We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“The hidden gem in Kyoto”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
House located on old cobblestone lane in very quiet neighbourhood
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House located on old cobblestone lane in very quiet neighbourhood
Japanese tatami living room with sunken Kotatsu Outside Maeniiya Machiya Inn (2 bicycles available)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
25 reviews
House located on old cobblestone lane in very quiet neighbourhood
Japanese tatami living room with sunken Kotatsu
Outside Maeniiya Machiya Inn (2 bicycles available)
Maeniiya Machiya Inn on cobblestone lane
Maeniiya Machiya Inn on cobblestone lane
Front view of Maeniiya Machiya Inn
Inside front entrance
Inside front entrance
View from Foyer
Sunken Kotatsu keeps your feet very warm in cold months!
Open Ceiling Above Kitchen
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Machiya's Original Wood Ceiling
Bathroom Area
Washer/Dryer Combination
Bathroom
High-Tech Toilet 'TOTO'
Foyer and Stairs to second Floor
Foyer
Foyer View From Stairs
Skylight above Stairs
Japanese style bedroom
Second Bedroom and Top Quality Futon Beds (Sleeps 2)
Tsuboniwa Japanese Garden
Tsuboniwa Japanese garden
First Floor Layout
Second Floor Layout
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MNM90
San Jose, California
1 review
“The hidden gem in Kyoto”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at his beautiful property. The wabi-sabi presentation of the garden is lovely!

The location is great! We biked to the downtown, visited temples in Gion area and beyond. Not only that we found amazing restaurants in walking distance, we were excited to find an awesome sento and a tofu shop just down the street.

All these treasures and the helpful management office made our stay in Kyoto a wonderful and special experience!

We will definitely stay at this beautiful Machiya next time when we return to Kyoto, our favorite city!

Thanks for providing such a lovely place for travelers and make us feel at home!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location: quiet and yet very convenient
Liked least: chair
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swissami1...
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
261 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

For those looking for a unique way to experience Japan we highly recommend staying at Maeniiya.

From the moment we arrived we felt comfortable. It is clean and well equipped. We appreciated the washer/dryer and Japanese style bath. Included were also shampoo, body soap, detergent for laundry, tin foil, etc. These little additions were well appreciated.
We ate in most evenings and with the supermarket, Fresco, just a few minutes walk away we were able to buy tasty prepared meals.

Wifi, english language TV, guide books, maps available.

Public transportation was easily accessible. Bus 50, a few minutes walk away will get you to Kyoto train station. Kyoto train station, Gion and Nijo Castle are all approximately 25-30 minute walk. Taxis available on main road. Subway only 10-15 minute walk.

Heating is not central, but we had no problems adjusting to room heaters and the toasty Japanese style table heater kept our legs/feet super warm.

The only thing that we did miss was a small heater in the kitchen. Cooking breakfast without a heater was hard!

Overall a wonderful experience.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, location, local experience
Liked least: no heat in kitchen
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clintH47
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Totally honest description of the house and accommodation ( so Japanese, people here are so trustworthy ) about ten minutes walk to Shijo subway station but only moments from bus number 50 from Kyoto JR station. Kyoto is a big city and you have to take a bus to get anywhere and this is a good base. Only ten or fifteen minutes walk to downtown and another ten to the Gion district but again take a bus on a 500yen day pass and you're there in no time. The house is really good, I stayed there with my there kids (11, 15 and 17 ) and we were very happy with the bedding, location and pretty much everything. Free wi fi and cable tv a bonus, would reccommend to those looking for something not so touristy .

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClonmelCo...
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Real Japanese Experience”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We were looking forward to experiencing a genuine Japanese experience. We were not disappointed. The Machiya was fantastic and lived up to all our expectations. it was great to have the freedom of lying on and cooking our own breakfast when we felt like it. The WiFi was a great asset and the Air Conditioning was an added bonus as the weather was unseasonably warm. The location was very central and taxis were easily available.
The whole experience of sitting on the floor (hole in floor to accommodate westerners), the futon beds and the location on a cobblestone pedestrian street was wonderful.
The owners were available at all times to offer assistance and advice.
The house is centrally located and allows easy access to all attractions in Kyoto.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: I would not recommend this property for persons with mobility problems or very young children.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kells_on...
Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect Japanese Getaway”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Maeniiya Guest House was the perfect choice for our family of 4. With 2 kids (age 7 & 9) the house was the perfect size and allowed us to cook a bit or get take away from restaurants (or from the food market in the basement of Takashimaya Department store).

The photos truly represent the house - no surprises! Everything was perfect! Well stocked kitchen, laundry with detergent, water pressure and temperature is good for the shower/bath, bikes were provided - I couldn't possibly find fault in anything! The house was also very child friendly and we felt that the neighbors were friendly and the city felt very safe and clean.

Location: Close to subway and train stations. Taxi to Kyoto Station and other nearby sites is only 640 Yen. Easy to catch a taxi at the end of the alley. Grocery store just 3 blocks north and an ATM 1 block away at the Post Office. There are also a few restaurants in the area, but we found ourselves in

We stayed during Gion Matsuri and for the 3 evenings before the parade (14th - 16th), we could join the festivities just down the street. Each evening we went out to people watch, check out the parade floats, craft booths, carnival games, and snack stalls. Though, if you didn't go out walking, you never would have noticed there was a festival on as there was no noise!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Authentic Japanese experience
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Reviewed 12 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Franzipan...
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best choice in Kyoto”
Reviewed 21 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My dad and I stayed in the Machiya last week and it was a wonderful experience. The house is just beautiful, well equipped and in an amazing location. There are also two bikes in the house that allow you to explore Kyoto. We felt really well taken care of during our stay. In our two weeks in Japan this was by far the most beautiful and comfortable accommodation.
I highly recommend this Machiya to anyone planning to visit Kyoto!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$240
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing