We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi
Ranked #27 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We booked a room here based on the positive TripAdvisor reviews, and this was our least favorite stay in Japan. The rooms felt old, and the rooms were so tiny the the double bed had to be pushed against the wall. We were expecting small rooms (all our stays were business-style hotels), but this was our most cramped stay. Only positive was that it was walking distance to Kyoto station. We would not stay here again - there are so many hotels in Kyoto, we'd find something better.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank traveltrotter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyotoHachijyoDRH, 支配人 at Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for staying at Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi.

And also, we appreciate that you gave us your comments
We are terribly sorry for not being able to live up to your expectations.
We hope to see you again when you visit to Kyoto next time.


Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Hotel is about 5min walk from Kyoto Station located near a shopping-centre (Avanti). The staff is ok, the rooms are average. There is even quite enough space for a long stay.

PRO (+)
- OK Location
- Quite clean but i personally hate shower curtains
- Coin washing machine availalbe
- Wifi is working
- Restaurants and convinient stores nearby
- Enough space

CON (-)
- Kindergarten nearby
- One side of the bed is direct at wall (personally I don't like this)
- Nothing special - boring room interieur
- Price was average

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank where_is_at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyotoHachijyoDRH, 支配人 at Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for staying at Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi.
And also, we appreciate that you gave us your comments. We are glad to hear from you how you felt about our hotel. Thank you so much.

We hope to see you again when you visit to Japan next time. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hotel is 5-10 minutes walk from Kyoto Station so its very convenient for bus, train and subway connection. From Kyoto station look for Avanti departmental store. Hotel is down the same street. Very clean and comfortable. Very friendly staff. Speak English. Very nice hotel brand coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TanKhasheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyotoHachijyoDRH, 支配人 at Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for staying at Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi.
And also, we appreciate that you gave us your comments. As you mentioned, our hotel is located close to Kyoto station. We are glad to hear from you that you had a good time while you stayed in our hotel.

We hope to see you again when you visit to Japan next time. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel is near KYOTO Station that you can connect shinkansen. Walking from station for 10 minutes. I think this hotel is in big chain hotel. So the service is good. Receptionist is good in English.

I like Keycard that print out for me (shown my name on keycard). I love toilet amenity espeacially soap powder.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Youise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyotoHachijyoDRH, 支配人 at Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for staying at Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi.
And also, we appreciate that you gave us your comments. We are glad to hear from you that you had a good time while you stayed in our hotel.

We hope to see you again when you visit to Japan next time. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel is excellent, room size is reasonably good according to Japan standards. Kyoto station is at walking distance. But there are no Indian restaurants nearby, you will have to take taxis to go to Indian restaurants which will be expensive. also, most of the tourist attractions are at other part of city so you have to travel a bit more. But the good point with location was railway station from where you can get buses for all the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrashantSomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyotoHachijyoDRH, 支配人 at Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for staying at Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi.
We appreciate that you gave us your comments. We are glad to hear from you that you had a good time while you stayed in our hotel.

We hope to see you again when you visit to Japan next time. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We found this hotel through trip advisor and it didn't disappoint. We initially were worried we wouldn't find it as it was dark and we couldn't work out which street it was on! But the hotel instructions said go down the side of the avanti building, we luckily chose the right hand side as you face from the station, and were there within 5 mins walk from the station. The room was compact but perfectly fine to move about in. Breakfast was a little disappointing if you don't like Japanese style breakfast. I ate bread and jam all three mornings, there were no pastries as I would hope at a continental breakfast, but as if you like Japanese style breakfast there was plenty and lots of tofu for veggies like me! It's on the quieter side of the station which is good. Staff were very polite and friendly.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank fleeceylauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyotoHachijyoDRH, 支配人 at Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for staying at Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi.

We are grad to you had a great time in our hotel.
If you will come to Kyoto in the future,we hope to see you again.
Thank you very much!


Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

OK, so the location of this place means that it’s a slightly longer walk to some tourist attractions, restaurant and entertainment areas than it would be from hotels on the “right” side of Kyoto JR Station, but this hotel is cheaper, relatively new, and the location is still very convenient. It’s also a great place to stay.

If you are arriving in Kyoto by train, keep an eye out for the Avanti building. It’s a landmark that visible when you’re arriving on most train services, and - being only several blocks from the hotel - will help you navigate there. The Avanti building is on the same side of the station as the Shinkansen tracks, so if you’re arriving by Shinkansen you won’t have too much walking ahead of you.

I have seen several different descriptions for getting from Kyoto station (JR or Kintetsu) to the hotel, but agree with a previous poster that the East Hachijo exit is the best way, although it does involves quite a few stairs. This exit takes you under Hachijo Street (“hachijo-dori”). (If you find yourself at street level on the Station side of Hachijo-dori, you’ll need to find the stairs that take you back down to the subway that goes under the road).You’ll end up on the other side of Hachijo-dori, below street level but in the open air, in what appears to be the forecourt of Avanti. With your back to the station, choose the stairs that take you towards the right hand side of the Avanti building (not the left). Once you reach street level, walk alongside the Avanti building, still with your back to the station. At the far corner of the Avanti building, you’ll reach a set of pedestrian lights - turning neither right nor left, walk through them (and - this being Japan - observing the lights), still keeping your back to the station, and when you reach the next set of pedestrian lights, you’ll see the hotel directly in front of you. That’s only four or five minutes from when you left the station exit.

Check in time is 2 pm; check-out is 11 am - that’s as good as it gets in Japan. I arrived half an hour early, but my room was ready and I was able to check-in and go straight up. Service at check-in - and elsewhere - was friendly and helpful.

Wifi in the room and lobby area is free, fast and doesn’t require a password, symptomatic of hotel management that wants to make guests’ stays as user friendly as possible.

Apart from a double bed with the head and one side pushed up against the walls, I also had a bench along the window with TV, and plenty of room for using my laptop, making a cup of tea or eating a snack. Apart from the bed, and the bench, there was a swivel chair, a stand for my bag, and wardrobe hanging space near the door. I had a view over the street but there was no issue with noise - just a view of street life.

The bathroom: small but functional, with a deep bath and a regular bidet/toilet. Like most Japanese business hotels, you’ll find separate shampoo/conditioner/body lotion/hand wash, plus the normal razors, toothbrushes and toothpaste, etc.

I was expecting to walk over to the other side of Kyoto station each morning and eat a “morning service” breakfast, but I found myself returning to the hotel’s buffet breakfast instead, even though it was more expensive, and I ended up eating more than what I normally would.

For Y1030 (just over $US10), you get a choice of western and Japanese dishes. My appreciation of breakfast improved each day as I added more Japanese items to my selection. The hot western fare is nothing special but there are goodies such as natural yoghurt served in small square ceramic containers, and a range of breads which tasted better once I heated them in the toaster oven.

The Japanese food included quite a few salad items, some of which I had never seen before. There were also some dishes which sounded suspect (“tofu refuse”) but which tasted fine, to this reviewer, at least, and without ill effects.

I very much appreciated that (a) there was a coffee machine for guests to use, and (b) it offered a choice of “Coffee” and “Weak coffee.” I chose the “Coffee” option every time - the coffee didn’t taste fantastic but it was reasonable strength.

At breakfast, I noticed that quite a few people lingered on in the cafe area after they’d eaten their breakfast, staying on longer than what I might have expected. I eventually put this down to the ambience - it’s a relaxing and enjoyable place to be, even if the view of the outside area is nothing special. This is not an expensive hotel (my room rate was around $US70 per night, booked through Expedia), and there’s nothing formal or grand about it, but a lot of thought has gone into the design features of the lobby and adjacent cafe area - in my opinion, a pleasing use of shape, texture, and color, especially when seen from the cafe.

I occasionally used the vending machines on the second floor - the drinks are fine (Asahi beer from as little as Y180 per can), but look elsewhere for food - there’s little to recommend here, and nothing if you’re craving chocolate. There’s also a microwave if you want to heat up meals you’ve bought in local convenience stores.

I didn’t use the trouser press that was fitted in my room. Likewise, I didn’t use the washing and drying machines on the fifth floor, but was glad that they were there if I needed them. I didn’t try the nearby bicycle rental, either, but I think bikes would be a terrific way of getting around.

I’m glad I chose this hotel (largely on the recommendations of many Tripadvisor members before me). I probably won’t stay here again, however. It’s a matter of location: this trip, I’m primarily here to visit family and the restaurants around my son’s house in downtown Kyoto offer many more choices than the area around Kyoto station. It’s horses for courses. If I were using a rail pass to travel around Japan and if I were using Kyoto as a base, I would stay in this hotel again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dundas3071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyotoHachijyoDRH, 支配人 at Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for staying at Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi.
And also, we appreciate that you gave us many comments. As you mentioned, the Avanti building will help you navigate to our hotel, and it takes about 5 minutes by walk. We are glad to hear from you that you had a good time while you stayed in our hotel.

We hope to see you again when you visit to Japan next time. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijo Karasuma
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#25 of 407 in Kyoto
759 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace
Sakura Terrace
#20 of 407 in Kyoto
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
#35 of 407 in Kyoto
353 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi

Address: 9-2 Higashikujo Kitakarasumacho, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8017, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: £56 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 4min walk from KYOTO STATON.Very convineence to sightseeing,dinning,shopping.There are huge shopping center near the hotel.From Airport(Kansai-Osaka) 80min by Limousin bus.Japanease-Kyoto style design hotel.English available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing