We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kanra Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Ranked #6 of 363 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed a night in a Japanese style 2-story-room. It is a 'design room' called KAGIROI. I recomend this room to those who are not keen to go as far as traditional Ryokan but want some Japanse style for experience. Ground floor is Tatami bedroom with Futon(they do the bed making, do not worry) and the basement floor has bath and sitting room(Tatami).
The bed room: It faces the main street 'Karasuma' so the traffic may disturb you.
It is good to chat with friends in this small basment sitting room with bit of rock garden attached.
Bath room:Japanese style bath tub is specially made with wood of aroma and Separate shower booth. This may be plesant to non Japanese guests who wants a bit of Japanese taste but not very traditional, I guess.
Staircase is a bit narrow, and toilet is on the ground floor. So I do not recomend this mesonet type room to somebody who has probrem in walking. You have to go up and down.

I like their restautant. It seems popular. People who do not stay here also reserve seats and come. You can try some local wines and sofisticated type of Kyoto cuisine, I think this place is quite handy to casually yet with high quality enjoy here.

Very close to Go-jyo station(subway), which is just a few station away from Kyoto station. It makes this place a good base for seeing around Kyoto.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tthd874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルカンラ京都, Reservations Department at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
We really appreciate your comments as we are confident that our future guests also would for that it is an obliging review of our hotel. If you liked the style of the room "Kagiroi", we believe that you might as well enjoy staying other maisonette type rooms we serve here. -and hopefully our standard Japanese-Modern styled rooms.
We would love to welcome and serve you, again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    135
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
158
222
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed in Kanra for 3 nights during our visit to Kyoto. It's located only 10 min taxi drive from the station, and 10 min taxi drive from Downtown, so easy to get everywhere. We walked to the centre most of the time and also did one day trip to Hiroshima, since we could get there on 2 hour bullet train.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, comfortable, very clean, contemporary and modern at the same time. We did not try any food there as preferred to eat out; breakfast was not included in our stay.
One disapointing thing was that they would not rent us their bikes, as the weather forecast was for rain- it did not rain in the end.
Overall we enjoyed our stay there and would recomend it to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルカンラ京都, Reservations Department at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel to stay with.
It is our pure pleasure to do what we could for all of our guests. We are very sorry for that we were unable to rent you the bikes due to the weather forecast, because as of today all those we have are the electric powered and are comparatively weak in rain. We very much appreciate your comments and as it certainly are valuable to us. We look forward to welcoming and serving you again, with improved assistance. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a lovely design hotel. The rooms really do look like the pictures. We had a twin room, which meant surprisingly huge and comfortable beds, so well beyond king when put together (hotel had already arranged that). The room was anyway very spacious, with a large tatami seating area. The wooden bathtub was very nice and comfy and I liked the fact that the toilet was completely separate.

Location is good for visiting the different sites and the reception is very helpful in explaining everything and helping to make reservations for instance. They speak English quite well and as long as you speak a bit slowly they understand you perfectly fine as well.

Room service: food was very nice, although I thought that the portion of soup was very tiny.
The Western Breakfast at the restaurant is nice with good quality products.

Note that in the area around the hotel it is quite difficult to find a nice place to eat after 10pm. We walked to the station and ended up in one of those "tourist trap" places, not great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wien81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Great Hotel, outstanding rooms, not a Japanese size very spacious, modern at the same time with very traditional Japanese touch. Very good location, good breakfast, everything was very good. Perfect place to start visiting the beautiful Kyoto.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルカンラ京都, Reservations Department at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
We are ecstatic to hear that you are satisfied with our service. We would very much look forward to welcoming you again, certainly at any time. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is the best hotel design-wise I had been to so far. It was relaxing to just sit and chill. We had a big double room and it was amazing.
Bathtub from bamboo, separate toilet, enormous bed. The room was the biggest I have been to in Japan and top 5 ever :)
The best was the design - think I am spoiled for hotels from Kanra on!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denitsa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルカンラ京都, Reservations Desk at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
We are very glad to know that we could "amaze" you with the designs of our hotel. Please come back to us in different period of the year, then you may see the other plants we display and decorate here and there, and you will see the changes even in the lightings that are set to go with the season. We look forward to welcoming you, with a hand, and serving you again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was a great hotel with a sleek modern style mixed with tradition. The sink/shower/and tub were very modern with upgrades. The sitting room had tatami floors and shoji windows. The beds were comfortable with yokata robes to wear. The staff was wonderful and watched our luggage on our last day as we went site seeing. They had a special and offered us two free breakfasts that were fabulous: salad, rice granola and yogurt with berry sauce, juice, and coffee/tea. It is next to a temple that is being refurbished. It was in walking distance form the Nishi Hongwanji temple, big shopping stores with restaurants on the top floor and the rail station.

Room Tip: I believe we had a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルカンラ京都, Reservations Department at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us.
We are only grateful to hear that you are satisfied with our service. We indeed have a convenient access to most of the Kyoto's signature spots. We look forward to welcoming and serving you again, anytime. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We decided to spend our honeymoon in Japan and, after seeing the amazing design of the rooms, we decided to book this hotel for the two nights we would spend in Kyoto. Obviously it wasn't cheap but the money was totally worth it. We stayed in a Maisonette room and it was just as the pictures show. The wooden bathtub is definitely a plus, the japanese style bedroom is perfect and the overall feel of the room was amazing.

The staff was very helpful and went the extra mile for us. Their english is quite good and you also have free bikes to use. The breakfast is absolutely amazing, both the western style and the japanese style.

The location is almost perfect, since we like to be near the main station and it was a 5 to 10 minute walk. From there you can either ride a bike (for free) to see the city or you can walk to the train station to go to some other sightseeing spots. It was very convenient.

If we ever go to Kyoto again, we'll stay at Kanra for sure. The only small negative point is the fact that there's no place to store your luggage near the bedroom and you'll be forced to carry the luggage downstairs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RenAfonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルカンラ京都, Reservations Department at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel to stay for your honeymoon Japan trip.
We really are overwhelmed to receive such praising comments on our service / facility from you.
Please try the other types of rooms when we get to have you with us, again. Though we certainly adore the maisonette featured rooms, we understand it may come handy sometimes to stay in a spacey single-floored room with handling your things being brought; Deluxe Room could be the next recommendation.
We would love to welcome and serve you, again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#13 of 363 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#11 of 363 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kanra Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kanra Kyoto

Property: Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Address: 190 Kitamachi Karasuma-dori Rokujo Kudaru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8176, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 363 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kanra Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kanra Kyoto is a modern designed hotel in style, and yet aiming to acquire and provide the uniquely sophisticated service of Ryokans(the traditional Japanese hotels) to every single guest. The 68 rooms decorated with the minimal touches and scents of Kyoto are the "Small Luxury". Once you step in to the lobby, you are immersed in the cozy warmth in the sun and the rejuvenating coolness under the shades of the green leaves that will emotionally take you to the front garden of the "MA-CHI-YA"(the historic Kyoto's townhouses).Our famous Hiba-cypress wooden bathtub and a separate shower are built in each room.We would do our best to assist your trip in Kyoto to be the precious memory of a lifetime.*Free Wi-Fi throughout the facility.*Located approx. 12minutes on foot from the Central Exit at JR Kyoto station, 1 minute walk from the Exit 8 at Gojo Subway Stop to your right(the South direction). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Kanra Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing