We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highlight of our trip”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The cherry blossoms in Kiyomizu Temple
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 9
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
jdreimann
San Mateo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This is a beautifully and sensitively renovated machiya home on the east side of Kyoto, convenient to many attractions and close to shopping and restaurants. The host took time to meet us when we arrived and farewell us when we left, and even had vases of fresh flowers. The instructions in English for the various appliances were very clear, and there was a lot of tourist information. We also appreciated the size of the home for our family of five after staying in tiny apartments in Tokyo, which made for a relaxing stay. There is a little bit of noise (music) in the front of the home from the shopping arcade during the day but this doesn't interfere with sleeping. I recommend this listing highly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Authentic traditional home
Liked least: Hitting my head on the low doorways (4 times!)
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nafania
Brooklyn, NY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great stay in Kyoto's historical townhouse”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

One of the ways to experience Kyoto is to stay at machiya, historical townhouse. This particular machiya was in proximity to train and sites at Higashyama. The owner did a great job at renovating and decorating the place. Besides that, the house had everything you can possibly need during the stay. I'd definitely want to come back to this place if I travel again to Kyoto!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: ambience and historical atmosphere
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmt2000
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

If there is one thing I cannot stress enough about lodging it's 'location, location, location!!!!' Komachiya is unparalleled in this aspect as it's at the corner of two large avenues connecting the major sights of the Higashiyama area. Having a 24hr grocery store, a 24 laundromat, and 24 convenient stores just around the corner, and also being within a 10-minute walk to the food heaven of Gion help with calling this place home. All this offered by a very friendly host. Tannaka San is professional and hepful from Day 1, with readied bundle of maps, bus navigator, restaurant recommendations, etc. We were a group of five ladies and we loved our stay~

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adieuswee...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Kyoto Townhouse Tucked Away in Fantastic Location.”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
4
people found this review helpful

My wife and I were looking for an different experience on returning to Kyoto, last time was the Gran Via Hotel in the station, this time we wanted to experience Kyoto on a more street level.
What you have is a traditional Kyoto Machiya in Northern Higashiyama, just a series of easy walks from many temples and attractions on the Eastern side of the city, not to mention the more Central shopping areas. What a joy to be able to wander down to the local Book Off one evening and have a splurge on Japanese CDs.

The front of the townhouse is actually under a covered market street or Shotengai, all around are local tradesmen, there are several places to grab foods within seconds and some of the local Konbini are about a two minute walk away.

The house itself has pretty much every item that you would require for daily living, we found Masae-san to be a very helpful and conscientious host, taking a lot of time to explain the best routes to the places we wanted to visit, without her guidance we wouldn't have used the local bus services which turned out to be really straightforward.

The interior of the house is traditionally Japanese, it is comfortable, clean and tidy with lots of available bedding, blankets and cushions to ease any Westerner into living nearer to the floor level than is familiar. There is TV, Books and Magazines, a laptop *and* IPad with good WiFi. By the front of the house is an extended Genkan area with a dining table, the computer and the galley kitchen. The bath/shower room works well and is well kept, with olympic standard water pressure for those that require it.

One thing to be aware of it, if you are taller than say, 5'11" you will have to be mindful of the beams in the house, remember it's a very old property and as long as you duck a little when walking around upstairs you'll be fine.

I would say that if you are looking for a place to use as a base to see Kyoto and want a taste of Japanese traditionalism whist being in a friendly, non-touristy environment, this house would be pretty much perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Bumping my head occasionally :) (I am just over 6ft tall)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-Travel
SF
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location, Extremely Charming”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our machiya from the moment we walked in. The charm of the tatami rooms, the garden, even the entrance way made this a much better choice than a hotel (tip- if you have bad backs like we do, use double futons on the floor). The kitchen was modern and having two bathrooms was also key for our party of 4.
The location is great. Easy walking around the Gion area, and to the eastern temples and sites. Great restaurants, especially Kappa Sushi on Pontocho.
Masea was fantastic, both in correspondence along the way as well as in recommendations for restaurants.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HKKittyT
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, excellent location, a wonderful experience.”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We have just spent 5 nights at Komachiya, and had a fabulous time. The house itself was gorgeous, and felt very traditional whilst also being incredibly comfortable. It was warm and cosy despite the cold weather outside, (including a heated bathroom and toilet seats) and we felt we had everything we needed for the duration of our stay. The nearest underground station is a couple of minutes walk away, there are two 24 hour shops a moments walk from the house, as well as fresh fruit, veg, fish and meat available in the covered market where the house is situated. The house was spotlessly clean, and a cleaner came during our visit to give the place a once over as well. Masae (the owner) was very helpful, friendly and spoke excellent English. We felt very safe, secure and happy staying at the house, and really felt as though we were getting to experience a greater degree of everyday Japanese life than if we had stayed in a hotel. Our children (aged 7, 7 and 5) adored the house, although it was a bit stressful for the first day or two, living in fear of them accidentally putting a foot or hand through the paper doors by mistake. However, after the initial excitement, they calmed down and loved playing on the tatami mats and taking their indoor slippers on and off. The stairs were quite slippery and steep which might be an issue for some people. Although there is only one bathroom, there are two separate toilets, one upstairs and one downstairs. The kitchen was well equipped, there were masses of towels, bedding and so on, and Masae provided guide books as well as lots of other information about the local area. It is well situated for visiting lots of temples and gardens, many of which you can walk to. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful house, great location, very clean.
Liked least: Not much natural light, but can't be helped due to being in a covered market.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl F
Vienna, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An extremely good value and a great experience”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This charming, traditional Kyoto town house accommodated our group (sometimes as many as 6 adults) and our varied interests without any difficulties. Location was ideal -- close to the subway, bus stops, groceries, post office, and an easy walk to many main attractions on Kyoto’s east side. The neighborhood shopping arcade just outside the front door added local color without being inconvenient in any way. The house was meticulously maintained, and everything worked just as it should. The owner was very responsive to occasional concerns and questions that arose during our visit, including supplying us with information (maps, directions, schedules) to make our visit successful. In short, Komachiya was an extremely good value, and we had a great experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing