We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Traditional house in great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Japanease style main room/bed room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Japanease style main room/bed room
Entrance House front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Japanease style main room/bed room
Entrance
House front
Bedroom
Living room
Kitchen
Utility room
Bath room
Toilet
Garden
Heian Jingu Shrine -3minutes walk-
Nanzenzi temple
Philosopher's Walk
Ginkakuji temple
Kyoto Handicraft center
Honenin temple(20minutes walk)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Alastair...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Traditional house in great location”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We were met by Nobu-san who was very helpful pointing out all the details of the house and providing maps of the Kyoto area. The house is ideal for a family of four. Thanks again Nobu-san.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ting h
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Kyoto!”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Firstly - the pictures don't do it justice!!!!

Secondly - Neneko house is a charming, warm, wonderful, and authentic place to stay when in Kyoto. The beds and sheets are soft and the rooms clean and comfortable. The best part was the kotatsu with a heater underneath - perfect for winter.

Lastly - Nobu San is the most amazing host. He took the time to sit down with us and explain the neighbourhood and how to get around the city. Without the bus map that he gave us we would probably still be stranded in Kyoto.

We love Nobu San and Neneko house !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Štěpánka...
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Comfortable and great experience”
Reviewed 12 February 2017 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed there for 3 nights in October. We were 4 friends and this traditional house was a good base for our trips. Even the first day, after arrival, we were able to walk to Philosopher's path and visit Ginkaku ji temple (Silver pavillion) and Gion at night. So the position is very good. We were definitely more comfortable than in a hotel and it was fine to have some privacy too. Futons were great, as well as Japanese toilet. We didn't use the kitchen at all, just for making some tea in the morning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
65Graham6...
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Australian couple plus friends from China and their baby”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked one of the 3 "Lovely Machiya Townhouses" after a lot of TripAdviser research. We wanted a place to accommodate my wife and I, plus friends - a Chinese couple and their young child. We wanted something a little more Japanese, but with reasonable home comforts and a convenient location. We wanted value for money and were not looking for expensive frills or service, we are very experienced independent travelers.
The result was that we all thoroughly enjoyed out stay. We did little cooking as there are so many interesting places to eat out. The futon beds were among the most comfortable we have ever experienced. The place would be difficult to find unless you do your research carefully and this is easy with Mr Nobuya responding promptly to emails

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Nobu San was the perfect host and the guesthouse is a lovely and very convenient place to stay in Kyoto.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil G
Indooroopilly, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location, Unique Experience”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We arrived outside the Kyoto Handicraft Center in pouring rain after a shuttle from Kansai airport. Nobu was there to meet us with umbrellas and after a short walk we entered the house.

- Nobu gave us full details on living in the house and left good information on using close by bus transport, which is the ideal way to get around Kyoto. Tip, get the 500y daily bus pass.

- The house is fully equiped, washing machine (with powder etc) only issue the kitchen was very cramped, bit like a "boat galley" Low ceilings in part are a trap for taller visitors.

- Futons may not be perfect for non Japanese but I bought a Thermarest mattress and was pleased I had done so.

- We did a full days walk without transport from the house to a number of the major attractions.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomone K
Camas, Washington, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Feels like home!”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Lovely Machiya townhouse, Neneko in July with 2 teenage girls for 6 days. It had plenty of space for 4 of us to stay. July in Kyoto was 90 fahrenheit with 90% humidity, and we were sweating as soon as we went outside. The washing machine was really handy for washing our sweaty clothes! Since we stayed for 6 days, Nobu came to clean the house on the 3rd day. We ate out for lunch, stayed in for dinner. The small supermarket just a block away was convenient for our meals. We visited most of the major attractions in Kyoto, and I must say that Neneko's location was very good. Thank you Nobu for your hospitality.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing