We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi
Ranked #21 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

i stayed at the daiwa for 3 nights and really enjoyed my stay. it is super close to kyoto station so easy to find upon arrival. the room was small, as i expected, but had everything i needed during my stay. it was also incredibly clean.

it is nice being close to kyoto station for travel around the city. although after 10pm there is not much to do in the area and so we took cabs coming home from downtown on 2 nights. it is still close though and was inexpensive.

i did not have any problems at all and would recommend this hotel to other traveling couples and also business travelers. the value cannot be beat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jooliecoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyotoHachijyoDRH, 支配人 at Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel.

Thank you for letting me compliments.

Please also use the hotel our group When you come to Japan.

I'm looking forward to seeing.

Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    340
    51
    8
    9
See reviews for
112
286
93
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My wife and i are on a tour of japan and in our stay in Kyoto we stayed in the Daiwa Roynet Hotel. We knew the hotel would be new and had expectations of a clean and modern room. We were not disappointed the rooms were very clean and very modern.

We stayed for approximately 5 nights and had no issue with our stay. The pillows unfortunately were terrible and very hard to sleep on - luckily enough we had another set of pillows from our last stay which we brought with us.

The breakfast we read was going to be "below average" and it was. Both the western and Japanese breakfasts were very very average and should not be even tried. This was fairly evident of the amount of people who are sitting there we saw no more than 10 people at any time. After the multiple reviews of how bad the breakfast is, i would hope that this is fixed "soon".
The train station (Kyoto) a small walk away has a bakery and plenty to eat in the morning.

We used the laundry facilities. They were 300Y for the washing machine (with automatic detergent) and 100Y for the dryer per 1/2hr. We found that a load in the washing machine, required 2x1/2hr dry's.

Would stay here again with the knowledge of bringing own pillow, getting own food / supermarket / going to the train station every day.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker ensure to get a non smoking room. Using the laundry facilities was on a smo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave4Ally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyotoHachijyoDRH, 支配人 at Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel.

We were glad you have me to stay.

Breakfast is recommended, I can eat the Obanzai (Kyoto-style).

In addition, please eat when you want to stay.

I look forward to seeing you again

Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hi guys! This isn't actually a review, sorry for the unhelpful post to researchers.

I'm actually trying to get in touch with a staff member from this hotel (I see they have replied to some posts recently).

We have a reservation with your hotel in a few weeks but I am trying to book a reservation at the Saihoji Temple so we can visit during our stay in Kyoto. Unfortunately I cannot do this while I'm in Australia (and the reservation needs to be made a couple of weeks in advance) so I was wondering if perhaps the hotel might be able to assist us in making a reservation there. Your website only has a telephone number but I was wondering if there was an email we might be able to converse through? Or is the telephone the best way to contact the Hotel with a request like this?

Looking forward to your response!

- Amiee

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amieetaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ダイワロイネットホテル京都八条口, 支配人 at Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your inquiry.
Please contact us through the e-mail because this is personal information.
Please tell us more detail.

Our e-mail address↓
kyoto-hachi@daiwaroyal.jp


Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We arrived at Kyoto station and were so surprised at how close the hotel was from the station! Just a few minutes walk. Check in was easy, rooms were large by Japanese standards and bathrooms very clean. Walking distance to some historic sites and the rest are easily accessible via bus or rail at Kyoto station. Staff all speak great english and were helpful with requests. Altogether we were very impressed with the quality of room, super fast wifi and location to nice eateries, shopping and transportation in Kyoto. We would recommend this hotel to friends and family alike. This hotel deserves its high commendation.

Room Tip: Our room was closest to the elevator, so if possible request a room further away as we could hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steph m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyotoHachijyoDRH, 支配人 at Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel.

Did you spend it comfortably? We are glad to you come to kyoto.

In addition, please use all means If you ever come to Kyoto.
Thank you for valuable feedback.

Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Very service minded, very clean, week situated if you are to travel from Kyoto station (5 min walk). But if you are to see the old Kyoto (and that you must!) then this hotel is in the wrong part of town! Look north-west for other hotels

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SigneSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyotoHachijyoDRH, 支配人 at Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel.

The hotel is clean our hotel to be safe.

I'll try to be as provided in the future.

In addition, I am waiting.

Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were at Roynet for 3 nights.We were completely satisfied with the Hotel. The staff were great, the room was great, the breakfast was great!
It was about a 15 min walk south of the Kyoto train station. We made it easily with our rollaboard luggage. Later we appreciated that it was only 350m North of the metro stop which we found useful to get to sites in Northern Kyoto and then take a short taxi ride to temples.
The room was very comfortable and in good repair in all respects. The bed was a standard full size. The toilet had the Toto potty with all the gadgets and a good tub.
The breakfast was $10 each and a good buy. They had all the Japanese things you might expect, like fish, chicken. ham, tofu and rice and plenty of Western things too, like scrambled eggs, potatoes, potato salad, veggies and sausages. Some nice breads and rolls too.
For dinner we used the omnipresent Family Mart convenience store just across the street and the very good Coco curry carry out or eat in restaurant on the other corner. After a long day touring, it is great to relax in the room and eat simply sometimes.
We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wvorih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyotoHachijyoDRH, 支配人 at Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel.

We are glad you have me happy.There are about 30 types of breakfast.

In addition, please eat If you ever come.

I'll be waiting for you.

Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here 5 nights during our citytrip in Kyoto. The hotel is conveniently located nearby Kyoto station so you'll travel easily to all the places you want to see and visit in and around Kyoto. Rooms are clean and well equipped/comfortable, all you need is provided. We had breakfast here once but decided it was all a bit too Japanese for us so we had breakfast outside the hotel for the other 5 days. No big deal, there are enough take-away things at Kyoto station to please everyone. Would certainly stay here again if in Kyoto.

Room Tip: They were out of non-smoking rooms but definitely try to ask for one (although they try to get rid o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ダイワロイネットホテル京都八条口, 支配人 at Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for staying at Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi.


We are grad to you had a great time in our hotel.
If you come to Kyoto ,we hope to see you again in the future.
Thank you.


Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijokarasuma
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#22 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace
Sakura Terrace
#17 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi

Property: Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi
Address: 9-2 Higashikujo Kitakarasumacho, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8017, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 4min walk from KYOTO STATON.Very convineence to sightseeing,dinning,shopping.There are huge shopping center near the hotel.From Airport(Kansai-Osaka) 80min by Limousin bus.Japanease-Kyoto style design hotel.English available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing