We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful artsy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
Ranked #13 of 374 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I love this hotel! It's not pricey despite its artsy character. The facilities and amenities are of high quality. The breakfast is so healthy and delicious. The room is spacious. I love that the room has a study table with a Luxo-like lamp. I'm raving about this hotel because it really deserves all the praise!

If there's any downside though, it's the location. It's at the Hachijo side of Kyoto Station, mostly residential area. The surroundings are quite bland compared to the other side of the station - where all the action is. If you like peace and quiet, it's great. Also, it takes around 20 minutes to walk to-from Kyoto Station. Alternatively, you can take the subway, then walk for 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happydabbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staying at Hotel Anteroom was a great experience - it's got a fun, artsy vibe, and it's quite affordable. If you're not looking for something right across the Kyoto Station, this is a great option. The directions on the hotel website recommend taking a cab from Kyoto Station, but you can easily transfer to the Kyoto subway line to the Kujo Station, which is one stop away from the main one. From there the hotel is a short walk. It's about a 15 minute walk from Kyoto Station. I did the cab thing to get there, and I wish I had taken the train to Kujo.

I stayed in the standard single room, and found it to be a nice size for one person. The hotel is clean, and the bed was comfortable. I did the breakfast option, and that was nice. There's also a very cool bar area to hang out in. A very nice perk was the ability to do laundry for free - just be warned that one load really does take about 3-4 hours if you have full load for that size washer/dryer. I also enjoyed the service. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shopdollee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a very trendy and cosy hotel, though, the location is a bit off the Gion shopping area, but taking a bus is very convenient. The hotel used very simple renovations to make the whole place feel very comfortable and at home. I will definitely stay in this hotel again and had recommended friends to try out.

Room Tip: go for the deluxe, because it makes a difference.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 157patrickp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Easy to get to and a really great price. A short walk from Kujo station. This place is cute. The breakfast was really delicious, it consisted of a soup, a juice, a beautiful salad and wrap/sandwich. They also have complimentary washing machines, (a must after a week or two away). I would totally recommend Anteroom for someone on a budget.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cookzaraeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Confortable hotel, within 10 minutes walking distance from Kyoto station though in a very quiet plave with not so much in the area but a metro station and bus stop within 2 minutes walk . Breakfast fresh, copious and well prepared. Very attentive and professional staff, ready to provide you an umbrella if ti rains. Free facilities like laundy and micro-onde, wifi in your room and also bicycle rent. Confortable bed and an interesting desing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sonia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

An unusual hotel with quirky art gallery in foyer and ground floor. Rooms were comfortable, rooomy and well equipped. Breakfast was change from normal, but very healthy and fresh. A little hard to find, particularly if arrive at night. Suggest a taxi if in that situation. However onncee have bearings, easy walk to station and main strip.
An interesting and different place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had a unforgettable and wonderful honeymoon stay in Anteroom hotel. The lobby, bar and restaurant are décorated with taste and are renewed with différents expositions from time to time. The whole service staff is very professionnal and attentive. Thanks to them, that we could attend the Miyako odori show. And it is really worth to pay the breakfast for 1000 yen, it was copious, fresh with healthy ingrediants. Several facilities are available for free, like laundry, micro-onde, etc. Facilities paid, like bicycle rent. Little drawbacks, the distance to reach the main station and the wifi did not work in the room (6th floor). We were really satisfied and will come back when we stay in Kyoto in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tiffany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace
Sakura Terrace
#19 of 374 in Kyoto
877 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#26 of 374 in Kyoto
726 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 374 in Kyoto
591 reviews
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anteroom Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anteroom Kyoto

Address: 7 Aketacho Higashikujo Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8044, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 374 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: £44 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Anteroom Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're staying at this hotel starting tonight and would love to be able to provide a review. The hotel JUST opened in April and looks super great, affordable and stylish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Rakuten, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Anteroom Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing