We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SAKARA”
Review of Sakara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyoto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sakara
Ranked #37 of 368 Speciality lodging in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

This is a really attractive Pension hotel located in a quiet, central location of Kyoto right near the subway line and walking distance to the central action of the Kyoto bar districts as well as the Eastern temple's and shrines.

The house is an old style Kyoto machiya which has been fully renovated with all the modern amenities, including kitchenette and washing machines.

A great home base for exploring all of Kyoto and its surrounding treasures.

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank swenstein2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thanks for the review Kurt, and it was great to meet you during your stay.

We can understand how you get the impression that Sakara is a fully renovated traditional building, but in fact, Sakara was designed and purpose-built from the ground up specifically to adhere to the traditional ethic of Kyoto-style machiya buildings while making use of modern elements.

What does that mean? Well, the materials used in the building are all natural, from the cedar, hinoki, pine, and bamboo woods used throughout the building, to the 'washi' paper, traditional large stone lantern in the zen garden, tatami lounge, calligraphy, and 'tsuchi-kabe' plaster walls. The local art, photography, and pottery is real and genuine.

Yet modern elements compliment the style and give you the comfort you want. High-powered and efficient A/C - heating units. IH induction heating stove ranges in the kitchenettes. 'Sharp' TVs and washer/dryer machines. Insulated floors, walls, and ceilings (which is not a common feature of traditional houses). Tall spacious doorways made to accommodate taller western visitors. And most important of all, high quality bedding with down comforters and pillows, plush blankets, cotton sheets.

We certainly hope to see you again, and I'm sure Abby's family would enjoy a trip to Kyoto in the springtime.

- Mike (reservations manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Our extended family of five adults and one toddler rented the Hinoki and Bamboo suites for seven nights. Sakara was perfect for us. We had plenty of room to hang out as a family between the two suites and the tea room (we enjoyed the free tea and reading all the travel books!). The laundry/dryer in each suite was an added bonus. We also enjoyed talking to the friendly hotel staff member who checked us in and it was very easy to book our room and communicate with the owner. The location of Sakara is perfect. We loved walking through the arcade every morning and looking at the small shops. The hotel is also within walking distance to several sights, is right next to a subway stop, taxis are easy to flag down, and there are great little restaurants nearby. We grabbed coffee at McDonald's before we headed out most mornings and ate incredibly delicious pancakes at the little cafe directly across the street from the arcade (I can't remember the name, but it's on the same side of the road as McDonald's). The only things that could make this place better are (1) provide larger, more plush bath towels or change the towels more than once a week and (2) provide thinner pillows. Obviously, these are very minor issues and based on personal preferences, but I couldn't use the pillows by the second night (they were extremely fluffy). We would definitely stay at Sakara again and will be sure to tell our friends about it.

Room Tip: The very steep ladder in the Hinoki suite may be a safety hazard for families with small children or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woshoudebuhao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for the helpful comments, we appreciate the review.

We always do our best to accommodate guests' preferences, and we will try to provide some thinner pillows for guests who prefer a smaller size, thank you for the feedback. For stays of just a few days we usually do not have the towels changed, but provide housekeeping and full cleaning weekly for longer stays, and your comfort and happiness is very important to us.

Thanks again for choosing Sakara,

-mgmt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had 5 people and rented 3 of the 4 units: Bamboo Suite, Sakara Room and Ninja Room. They were clean, very well equipped and comfortable. The Inn is on an authentic shopping arcade with little shops selling fish, groceries, clothes and you name it. Very cool. Its within walkable distance to Gion, Marayuma Park, Heian Shrine, the beautiful Shimbashi and Shirakawa streets, as well as Pontocho. The beds were firm, the bathrooms compact but modern. The washer/dryer combos were great, sure they take a while (like 3-4 hours) but you can put in laundry in the morning when you leave and done when you come home, or put laundry in while you go to dinner or overnight. It was a huge plus to have that. They have kitchen areas but we didn't use much. The Bamboo Suite is spacious with two big beds and storage for luggage under the beds. The Sakara Room was good for couple or couple with kids as there is loft bed. The Ninja Room will require a ladder to bed, but if you can do that, it is a great room (plus I think you get honorary Ninja status for climbing a ladder into bed).

Also, the lounge area has guidebooks and other guides, including the very helpful bus navi guide. Bus stops 1 block away and you can get just about everywhere on city buses, including Arashiyama, Silver Temple, Philosopher's Path, Kyoto Station and downtown. The young woman who helped check us in also marked down some places on large city map that was great and also pointed out some local cafes. Bamboo Izakaya just up the street was great for dinner.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Sakara for groups or couples. Perfect location, clean, great amenities and authentic neighborhood.

Room Tip: Ninja Room very cool but requires ladder climb, Bamboo Suite very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeanSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for the informative review. We're glad that you used the easy-opening under bed storage in the Bamboo Suite!

Yes, the shopping arcade is quaint, and even though it is one of the smaller ones in the city, there are still a wide variety of shops. Being so close to the subway stop and the main bus hub is very helpful, too. Getting around Kyoto is easier than most cities, and the helpful information in the tatami lounge guidebooks helps, too.

We love renting Sakra to diverse groups like yourselves using three or four of the rooms, because then guests can make the most of the space, and feel at home, while still having the privacy of individual rooms.

-mgmt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is my third trip to Kyoto, I am here as I write this, laying in my comfy bed in the very quiet Hinoki Suite at Sakara-Kyoto. I feel at home here. It is right next to the Higashiyama Station and I go all over Kyoto via their excellent subway system.

It is also in walking distance, as I did yesterday, of the Heian Shrine and the Museum of Modern Art. The cherry blossoms are out in full force and I exhaust myself everyday.

It is great to come home to my suite, soak in my really fabulous deep tub. There are great restaurants near by, my favorite is a yakitori restaurant on the north side of the street about a block west of MacDonalds, which I have never been in, but if you are traveling with kids, I guess you might want to know. I am traveling alone and Kyoto is a wonderful city.

One really important aspect of Sakara-Kyoto is that everything I need is here, there is a washer dryer and if I need an apple the lady on the corner has really nice ones.

I have stayed in the Sakura suite which is really small, but was great for my previous trips. The Hinoki suite could handle a family of 4 or even 5, and it is really quiet. This is really important to me and I am incredibly pleased.

So, if you are looking for an apartment type lodging in Kyoto, this is the only place to stay. Good people, clean, quiet, fabulous location.

I am home.

contact me if you want info.

Bonnie

Room Tip: Hinoki, is bigger than Sakura suite. it is very quiet. I would only choose this for my future visi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boscoblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thanks for staying with us on your third trip to Kyoto! You impressed me with all that you did during your time in Kyoto, I think it's safe to say that you have seen and experienced more of this city than many foreign ex-pats who have spent several years in the area! Well done.

We very much appreciated your kind feedback and helpful information, and it pleases us to have an architect approve of our place, and come back as a returning customer!

- mgmt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Conveniently located a stones throw from Higashiyama station The Bamboo suite in Sakara-Kyoto was a very good home away from home for our short stay in Kyoto. A washing machine/dryer, good kitchenette and comfortable beds were welcome facilities for our family of three. The location will put you within easy walking distance of Shinbashi dori, Gion shijo and Kodai-ji. The Bamboo Suite comes highly recommended as it's on the ground floor and for our December stay with outside air temp less than 10 deg C was a cosy and comfortable well managed place to stay!

Room Tip: The Bamboo Suite is on the ground floor for ease of access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you, Andrew.

As you said, the Bamboo Suite on the first floor is the best room for convenience, especially for families traveling with younger children. There is even a baby-buggy parking space next to the shoe box in the hallway.

Even in December there is so much to see and do in Kyoto, we are glad that you had a chance to explore the area. As you mentioned, being the historic Higashiyama area saves a lot of commuting time because there is so much to see and do right here in the backyard! The bustling downtown shopping district is also just a 10-15 minute walk to the east.

See you again sometime.
- mgmt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Having never been to Japan, and being on a budget as a student, my partner and I wanted somewhere that was not a hotel, but not a hostel either. Sakara was just amazing, and perfect for returning to after a long day looking at temples and falling onto the couch or bed! We stayed in the ninja room which has a loft bed (amazing and comfortable), and used the modern kitchen for cooking when we couldnt be bothered going out for dinner every night. Facilities such as the air con, washer and dryer were heavily used (we were living out of backpacks for nearly 10 days until arriving). The location was not as hard to get to as one might think, the entrance is down an alley market walkway, but you wouldnt know as you cant hear any noise from the rooms! The service was good, both managers were helpful, polite and attentive to our needs, and allowed us the freedom to come and go as we pleased.
We have recommended a friend to stay next year, and will be returning here when we come back to Japan in the next couple of years.

Thanks Sakara!

Wayne

Room Tip: Ninja room! Ideal for 3 people (large sofa/lounge bed which is really comfy and the queen size bed u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you so much for your review and comments; we are always pleased to hear when someone has a good experience with us. During this winter's slow season we will be making some improvements and updates to all of the rooms, so we value the feedback of guests.
-mgmt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Our family of 3 adults 2 kids stayed in Sakara Hinoki suite for 3 nights. The room is perfect for five of us. There is a queen size bed and single bed downstairs, and a double bed in the loft. The room is clean, and has a fully equipped kitchen - microwave oven, hob, fridge, toaster, plates, cutlery, pots, cups, washer and dryer ....The free WIFI was great too.
We came from Kyoto station, used subway to reach Sakara. Take the Karasuma subway line to Karasuma-Oike station, then change to Tozai subway line get off at Higashiyama station. The Arcade - Furukawa-cho is just next to the station, and with a few minutes walk can reach Sakara.
We didn't get to meet the Mike and Yuko during our stay, just spoken to Yuko over the phone and she helped us to book the taxi for us to Kyoto station after check out. Thanks for he help! :)
We feel like at home when we stay in Sakara, very quiet and convenient. It's walking distance to many places, and right next to the subway station. I loved the small river at the end of the arcade, the scenery is beautiful.
Just two small comments : 1) For the single bed downstair, the mattress was a bit too soft... 2) The heater didn't work quite well, the upstairs loft area will be too warm where downstairs area still feel cold...
Overall, we love our stay in Sakara, strongly recommend for family and groups...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMY_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sakarakyoto, Manager at Sakara, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us, and for your comments. To better serve our guests in the summer and winter months we are going to have ceiling fans installed in both the Hinoki Suite and Ninja room. This should help air circulation and ensure that the living and sleeping areas stay comfortable all year round.
-mgmt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Noku Kyoto
Noku Kyoto
#10 of 376 in Kyoto
227 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Gracery Kyoto Sanjo
City Center
HARUYA Hostels Kyoto
HARUYA Hostels Kyoto
#44 of 368 in Kyoto
88 reviews
City Center
Guesthouse OKI's Inn
Guesthouse OKI's Inn
#30 of 368 in Kyoto
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakara

Address: 541-2 Furukawacho Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0026, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 368 Speciality lodging in Kyoto
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing