We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JoeKe
Frankfurt, Germany

A perfect boutique hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 May 2024via mobile
Beautiful hotel with excellent service.
We stayed for 2 nights to relax in the middle of our 3 week trip over Japan. First day we just stayed in the hotel and enjoyed the views and the room.
Room offers beautiful views on surrounding slopes, and it’s just very enjoyable to have a tea while admiring the view.
We booked 2 external experiences with the hotel, the tea ceremony and zen meditation. Both were arranged and prepared we just had to show up. But that was not all, as a welcome gift, as hotel knew we are travelling with our 3yo boy, they surprised us with 3 tickets to Kyoto aquarium.
Breakfast is nice and not crowded, staff is very attentive. Big thanks to Mr. Kinoschita who made our breakfast experience great.
Accor benefits were taken in the account, as platinum members we got upgrade to Nijo Castle View room and we were offered cocktails for the Accor welcome drinks.
Staff is helpful and attentive to the smallest detail. An example, the traditional pyjamas we got for our 3yo were too big. We didn’t say anything about it as we didn’t think it’s so important, but he was in the lobby in that pyjamas and was seen by the hotel staff. The next day after the room cleaning a one size smaller pyjamas were provided. Thank you very much.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KYOTO GARRYA NIJO CASTLE, Owner at Garrya Nijo Castle Kyoto, responded to this review
Responded 12 May 2024
Dear josipke sama,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed review after your recent stay with us. It brings us great pleasure to know that your experience was memorable, and that you appreciated the service and personal touches our staff provided. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the views from your room to make your trip in Kyoto even colorful, as well as the Kyoto aquarium for your little one.

Your observations as a valued Accor Platinum member are immensely valuable to us and we are delighted to have been able to serve you with the upgrades and perks that came with it. Moreover, we are glad to hear that our breakfast service, lived up to your expectations. Your kind words have been conveyed to him and the rest of our team, which will undoubtedly motivate them to keep delivering a high standard of service.

We always strive to make our guests' stays as comfortable as possible, and we are pleased that our attentive staff noticed and rectified the issue promptly.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back for another pleasant stay in the future.
We assure you we will strive to find new ways to surprise and delight your family on your next visit.

We appreciate your generous highest rating and thank you once again for choosing us.

Best Regards,
GARRYA Nijo Castle Kyoto Management Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£172
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • KLOOK
    £155
  • Expedia.com
    £211
0.6 miles from Garrya Nijo Castle Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£49
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £43
  • Expedia.com
    £57
0.8 miles from Garrya Nijo Castle Kyoto
Free Wifi
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hotel Tou Nishinotoin Kyoto

£82
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £75
  • Agoda.com
    £58
  • Priceline
1.4 miles from Garrya Nijo Castle Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£60
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £45
  • Vio.com
2.1 miles from Garrya Nijo Castle Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£108
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £84
  • Vio.com
2.0 miles from Garrya Nijo Castle Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£187
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £166
  • Expedia.com
    £208
1.3 miles from Garrya Nijo Castle Kyoto
Restaurant
Room service
【蓮花の湯】瞑想の湯(男性)
£80
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £75
  • Vio.com
1.7 miles from Garrya Nijo Castle Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£66
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    £45
  • Expedia.com
1.8 miles from Garrya Nijo Castle Kyoto
Free Wifi
Free parking
新特別室RIKYU 庭
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Ryokan Yamazaki

£123
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £123
  • ZenHotels.com
    £110
  • Priceline
3.3 miles from Garrya Nijo Castle Kyoto
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £139
  • KLOOK
    £84
  • Priceline
1.9 miles from Garrya Nijo Castle Kyoto
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
17
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
2
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2024 via mobile

Location:
- It's a quick 20-minute journey from Kyoto Station to the hotel; simply take a bus from Kyoto Station, get off at Horikawa Oike stop, and enjoy a brief 6-minute walk to reach the hotel.
- The environment surrounding the hotel is remarkably tranquil and serene.

Room:
- The room exudes luxury, boasting cleanliness and ample space.
- Guests are treated to bedroom slippers and a yukata for added comfort.
- The bed is exceptionally comfortable, with pillows perfectly suited to your preference.
- While the minibar incurs charges, complimentary water, coffee, and tea are available, as indicated in their price list.
- Enjoy a balcony offering limited ventilation and cool breezes, with a stunning view directly overlooking Nijo Castle.
- An air purifier is thoughtfully provided in each room.
- For guests' convenience, mid-day cleaning services are offered from 5-8pm, with the option to decline if desired.

Toilet:
- Essential toiletries such as shampoo, conditioner, body wash, and body lotion are generously provided.
- Hairbrushes and combs are conveniently available.
- The bathroom features both a bathtub and a separate shower area, complete with indulgent bath salts.
- Towels are impeccably clean and readily accessible.

Others:
- Breakfast is included, with the choice between a hearty Western or traditional Japanese set meal served from 7am to 10am. The Japanese option, in particular, is exceptionally delicious and nutritious.
- Upon arrival, guests are warmly greeted with tea and delightful small desserts as a thoughtful welcome gesture.
- Laundry service is available upon request; simply inform the front desk, and arrangements will be made for pick-up.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jayjayyello
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KYOTO GARRYA NIJO CASTLE, Owner at Garrya Nijo Castle Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Dear Jayjayyello,

Thank you for such a detailed and high-praise review.
We are pleased to hear you found your stay at our hotel was unforgettable and our tranquil location as well as the luxury and cleanliness of our rooms. We are delighted that you enjoyed the complimentary hot beverages and found our minibar selection satisfactory. We are thrilled that our breakfast options appealed to you. We aim to provide a varied and delicious start to the day for our guests.

Your warm remarks about our arrival gesture and the availability of our laundry service demonstrate our commitment to making our guests' stays as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and will continue to strive for excellence.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another exceptional experience.

Best Regards,
GARRYA Nijo Castle Kyoto Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2024 via mobile

Extraordinary on every dimension. The design and style of the common areas and rooms is elegantly restrained Japanese modernism. Our room was large, with top-quality finishes and amenities. The separate lavatory itself was a beautiful room! The bed was a spacious king, and the alcove by the floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking Nijo Castle was like having a cozy living room.

The on-premises restaurant, Singular, serves western and Japanese style breakfasts (reservation needed). We had the western “well-being” option of eggs, a bit of sausage, yoghurt, frisée sald with a delicious light dressing on the side, and a wonderful light and creamy pumpkin soup. We loved the thick-cut toasted bread that comes with breakfast. Daisaku Kitajima, the hotel Food & Beverage Manager, kept watch over everything, and personally served our meals. The service was gracious, professional, and attentive in every way.

From arrival to the deep bow upon our departure, the front desk staff throughout each day was charming, helpful, and responsive to every request over our 5 day stay.

Room tip: In order to serve the freshest food artfully prepared, the restaurant need reservations a day in advance.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ptkeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KYOTO GARRYA NIJO CASTLE, Owner at Garrya Nijo Castle Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2024

Dear ptkeenan sama,


Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent 5 nights stay at our hotel.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our aesthetically pleasing interiors design, reflecting the elegance of Japanese modernism. We're glad you also enjoyed the comfort and roomy ambiance Nijo Castle view of the accommodations.

We take great pride in our restaurant, Singular, and on hearing your positive feedback, it brings us immense satisfaction. Your kind words about the variety and quality of our breakfast offerings are sincerely appreciated. In particular, your recognition of our staff, speaks volumes about his dedication to our guests. It's great to know that you found our service to be professional, gracious, and attentive.

Once again, thank you for your generous review with a rating of 5/5. We value your feedback as it inspires us to continue providing high-quality service and accommodations.

We hope to welcome you back in the future for another extraordinary boutique experience.

Best Regards,
GARRYA Nijo Castle Kyoto Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2024

We had a wonderful stay! They went out of their way to make us comfortable and welcome. The breakfasts were amazing and the rooms were quiet and comfortable. When we arrived they even surprised us by decorating our daughter's room with a beautiful happy birthday greeting!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nycfamily2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KYOTO GARRYA NIJO CASTLE, Owner at Garrya Nijo Castle Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2024

Dear nycfamily2016,

Thank you for leaving such a heartwarming review of your stay.
We are thrilled to hear you felt welcomed and comfortable, and that you especially enjoyed our breakfast.
It was our pleasure to add a special touch for your daughter's birthday. We continually strive to create memorable experiences for our guests, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome your family back again in the future.

Best Regards,
GARRYA Nijo Castle Kyoto Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2023

This hotel feels more like a ryokan than a hotel. It has a Zen like feel. The entry lobby area has a beautiful view of the moss garden and has very low light. Our room was spacious, modern and very comfortable. The staff is over the top accommodating and friendly, always making sure we were comfortable and satisfied with everything. We enjoyed our daily breakfast where they gave us a choice of a multi course American or Japanese breakfast. The meal was beautifully prepared and presented. We did not indulge in their dinner option. It was not something that interested us however another couple said they really enjoyed it.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank FLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KYOTO GARRYA NIJO CASTLE, Owner at Garrya Nijo Castle Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2023

Dear FLB sama,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at our hotel.
We are delighted to know that the tranquil atmosphere resonated with you and made your stay relaxing.

Our team strives to create an environment that feels like a second home to our guests, and we are thrilled to hear that you found our staff to be accommodating and friendly. Their unwavering dedication plays an integral role in enhancing the journey for our guests.

Thank you for acknowledging our breakfast offerings, and the efforts of our culinary team to ensure a delightful experience. Your feedback about the dinner options has been noted, we continuously look for ways to innovate our menu and cater to the varying tastes and preferences of our valued guests.

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon, perhaps then, you will find our dinner options more to your liking. We would be pleased to have you back on your next trip to Kyoto.

Best Regards,
GARRYA Nijo Castle Kyoto Service Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2023

The rooms are huge for Japan with wonderful views. Everything is taken into consideration in the room.

The staff are excellent and very helpful.

Breakfast was a wonderful experience with wonderful fresh ingredients.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank SGTGRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KYOTO GARRYA NIJO CASTLE, Owner at Garrya Nijo Castle Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2023

Dear SGTGRW sama,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated your valued comment of our room and views. It's heartening to know our team met your expectations in service quality. Indeed, we strive to provide a wonderful experience from accommodation to dining, and it's fantastic to hear you enjoyed our fresh breakfast selection.

Your feedback motivates us to continuously maintain and improve our services.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Kyoto, here at Garrya Nijo Castle.

Best Regards,
GARRYA Nijo Castle Kyoto Service Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews