Hotels.com
    £105
1.5 miles from Good Nature Hotel Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£171
  • Hotels.com
    £189
  • Agoda.com
    £103
  • Expedia.com
    £171
1.4 miles from Good Nature Hotel Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
【蓮花の湯】瞑想の湯(男性)
Booking.com
£109
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    £99
  • Priceline
1.0 miles from Good Nature Hotel Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Deluxe Twin
Booking.com
£42
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    £31
  • Priceline
1.7 miles from Good Nature Hotel Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£75
  • japanican.com
    £83
  • Agoda.com
    £60
  • Priceline
1.5 miles from Good Nature Hotel Kyoto
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£87
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    £78
  • Vio.com
4.6 miles from Good Nature Hotel Kyoto
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£439
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    £196
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from Good Nature Hotel Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
45
11
5
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
45
11
5
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews taxi stand gion area great location atrium balcony beds japan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2020 via mobile

This hotel looks good in terms of the design in general and it does have good concept that it strives to be eco-friendly and promote organic products. It also has some studios that you can check out on the 3rd floor. Customer service is good in general. They provide free drinks at the restaurants in the hotel like coffee and beer. The hairdryer and the water pot are the decent ones with good brands.

Definitely there’s no complaints with the service and the amenities, but there are a number of things that need further improvement:

1. No toothbrushes and combs are provided as they are promoting plastic free but you can purchase at front desk. However, hotel did not notify before the trip at all. If the customer doesn’t know about your policy, in the end they will simply buy a plastic toothbrush from you. It would defeat your plastic free purpose but you can charge 110 yen more per head. I would say it’s a good idea but please do notify your customers before their stay.

2. There is no heater in the room and you have to call front desk to request them to turn on at back end, while it’s less than 10C in Kyoto. Please turn on the heater beforehand. If you don’t prefer turning on the heater, it is fine as well but please mention in the note that you share with your customer. It would show that you have thought about their needs.

3. The lighting system in the room is not good. There are two sets of buttons that control the lights. One set controls the bedding lights and the other set control the rest of the lights in the room except bathroom. The issue is that if you turn off the main lights and only turn on the bed lights, it would be very dark. If you leave the main light turned on, it would be too bright. One of the button on the headboard didn’t not work well- after it’s pushed in, it couldn’t really bounce back.

4. The food served in the restaurant on 1st floor is bad. We ordered two pasta. One is spaghetti with orange zest and fish sperm. The fish sperm is probably the worst we have ever had. It’s not fresh at all. You would expect a decent dish in a hotel restaurant instead of this quality.

5. There’s some stain in water pot. We had to clean it before use.

6. The couch is in pinkish red. The room is chic but not cozy enough.

7. Smoking area is located in the room inside the car park. It does look more like the smoking area in the car park instead of the hotel’s. It is a bit scary if you go alone.

Therefore, the conclusion is that hardware is good and resources is good too, but if this hotel could think more from customer perspective, it would be better. Looking forward to your improvement!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Lawcfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Good_Nature_Hotel, Reception at Good Nature Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2020

Thank you for your staying to our hotel.
We also thanks for your good reviews and a lot of opinions.
First we are glad to hear you undrstand our concept and spend good time in our hotel.
However, we apologize for incomprehensible amenities information, inconvenient air conditioning and lights, dirty pot,etc.
Although there are times when it is difficult to improve immediately,
we will take your feedback seriously and make it a topic for further study and will use it to better our hotel.
We look forward to your next stay.
At last we appreciate you took the time to write this review.

Best Regards,
GOOD NATURE HOTEL KYOTO FURUTA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2020 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at the Good Nature and it wasn’t long enough. Beautifully designed and decorated it was an absolute pleasure to stay here. The staff were amazing in answering every question from before we arrived to even after we left when our son left something in our room and they shopped in on to our next hotel. Rooms are a little small but by no means small in Japanese standards. Can’t wait to come back and stay again at the Good Nature.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Mellyanne_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Good_Nature_Hotel, reception at Good Nature Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2020

Thank you for stay Good Nature Hotel Kyoto.
Thank you also for your cooperation in leaving a review.
We are very pleased to hear that you seemed to have enjoyed stay.
All the staff will continue to work hard every day to improve and bring more satisfaction to our visitors.
We truly hope that you will stay with us again.
GOOD NATURE HOTEL KYOTO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2020 via mobile

Nice place but don’t rely on the front desk to book a taxi. We almost missed our train because they didn’t actually call a taxi for us at the time that we pre-arranged. For a hotel of a this caliber you would expect better.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank michaelpI4140IS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Good_Nature_Hotel, reception okabe at Good Nature Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2020

Thank you for staying at our hotel.
However, we sincerely apologize for taxi reserve.
We value your opinion, and will use it to better our hotel.
We look forward to your next stay.
At last we appreciate you took the time to write this review.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2019

We stayed on opening night and loved the experience. The rooms are very nicely designed, modern and spacious. All rooms have nice amenities, and we received complimentary chocolates from the chocolate shop downstairs. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel also has a number of free art workshops and yoga sessions for guests

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Good_Nature_Hotel, フロント at Good Nature Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2019

Thank you for staying at our hotel.
And we appreciate your kind words of praise for our staff and hotel.
Your kind words are a great motivation for us.
Our entire staff will continue to strive to satisfy you in your future stay.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
At last we appreciate you took the time to write this review.
Best regards,
Good nature station hotel kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GOOD NATURE HOTEL KYOTO, マーケティング at Good Nature Hotel Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews