We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A charming & warm hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Anteroom Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
Ranked #13 of 360 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A charming & warm hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is my second time to stay here and surely will be the first choice of my next trip in Kyoto. The simple but nicely arranged room and friendly staffs can make up the distance disadvantage of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chaoying L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    146
    28
    5
    4
See reviews for
36
116
166
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
208 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

It was unlike any other hotel stay. It'd probably be regarded as slightly inconvenient; but I love that it's located in a residential area. Enjoyed every morning strolling around the neighbourhood and getting a real insight into local life. Surrounding is so quiet and peaceful that I slept so well every night after a full-day schedule. Beautifully designed, the hotel houses a lot of arty objects and unique artwork. One doesn't even have to go out to spend a relaxing afternoon in the gallery The hotel itself offers a range of free service including bicycle renting, iron, laundry etc. Staff are friendly, attentive and helpful. The breakfast is one of the best hotel meals I have had over the years. At only JPY1000 you get this huge amount of fresh veggies (you're even told of the farm they come from) and of course, no one could resist the daily pita and wrap sandwiches which are made only when you sit down at the incredibly cozy catering area, where one savours a peaceful morning with delicacies on one hand, and leisure readings on the other. Highly recommended for those who aren't the first time visiting Kyoto and who already have certain understanding of the geography, if you could neglect that seemingly gruelling 15-min walk from JR Kyoto Station.

Room Tip: request smoke-free
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I loved this hotel, and stayed for four nights. I knew it was special as soon as I entered and saw art installations in the lobby (there was also a photo shoot happening in the lobby one day) and talked to the very friendly staff.

Room was a decent size for one person. My only complaint is the shower drain didn't drain fast so I always ended up in ankle deep water, and had to drain it a few times during my showers.

I appreciated the free laundry and detergent, but yes the dryer really does take forever to dry your clothes.

Great location - across from a bakery and grocery store, and about a 10 minute walk from Kyoto Station. Bikes can be used for a couple hours free or rented for longer periods. I bought a bus pass every day from the front desk. Be sure to check out Toji Temple just down the street.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thenewval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is the second year in a row I've had a long stay at Hotel Anteroom. It's simply the best place for those who have already done the tourist route, stayed in ryokans or other elegant accommodations, and want a comfortable and convenient headquarters in Kyoto. Minimalist design, clean rooms with super-crisp new sheets every night. Actually, the rooms are business-hotel style, small but accommodating every need. The youthful staff are efficient and attentive, helped me with computer problems, and made me feel welcome every day,
Be sure not to miss the spectacular, healthy breakfast - you'll easily be able to skip lunch! A basic-needs supermarket is right across the street, and
coffee is always available in the lobby, which doubles as an avant-garde art gallery. This place may not be right for everyone, but for me it's a home-away-from-home, and at a reasonable cost. Especially good for single travelers. A short walk and one stop on the subway takes you to Kyoto Station. The neighborhood also boasts a good old-fashioned sento (public bath), in case you want to meet the locals!

Room Tip: Higher floors seem to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oishii13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Cool design, very positive and welcoming atmosphere. Personal and not anonymous.

The hotel is a mix of gallery space (an opening took place while we were there), large (!) rooms with terrace (OK, not all rooms have those, but there's a nice view from the upper floors), very friendly staff, books on art for sale in the lobby, lots of space in the attractive lobby/bar area. Not quite in the center of town but within very reasonable walking distance of the train station and you can rent a bike at the hotel )or use one for free for 2 hours).

Only slight downside: some staff's English is a bit less than fluent, but everybody is still very helpful and tries very hard. Wifi is rather weak in the rooms. Never tried the breakfast.

Room Tip: Ground floor (for terrace) or top floor (high ceiling, views)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I love this hotel! It's not pricey despite its artsy character. The facilities and amenities are of high quality. The breakfast is so healthy and delicious. The room is spacious. I love that the room has a study table with a Luxo-like lamp. I'm raving about this hotel because it really deserves all the praise!

If there's any downside though, it's the location. It's at the Hachijo side of Kyoto Station, mostly residential area. The surroundings are quite bland compared to the other side of the station - where all the action is. If you like peace and quiet, it's great. Also, it takes around 20 minutes to walk to-from Kyoto Station. Alternatively, you can take the subway, then walk for 5 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happydabbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staying at Hotel Anteroom was a great experience - it's got a fun, artsy vibe, and it's quite affordable. If you're not looking for something right across the Kyoto Station, this is a great option. The directions on the hotel website recommend taking a cab from Kyoto Station, but you can easily transfer to the Kyoto subway line to the Kujo Station, which is one stop away from the main one. From there the hotel is a short walk. It's about a 15 minute walk from Kyoto Station. I did the cab thing to get there, and I wish I had taken the train to Kujo.

I stayed in the standard single room, and found it to be a nice size for one person. The hotel is clean, and the bed was comfortable. I did the breakfast option, and that was nice. There's also a very cool bar area to hang out in. A very nice perk was the ability to do laundry for free - just be warned that one load really does take about 3-4 hours if you have full load for that size washer/dryer. I also enjoyed the service. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shopdollee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace The Gallery
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#4 of 360 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace
Sakura Terrace
#17 of 360 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 360 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anteroom Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anteroom Kyoto

Property: Hotel Anteroom Kyoto
Address: 7 Aketacho Higashikujo Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8044 , Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 360 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Anteroom Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're staying at this hotel starting tonight and would love to be able to provide a review. The hotel JUST opened in April and looks super great, affordable and stylish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Anteroom Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing