We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place in great Kyoto location”
Review of Sakara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyoto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sakara
Ranked #30 of 300 Speciality lodging in Kyoto
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“perfect place in great Kyoto location”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had 5 people and rented 3 of the 4 units: Bamboo Suite, Sakara Room and Ninja Room. They were clean, very well equipped and comfortable. The Inn is on an authentic shopping arcade with little shops selling fish, groceries, clothes and you name it. Very cool. Its within walkable distance to Gion, Marayuma Park, Heian Shrine, the beautiful Shimbashi and Shirakawa streets, as well as Pontocho. The beds were firm, the bathrooms compact but modern. The washer/dryer combos were great, sure they take a while (like 3-4 hours) but you can put in laundry in the morning when you leave and done when you come home, or put laundry in while you go to dinner or overnight. It was a huge plus to have that. They have kitchen areas but we didn't use much. The Bamboo Suite is spacious with two big beds and storage for luggage under the beds. The Sakara Room was good for couple or couple with kids as there is loft bed. The Ninja Room will require a ladder to bed, but if you can do that, it is a great room (plus I think you get honorary Ninja status for climbing a ladder into bed).

Also, the lounge area has guidebooks and other guides, including the very helpful bus navi guide. Bus stops 1 block away and you can get just about everywhere on city buses, including Arashiyama, Silver Temple, Philosopher's Path, Kyoto Station and downtown. The young woman who helped check us in also marked down some places on large city map that was great and also pointed out some local cafes. Bamboo Izakaya just up the street was great for dinner.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Sakara for groups or couples. Perfect location, clean, great amenities and authentic neighborhood.

Room Tip: Ninja Room very cool but requires ladder climb, Bamboo Suite very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for the informative review. We're glad that you used the easy-opening under bed storage in the Bamboo Suite!

Yes, the shopping arcade is quaint, and even though it is one of the smaller ones in the city, there are still a wide variety of shops. Being so close to the subway stop and the main bus hub is very helpful, too. Getting around Kyoto is easier than most cities, and the helpful information in the tatami lounge guidebooks helps, too.

We love renting Sakra to diverse groups like yourselves using three or four of the rooms, because then guests can make the most of the space, and feel at home, while still having the privacy of individual rooms.

-mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    26
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is my third trip to Kyoto, I am here as I write this, laying in my comfy bed in the very quiet Hinoki Suite at Sakara-Kyoto. I feel at home here. It is right next to the Higashiyama Station and I go all over Kyoto via their excellent subway system.

It is also in walking distance, as I did yesterday, of the Heian Shrine and the Museum of Modern Art. The cherry blossoms are out in full force and I exhaust myself everyday.

It is great to come home to my suite, soak in my really fabulous deep tub. There are great restaurants near by, my favorite is a yakitori restaurant on the north side of the street about a block west of MacDonalds, which I have never been in, but if you are traveling with kids, I guess you might want to know. I am traveling alone and Kyoto is a wonderful city.

One really important aspect of Sakara-Kyoto is that everything I need is here, there is a washer dryer and if I need an apple the lady on the corner has really nice ones.

I have stayed in the Sakura suite which is really small, but was great for my previous trips. The Hinoki suite could handle a family of 4 or even 5, and it is really quiet. This is really important to me and I am incredibly pleased.

So, if you are looking for an apartment type lodging in Kyoto, this is the only place to stay. Good people, clean, quiet, fabulous location.

I am home.

contact me if you want info.

Bonnie

Room Tip: Hinoki, is bigger than Sakura suite. it is very quiet. I would only choose this for my future visi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boscoblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thanks for staying with us on your third trip to Kyoto! You impressed me with all that you did during your time in Kyoto, I think it's safe to say that you have seen and experienced more of this city than many foreign ex-pats who have spent several years in the area! Well done.

We very much appreciated your kind feedback and helpful information, and it pleases us to have an architect approve of our place, and come back as a returning customer!

- mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Conveniently located a stones throw from Higashiyama station The Bamboo suite in Sakara-Kyoto was a very good home away from home for our short stay in Kyoto. A washing machine/dryer, good kitchenette and comfortable beds were welcome facilities for our family of three. The location will put you within easy walking distance of Shinbashi dori, Gion shijo and Kodai-ji. The Bamboo Suite comes highly recommended as it's on the ground floor and for our December stay with outside air temp less than 10 deg C was a cosy and comfortable well managed place to stay!

Room Tip: The Bamboo Suite is on the ground floor for ease of access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you, Andrew.

As you said, the Bamboo Suite on the first floor is the best room for convenience, especially for families traveling with younger children. There is even a baby-buggy parking space next to the shoe box in the hallway.

Even in December there is so much to see and do in Kyoto, we are glad that you had a chance to explore the area. As you mentioned, being the historic Higashiyama area saves a lot of commuting time because there is so much to see and do right here in the backyard! The bustling downtown shopping district is also just a 10-15 minute walk to the east.

See you again sometime.
- mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Having never been to Japan, and being on a budget as a student, my partner and I wanted somewhere that was not a hotel, but not a hostel either. Sakara was just amazing, and perfect for returning to after a long day looking at temples and falling onto the couch or bed! We stayed in the ninja room which has a loft bed (amazing and comfortable), and used the modern kitchen for cooking when we couldnt be bothered going out for dinner every night. Facilities such as the air con, washer and dryer were heavily used (we were living out of backpacks for nearly 10 days until arriving). The location was not as hard to get to as one might think, the entrance is down an alley market walkway, but you wouldnt know as you cant hear any noise from the rooms! The service was good, both managers were helpful, polite and attentive to our needs, and allowed us the freedom to come and go as we pleased.
We have recommended a friend to stay next year, and will be returning here when we come back to Japan in the next couple of years.

Thanks Sakara!

Wayne

Room Tip: Ninja room! Ideal for 3 people (large sofa/lounge bed which is really comfy and the queen size bed u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you so much for your review and comments; we are always pleased to hear when someone has a good experience with us. During this winter's slow season we will be making some improvements and updates to all of the rooms, so we value the feedback of guests.
-mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Our family of 3 adults 2 kids stayed in Sakara Hinoki suite for 3 nights. The room is perfect for five of us. There is a queen size bed and single bed downstairs, and a double bed in the loft. The room is clean, and has a fully equipped kitchen - microwave oven, hob, fridge, toaster, plates, cutlery, pots, cups, washer and dryer ....The free WIFI was great too.
We came from Kyoto station, used subway to reach Sakara. Take the Karasuma subway line to Karasuma-Oike station, then change to Tozai subway line get off at Higashiyama station. The Arcade - Furukawa-cho is just next to the station, and with a few minutes walk can reach Sakara.
We didn't get to meet the Mike and Yuko during our stay, just spoken to Yuko over the phone and she helped us to book the taxi for us to Kyoto station after check out. Thanks for he help! :)
We feel like at home when we stay in Sakara, very quiet and convenient. It's walking distance to many places, and right next to the subway station. I loved the small river at the end of the arcade, the scenery is beautiful.
Just two small comments : 1) For the single bed downstair, the mattress was a bit too soft... 2) The heater didn't work quite well, the upstairs loft area will be too warm where downstairs area still feel cold...
Overall, we love our stay in Sakara, strongly recommend for family and groups...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMY_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and for your comments. To better serve our guests in the summer and winter months we are going to have ceiling fans installed in both the Hinoki Suite and Ninja room. This should help air circulation and ensure that the living and sleeping areas stay comfortable all year round.
-mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
360 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We did a fair bit of research before booking our 10-day stay in the Bamboo Suite at Sakara. We were looking for a reasonably priced single level, self catering apartment, with washing machine and wi-fi, which was also convenient to groceries, restaurants and transport. The Bamboo Suite delivered on all those criteria.

On arrival we were checked in by a friendly girl whose English, while far better than our Japanese, left us with a few questions unanswered. Mike came good the next day with great hand drawn maps of the immediate area, including the locations of ATMs, grocery stores (the Super Masco about 10 mins walk north is by far the biggest and best) and a couple of recommended eating places.

Once we had worked out the somewhat quirky single induction hotplate we were fine, although its not a kitchen where you'll be cooking a dinner party. (Thanks to Mike for providing the instructions we needed, a recovery pack when we got a bit frustrated and frazzled the first night, and for Yuko for coming over to help us when we couldn't get the hotplate to stay on).

Other good things:

- while we didn't get to meet Mike, he responded to all our queries promptly
- there's a great bath for soaking weary leg muscles
- the internet is fast and rock solid
- there's a top sheet, rare in Japanese apartments in our experience
- linen and towels were changed and the cleaner came midway through our stay
- the location is very quiet (see below).

Not so good things

- the hotplate (until we worked it out)
- floors in traditional houses don't have much sound attenuation. Unfortunately for most of the days we were there the people who had the apartment above us were coming in late and also up well before 6am, and unless you're a solid sleeper or use earplugs (as we did) you are likely to be woken by footsteps or plumbing noises from above if your fellow tenants are early risers.

Overall, we'd highly recommend the Bamboo Suite.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctrunfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for the informative and positive review of your experience with Sakara. It is helpful to us and to future guests when guests give us feedback that helps us to improve our services. We have been in the process of improving and updating the "how-to" information and guides that we give to guests, so that things can be as user-friendly as possible. It is not always easy, with appliances and instructions that are different from what our clientele is used to in their home countries.

Your comments were useful, and gave us some good ideas for ways to make Sakara even more of a home-away-from-home for people like you, who want a comfortable home base for your extended stay in Kyoto. Thanks again.
-M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

This unassuming, from the outside, place is located on a small covered shopping mall in the Higashiyama area. Our family of three (9 yr old son) stayed for three nights in October in the Sakura room. My sister and her husband stayed in the Ninja room. Our room was a bit small by American standards, but wonderfully and efficiently laid out so that we had everything we needed. Very clean and well equipped. My son slept on a futon in the loft and enjoyed his lofty view of our room. There isn't a lot of room to lay out luggage in the bedroom, but we traveled fairly light with carry-on bags, so we managed just fine. The built-in washer/dryer and kitchenette was very handy as we did some washing and heating up food. The dryer was slow, but we hung our clothes up to dry. We found a shop down the street that sold oden and we enjoyed warming it up and having it for breakfast and dinner! You can find fresh meat, vegetables, fish, and fruit in the arcade if you want to cook your own. Shops also sold beer, wine, and sake, and one sold snacks and candy. There's even a bakery (not open for retail) that drove us crazy with delicious aromas until we discovered that their retail shop is just down the block on Higashi-oji-dori. The huge Teramachi shopping area is a few blocks away across the river. Buses run on the main Higashi-oji-dori street a half block away and one delivered us very close by from Kyoto train station. The subway station is less than a block away. Chion-In temple and several other temples are a short walk away. There are great places to eat all over the place. What a fantastic location. Yuko was very helpful in calling us a taxi for our early morning departure for the train station. We even used the tea room for a tour conference. We'd happily stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Walt813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Hana Hotel
Kyoto Hana Hotel
#41 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
City Center
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hostel HARUYA Kyoto
Hostel HARUYA Kyoto
#39 of 300 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Guest House Ga-Jyun
#25 of 300 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakara

Property: Sakara
Address: 541-2 Furukawacho Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0026, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 300 Speciality lodging in Kyoto
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing