We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Izakaya in Gion!”
Review of Gion Kappa

Gion Kappa
Ranked #1,074 of 12,152 Restaurants in Kyoto
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Gion
Seattle
Level Contributor
301 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Fun Izakaya in Gion!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had a great time at this Gion izakaya! We had no trouble getting in around 8 pm on a Friday night, although it started to get crowded while we were still there. Surprised that one reviewer said he or she would not recommend for the food. Our selections were very good, especially the grilled chicken, the steamed clams in sake, and the fried potatoes. There's a 390 yen cover charge, but they provide you a small appetizer for that. Everything else is 390 yen. I strongly recommend sitting at the counter, so you can watch the cooks at work.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paokano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    17
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
honolulu
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fun,casual,reasonable izakaya”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Our wonderful hotel recommended this casual izakaya to us. It is full of locals,and a few visitors. We ended up going twice while in kyoto and were treated like old friends the second time. We sat at the counter and it was fun to see what our neighboring diners were eating. There is an English menu...but if you are familiar with izakaya places it will help you feel comfortable with what to expect. We ate mostly grilled and cooked items and we enjoyed the chicken wings,grilled salmon,roasted rice balls,and many other small dishes. I think everything was 390yen each so it's really reasonable. A good "real" dining experience in gion

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
149 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Reasonable and fun”
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Paid about 12000 yen for four of us. Most items were Y390. Some delicious - grilled octopus, croquettes, maguro sushi roll, green chili peppers. Some not so delicious - beef cutlet was chewy. We sat on tatami mats in the back and had an eclectic group of Italians and Japanese with us. Wouldn't recommend it for the food, but we had a blast in terms of a good time!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BloDaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“390 Yen!”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This was a cozy and fun place to eat where everything was 390 yen. I guess I was so interested in the food that the person next to me had that he shared some with me!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland,oregpn
Level Contributor
85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Colorful local favorite well suited to westerners”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We have returned many times over the years to the Gion Kappa, a small informal restaurant in heart of the Gion entertainment district favored by locals. You sit at a counter that surrounds three sides of the kitchen; the food is prepared in front of you and handed to you by the chefs. You can order a la carte as you go along. The menu - English or Japanese - has dozens of choices, including sushi, beef kebabs, yakitori, chicken meatballs, tempura, fish, soups and salads, beer and sake. Dinner only. Inexpensive. Two blocks north of Shijodori on the east side of Nawate-dori. A good idea to be there when they open (6PM daily, 5PM Sunday).

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jrandalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gion Kappa also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Gion Kappa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing