We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Christy

Extraordinary

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
Such a special place. My husband and stayed here for a few nights while vacationing in Japan- it was our favorite hotel of the trip.
The service, the attention to detail, the architecture, the design, the food- all first class and extraordinary.
Tucked away but centrally located.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HOTEL THE MITSUI KYOTO, マーケティング at Hotel The Mitsui Kyoto, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. /Ms. SurfingLA,

Thank you very much for choosing HOTEL THE MITSUI KYOTO for your recent stay. We are truly grateful that you selected our hotel for such a special occasion as your trip to Japan with your spouse. It is an honor to hear that you were satisfied with our hospitality, architecture, design, and dining experiences.

Our team is committed to continuously providing exceptional moments for our guests, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Japan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£206
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £186
  • Expedia.com
    £231
0.5 miles from Hotel The Mitsui Kyoto, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£44
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £36
  • Expedia.com
    £88
0.6 miles from Hotel The Mitsui Kyoto, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
£85
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £63
  • Vio.com
1.5 miles from Hotel The Mitsui Kyoto, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£189
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    £93
  • Expedia.com
    £190
1.9 miles from Hotel The Mitsui Kyoto, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
£60
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £43
  • Vio.com
2.1 miles from Hotel The Mitsui Kyoto, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£104
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £86
  • Expedia.com
    £109
2.1 miles from Hotel The Mitsui Kyoto, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£147
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £96
  • Vio.com
1.2 miles from Hotel The Mitsui Kyoto, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Restaurant
Room service
【蓮花の湯】瞑想の湯(男性)
£107
  • Rakuten Travel
  • Expedia.com
    £101
  • Vio.com
1.8 miles from Hotel The Mitsui Kyoto, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£74
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    £53
  • japanican.com
    £78
1.9 miles from Hotel The Mitsui Kyoto, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
新特別室RIKYU 庭
£61
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £56
  • Vio.com
3.4 miles from Hotel The Mitsui Kyoto, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
86
15
14
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
86
15
14
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gorgeous hotel large bathtub guest experience private onsen japanese breakfast every night titanium turndown pajamas castle marriott property translation amenities lobby english
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2024 via mobile

Choosing a hotel in Kyoto isn’t easy unless you’ve been before. The Kyoto in everyone’s head is the low-rise, temple-filled, cobbled streets of Ninenzaka and Gion. Think Tintin And The Blue Lotus.

However, as ancient as the capital is, it isn’t a time capsule. Much of it is built up and far less pretty than you’d imagine.

Down in the aforementioned Insta-friendly districts, you have one luxury option in the Park Hyatt, which is perfectly positioned for early morning walks around what becomes, later in the day, an aggressively touristy area.

Given the volume of tourists, the Park Hyatt were sniffy about allowing in anyone without a reservation, even for a drink at the bar. It feels like a place besieged: defensive and judgmental.

Not so at The Mitsui, located some distance away overlooking Nijo Castle, and not too far from the Imperial Palace. The Mitsui, though part of the Luxury Collection, never feels anything except Japanese.

On arrival, I was quickly shown to my room by a lovely lady in traditional Japanese costume. I had booked a Nijo Castle View room but on inspecting it, realised that the Nijo Castle View, lovely as it is, came with a compromise: the multi-lane road in front of it.

Given Kyoto is a major city this shouldn’t be seen as so shocking; after all, you can see the giant roundabout of Hyde Park Corner from the new £1000+ a night Peninsula Hotel in London.

But oh. Given the beautiful sense of peace, calm and tranquility elsewhere in The Mitsui, it felt like an affront to it. And you could hear the traffic a little when the TV was off. So I couldn’t go for it. (An aside: TV “welcomes” are very naff now. All that corporate jingling. I feel like The Mitsui should be above this).

I was therefore “downgraded” to a Garden View room, which overlooked the hotel’s internal courtyard garden, complete with a pond, Japanese maples and cherry trees. Blissful.

The first night, I had the tasting menu and wine flight in the hotel’s wonderful restaurant, Toki, which was the best meal I had in Kyoto. Yet to receive a star, it punched above its weight with delicate and fresh dishes. The staff were warm and incredibly grateful for the commentary.

I didn’t have a spa treatment but I used the onsen pools. The onsen pools at The Mitsui are excellent. Wait for the rainfall experience in the middle pools. So refreshing. Perfect after a day of trudging around the city and standing in queues.

The architectural style of the spa entrance and some of the interior corridors reflects the gates (Torii) of the Inari Shrine, and is so well conceived in detail and materials used, that again, this feels like a very Japanese boutique property.

Quiet and restful during the day, The Mitsui becomes something tantalising at night. Little lanterns light the garden, reflecting on the glass doors. Clever uplighting in the lobby and bar makes it feel hushed and intimate, like a Geisha’s boudoir.

If you’re in the Garden View Rooms, your sleep will be very peaceful. The desk is also nicely placed with a view of the garden below, so should you find yourself having to work, it provides an attractive prospect.

Service is lovely. Smiling and professional. Unlike in, say, American hotels, no one ever tries to be your friend, which some may not like but for me felt very authentic. Japanese culture is more distant and polite.

I didn’t have the breakfast as it was quite a scrum and it wasn’t worth the extra charge. Instead, I got bites on my time out in Kyoto. I had lunch on the first day in the bar and the food was delicious, without being revolutionary.

The Mitsui is easily one of the best hotels in Kyoto. You can pay three times the price at Aman Kyoto, which is marooned out near the Bamboo Forest. You can pay a little more and be at the Park Hyatt in the crowded district of Ninenzaka. Or you could pay the same and be on the river in the Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton, both of which felt the least authentic experiences of all, and, besides, are older product.

If you want a really authentic Japanese feel with western style luxury, it’s difficult to beat this place.

Room tip: Go for a Garden View if you want pure peace and quiet
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank LuxeDandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HOTEL THE MITSUI KYOTO, マーケティング at Hotel The Mitsui Kyoto, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2024

Dear Mr. Luxe Dandy,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at HOTEL THE MITSUI KYOTO among the many hotels in Kyoto.
We truly appreciate your valuable review. We are delighted to learn that you were able to experience the beauty of Japan and Kyoto during your stay with us. Your enjoyment of our signature restaurant, "TOKI," and the "Thermal Spring" is truly an honor for us. However, we deeply apologize for any inconvenience caused by the morning breakfast crowd and the view from your guest room not meeting your expectations. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we will share it with the relevant departments to enhance our service delivery for all our guests. We are committed to continually improving our hospitality standards and ensuring that your next visit exceeds your expectations. We eagerly await the opportunity to welcome you back to Kyoto in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2024 via mobile

We’re having the most wonderful stay here. Service is excellent. Had an incredible meal at Toki on our first night here. Food was superb and Mr Nishio and Mr Kondo made our dinner magical! At Forni, we had the most memorable pork dish ever, looked after by Chef Terajima, Ms Sayaka, Mr Yohei and Mr Yashida. Their recommendations for the food and Sake were spot on. While at the bar afterwards Mr Akira and Daiki saw to it that we were thoroughly looked after in spite of it being a busy night! Ms Meghumi at reception was just lovely and again, anticipated and looked our needs beautifully. Cannot recommend this hotel, staff, ambience and service enough. One of our best stays ever, thank you so much!

Room tip: All rooms are fab whether city facing or garden facing. They even give you matching pyjama suits.. housekeeping and service is great!
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank trippie2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HOTEL THE MITSUI KYOTO, マーケティング at Hotel The Mitsui Kyoto, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2024

Dear Mr. /Ms.trippie2017,

Thank you very much for staying with us at HOTEL THE MITSUI KYOTO.
We are delighted that your experience with us was exceptional and that you enjoyed the dining at TOKI and FORNI, as well as the service from our staff. Your kind words are greatly appreciated.
We will continue to strive to provide special experiences for our guests and will not rest on the laurels of this feedback.
The entire team eagerly awaits your next visit.
Thank you again for choosing our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2024

It is the nicest & finest hotel we have ever been to in our lives.
It is a small, not cheap hotel with such fine details in all aspects that you truly enjoy it!
The spa's hot springs and massage rooms are just fantastic!
The restaurants - fine French/Japanese dining and exquisite Italian food- exceed expectations!

Room tip: Calm place as there are not many rooms! The Garden is a dream!
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherinecM8691OQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HOTEL THE MITSUI KYOTO, マーケティング at Hotel The Mitsui Kyoto, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Dear Ms./Mr. catherinecM8691OQ,

We sincerely appreciate your recent stay at our hotel in Kyoto among the many choices available. Thank you for your highly rated review, and we are thrilled to hear that you had an exceptional experience in Kyoto and at our hotel. Your kind words inspire us to strive for even better service to ensure your satisfaction. We eagerly anticipate your return and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2024

Our family of four (2 adults and 10 and 12yo) stayed here for 3 nights to visit Kyoto. It was a last minute booking as we were fortunate to get the last room via AMEX, and we weren't disappointed. As others have noted, its a stunningly Japanese modern hotel, featuring warm wood grains throughout. It definitely emanates a tranquil vibe.

Upon arrival, we were greeted with tea and candies as they executed the check in process. We were given room 272 which featured an unobstructed view of the castle across the street. The room had a nice layout with an expansive bathroom and wonderful shower as both rain shower and shower heads had excellent water pressure.

Pros
- Location is great as one is walking distance to subway and bus station.
- Its a beautiful venue which is certainly better than most Marriot hotels.
- The private onsen is exceptional. Do it! The space is amazing and the bath is so therapeutic.
- Staff is genuinely helpful even during the busy season. Concierge was able to secure dinner reservations at 2 high end restaurants for us last minute. The only blip was booking of our taxi to Kyoto station as they kept booking the incorrect departure time.

Cons
- Fitness center is way too small for a property of this size. Its always packed which was quite annoying.
- There are two restaurants and both serve identical breakfasts although Forni was always packed. The other restaurant was a better option as it was smaller with more intimate service. The food is certainly better than most Marriotts but not nearly as good as that found at hotels like Four Seasons, Mandarin Oriental, etc.

Overall, its a very nice property...think of it as a luxury property with higher end Marriott service. I would consider returning, but if I had the choice, I would likely choose a Four Seasons.

Room tip: Do the private onsen!!!
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srohatgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HOTEL THE MITSUI KYOTO, マーケティング at Hotel The Mitsui Kyoto, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Dear Ms./Mr. srohatgi,

Thank you very much for staying at HOTEL THE MITSUI KYOTO and for your valuable review. We are truly honored that you chose our hotel for your important family trip to Kyoto. We are delighted to receive your kind compliments on our location, private hot spring, and staff service. However, we apologize for any inconvenience regarding taxi reservations, dining, and the fitness center not meeting your expectations. Your feedback has been shared with the relevant departments to help us review and improve our services. We are committed to making sincere efforts towards improving our services for our guests.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2024 via mobile

Surprisingly a Marriott hotel!
It is a zen retreat in the heart of Kyoto that at first feels like you are in a small boutique hotel but then with over 150 rooms and a stunning breakfast spread you realize the clever aesthetic just gives you the first impression of a small hotel. Service is top notch and the word " no " does not exist.

Rooms are in muted wood and the bathroom has a wonderful shower and large bath big enough for two. Everything just makes you feel calm and that is not something that often happens when you stay at a Marriott.

They have 2 restaurants , french and continental with a varied menu in both.

My only disappointment is the gym..... small, very little equipment and gets really crowded at 7.00 am... only one set of weights, 2 exercise machines, one rower and 6 treadmills. If you need to work out seriously you will be disappointed.

The spa is spectacular, huge pools for bathing and outstanding decor and atmosphere. Massage and treatments are wonderful and there is nothing missing in your choices.

The best hotel experience in Kyoto.

Room tip: Small gym with very little equipment
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kipperman27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HOTEL THE MITSUI KYOTO, マーケティング at Hotel The Mitsui Kyoto, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Dear Ms./Mr. Kipperman27,

We sincerely appreciate your recent stay at our hotel and taking the time to share your feedback. We are honored to learn that you had a satisfying experience with our rooms, breakfast, and staff hospitality. However, we apologize for any inconvenience caused by the gym facilities not meeting your expectations. Your feedback has been shared with the relevant departments to help us improve our hotel operations. We are committed to further enhancing our services to aim for a hotel that continues to be loved by all. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews