We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£196
Fully refundable before Sat, 25 May
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
£174
Fully refundable before Sat, 25 May
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Samisra1
Mississauga, Canada

Day trip to private onsen for couple

Review of Kadensho
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Mar 2019
We visited Kadensho Ryokan as a day trip from Kyoto, around 40 minutes away from our hotel in central Kyoto. We were able to book our reservation through our hotel's concierge. The cost was 8200 yen (taxes in) for two people for 3 hours, and it included using the private onsens (5 private baths available) with a hotel room for us to use. It was amazing! Unlimited drinks were included with the cost. The Ryokan is a short 2 minute walk from the transit station and the grounds looked lovely from what we could see. The front desk people did not speak a lot of english, but we managed just fine. They provided us with lockers for our shoes, and a map to show up where our room was, and then where the private baths were. We had full use of the hotel room, including shower, toilet and beds for a quick nap if needed. We quickly changed into the yukatas provided free of charge and headed to the onsen area. If the light was on outside the onsen room, then it was occupied; if the light was off, then it was free to use. Luckily, all lights were off, so we could take a quick look in each room to see which one we wanted to use. We chose an outdoor bath, and followed all the rules prior to getting in. It was GLORIOUS! the water was hot and steamy, and with the outside temperature so cold, it was lovely going back out and in. We debated going into a different onsen since they were all available, but just decided to stay in the bamboo onsen. Afterwards, we showered off, relaxed in the hotel room, helped ourselves to free hot and cold drinks, and then checked out. Tattoos are not an issue since it is a private bath. It was well worth the 8200 yen for 3 hours of bliss. Strongly recommend!!

I can't comment on the food or a full night's stay since this was a day trip. But for all those looking for a private onsen where tattoos are not an issue, and you only want to use the facilities, then this was an amazing option!
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
【蓮花の湯】瞑想の湯(男性)
4.9 miles from Kadensho
Free Wifi
Restaurant
4.7 miles from Kadensho
Free Wifi
Pool
4.5 miles from Kadensho
Free Wifi
Restaurant
4.4 miles from Kadensho
Free Wifi
Restaurant
新特別室RIKYU 庭
1.9 miles from Kadensho
Free Wifi
Free parking
4.4 miles from Kadensho
Free Wifi
Free parking
5.0 miles from Kadensho
Restaurant
Room service
4.8 miles from Kadensho
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Deluxe Twin
5.0 miles from Kadensho
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
134
132
47
30
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
134
132
47
30
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arashiyama station traditional ryokan bamboo grove walking distance onsen baths yukata shoes toilet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2019 via mobile

We went during the peak period in winter and it was also over a long weekend during the Emperor’s birthday holiday. This inn is very popular with the locals. If you are not into the public bath culture in Japan, I suggest that you give this inn a miss entirely. They have around 5 private bath but there is always a queue for it.

The breakfast and dinner included in the package is mediocre. You can get better outside. Also, most of the staff speaks very limited English.

If you just need a place to stay for the night in Arashiyama, give this inn a miss. There are cheaper options elsewhere. Definitely not coming back again and also, Arashiyama is a nice place where you can do a day trip. It is just a 10 minutes ride to/ from Kyoto. Do a day trip and go back to Kyoto where you can easily get nicer accommodation.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jessicatI8956ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2019

Staying here was one of the highlights of our trip. My husband and I stayed here as a "splurge" night as we stayed in more modest accommodations the rest of our vacation. The hotel is very nice and the staff friendly. We stayed in a basic, semi-western style room and still thought it was very nice and felt traditional. We loved the traditional Japanese feel of no shoes, wearing yukatas and the onsens. We did 3 of the private onsens and loved them all, as they all had a different feel to them. We did have to wait, but not more than 30 minutes. The dinner and breakfast were fantastic. Great location in Arashiyama. Overall, not cheap but worth it.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericbI6380XE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2018

The most terrible inn in Kyoto. Not friendly to foreign guests.

欧米人の友人をご案内した時の話。1泊1人2.5万払って泊ったのですが、周りは1万円弱で泊まっている人。貸切風呂もこの値段のコースで1日限定4組との説明だったのに現地では安いプランの人でもタダで何組も入っている。なんでも直前にシステムが変わったとかいう説明。その後、夕食時、同室の欧米人とレストランで待ち合わせていたけど、レストランスタッフは中韓等外人さん多いからわからない、金髪外人?しらんがな、という反応。結局館内探し回った挙句レストランに戻ると同じスタッフがお連れ様お待ちですよ、と。本人曰く30分以上待ちぼうけていたとの話。結果、彼女は日本のことが大嫌いになって帰っていきました。帰国後日本旅行したがる友人等を全力で引き留めているとのことです。悲しい限りです。

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JaipaQue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

From Kyoto station to Arashiyama the ride was about 30” and the taxi cost was about 3300 yen. Split three ways we felt it was a deal.
We were greeted warmly by several staff members as soon as the taxi stopped. Then our luggage was whisked to the reception desk. Between the clerk who could speak a little English and out limited Japanese, the check-in process was quick and pleasant.
Our room decor was mainly Japanese with a calming effect but with western beds and bathroom. We took advantage of the room amenities; hot water, green tea, rice crackers.
The public onsen was very clean and neat. We bathed at 5:00 pm and we basically had the entire area to ourselves. We bathed again the next morning at 5:00 am and again had the entire bath to ourselves. The water temperature both times was perfect and the ambience of the public and private baths were incredible.
Our included meals, dinner and breakfast, were of excellent quality and very tasty. Dinner was served on trays with many small dishes arranged beautifully. Breakfast buffet offered both western and Japanese dishes.
Would I go back to the onsen? Yes definitely!!!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5  Thank 997amyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

The worst hot spring experience ever in Japan ..high end price but low end quality (I paid JPY 80,000 for three ppl for a night including two meals)... The dining is really bad...I think which is even worser than any Japanese restaurant on the street... Hot spring is so so...

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank ritayywong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews