We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Traditional Kyoto House with Modern Flair”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GoGatorGi...
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Traditional Kyoto House with Modern Flair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My family of six stayed at Suo-An and nearby Shoubu-An for two nights. It is a wonderful setting with old Kyoto mixed with modern appliances. Both Inns are tastefully decorated, very comfortable and conveniently located in the middle of Kyoto. The first time visitors, my adult children's partners enjoyed traditional Japanese style home with tatami rooms and futon beds. We ventured near by public bath which was delightful. Hiro was very attentive to our needs and we had a memorable visit to Kyoto.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location and the atmosphere of the Inn
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2013
Thank you very much for your considerate comments. We take great care in ensuring that guests experience a balanced view of the traditional and modern Japanese lifestyle, so we are incredibly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in both houses. Congratulations on venturing to the public bath. That is truly the quintessential Japanese experience! We hope you will come visit Kyoto and stay here again sometime in the very near future. Warmest regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wombie03
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Machiya”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Lovely old styled place close to transport.
Easy to access.
The place is lovely, but don't expect to be able to cook too much - basic facilities.
Lovely but not a layout that could be sustained for too many days.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2013
Thank you for staying at Suoan. Japanese Machiyas, like this one, are renowned for using a small area of land as efficiently as possible. The kitchen may not feel as spacious compared to a Western kitchen, but the design does adhere to the layout of a traditional machiya. Despite any inconvenience you may have felt with the kitchen, we hope that you were able to experience and enjoy the traditional lifestyle and accommodation of a machiya. We hope that on your next travel to Kyoto you will consider staying at Suoan or at the other machiyas that Machiya Residence Inn has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFT78
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Memorable time in Kyoto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We spent a great moment in Suo An machiya. This house is very pleasant and comfortable, in a nice and authentic style. The place is very clean, and the staff give us a warm welcome. Everybody, children and friends, have loved their travel. The access is easy and the location in Kyoto is pratical, transports and sites can be easily reached. The pictures of the website are representative.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: genral atmosphere of the house
Liked least: access of a too small kitchen for six
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you had a memorable and enjoyable stay at Suoan and look forward to your next visit to Kyoto. We wish you all the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmegaTaur...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gorgeous traditional house in the heart of Kyoto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We stayed in the Suoan Machiya for seven nights as part as our honeymoon tour of Japan and highly recommend it as an ideal base in Kyoto. The house is stunningly furnished with traditional tatami floors and seating, alongside enormous and comfy twin beds and a luxurious modern bathroom. We loved the deep stone bath! The location is perfect - a 15 minute walk to Shijo Dori and Nishiki Market, a 20 minute walk to Nijo Castle and a half hour walk or approx. £5-8 taxi ride to the middle of Gion. The subway is a 10 minute walk away, and the directions provided were excellent. There is a book in the house with maps and instructions to find the nearest supermarkets, convience store, pharmacies and post office, and instructions on how to take the bus to the major sightseeing spots. Hiro-san was welcoming and helpful, and explained how to use everything in the house, and was also kind enough to pre-book us a taxi. The cleaning lady came every 3 days to tidy, remove the bins and change the towels and sheets - it's the most luxurious self-catering we've ever been in! All in all, a fantastic and atmospheric place to stay, a hugely practical and convient location, fully stocked with amenities including wi-fi and a laptop - you really couldn't ask for more. We would definintely stay again!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The mix of traditional decor and modern amenities
Liked least: Struggled with the washer-dryer - but I think that's us, not the property...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2012
Thank you very much for your stay with Suoan Machiya Residence Inn. We are so delighted to hear you that you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful honeymoon trip. It was a great pleasure welcoming you and we look forward to seeing you again next time! Thank you for your time to make such nice comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Montreal
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Nov 2012
Thank you for your stay at Suoan Machiya Residence Inn. We are glad to hear that you were able to make most of the time in Kyoto. It was a great pleasure welcoming you all and we look forward to hearing from you again next time! Thank you very much for your nice comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Simo85
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Best experience in Kyoto, great place and great service from the management.
Everything was perfect and they were really helpful during the whole stay.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Amazing View
Liked least: Not enough bikes for all the people
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2012
Thank you for commenting on Suoan Machiya Residence Inn. It’s so great to hear how you enjoyed your stay. It was really nice accommodating you and we look forward to seeing you again next time!

Happy travels!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claradog
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A little gem in Kyoto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

This was one of three properties that my group of 14 stayed in for 6 nights during Gion Matsuri. The location was perfect--in an ordinary neighborhood, not far from the subway (also walkable to Shijo shopping and Kyoto Station), and on a quiet side street. Always received quick responses from the manager in the booking process, and check in/check out were efficient. I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone looking for a relaxing stay in a traditional machiya with all the amenities you could want.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: decor, ;location, comfort
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2012
Thank you very much for your stay at Suoan Machiya Residence Inn. We hope you all enjoyed the Gion matsuri and spent a memorable time in Kyoto. We look forward to accommodating you all again in the near future.! Thank you very much for your nice comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing