We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Great place for a small group. Excellent place to...”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
drdamo
Darwin, Australia
1 review
“Great place for a small group. Excellent place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This was a great little place. Would suit a small group/family. I stayed there during my brothers wedding with friends and it was perfect. It's well worth it for an experience that lets you enjoy the comforts of home with everything you need on hand or nearby while visiting Kyoto.

4 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2015
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Suo-an and in Kyoto. We strive to give you comfort and privacy, while also giving you a chance to experience Kyoto life, so are happy that our machiya could provide what you needed during your sibling's wedding. Again, thank you, and we hope to see you back in Kyoto in the future!
From all the staff at Machiya Residence Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sushichti
Lille, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful house in a perfect place at Kyoto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We've stayed 2 weeks into the beautiful Suoan Machiya and we enjoyed a lot this house, the neighborhood and the staff of Machiya Inn.
The house was perfect for the 4 of us (couple + a 4 years old girl + a 1 1/2 year old boy). We enjoyed to sit, eat and have a rest in the living-room. The kitchen is small but very well organize to cook (and it's a pleasure to use very nice plates, bowls, dishes). The bathroom was one of our favorite rooms as you can guess through the pictures. Our children loved to wash them like young Japanese and then play into the beautiful tub.
The bedrooms are very confortable. Our children slept into the Japanese bedroom, on tatami and very soft futons. They were very happy about that (but be careful, this bedroom isn't excatly on the same level of the main bedroom. It's one meter higher).
The area was great. It was our 3rd time to Kyoto and I wanted to stay in this part of the city because it's central, near subways and buses (and taxis), and most of all it's a quiet residential area (for those who have young children there is a playground nearby). There are lots of convenience stores and a very good supermarket 10min by foot (Fresco). We've tasted some restaurants and you must go to the one which cooks wonderful gyoza (2 min by foot) and to the beautiful café Kitone (10-15 min).
Finaly, the staff of Machiya Inn was just perfect, from the person working at the reception, to the cleaning lady and the ones who came very quickly when we had some questions about the house. In fact, these machiyas are the perfect place to stay : you're staying into a genuine old house but you've got all the services of a very good hotel (reception, direct phone, people who help you if you want to book a taxi for example, cleaning ladies, very kind staff).
Just one more thing : these machiyas are perfect place for quiet people. As the houses are made of wood, with thin walls, we can hear people if they make lots of noise (i had to knock on the door of the other house rented by Machiya Inn, just nearby, at 2am, because they had a big party because they were on jetlag ;)
And now, book the house and enjoy !

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2014
We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay at this house and were pleased with the service you received. We always strive to offer the conveniences of a hotel by ensuring that guests are able to easily contact our staff should they be in need of any assistance. As you pointed out, the house is also in an incredibly convenient central location, making it easy to access public transportation as well as restaurants and the supermarket or convenience stores. We would also like to sincerely apologize for the noise of the next door guests, though it appears to have been an out-of-the-ordinary and isolated incident we are sorry that it happened during your stay. We hope that you will choose to stay at this or any other of Machiya Residence Inn’s accommodations the next time you visit Kyoto. We look forward to making your next stay an even more memorable one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoGatorGi...
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Traditional Kyoto House with Modern Flair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My family of six stayed at Suo-An and nearby Shoubu-An for two nights. It is a wonderful setting with old Kyoto mixed with modern appliances. Both Inns are tastefully decorated, very comfortable and conveniently located in the middle of Kyoto. The first time visitors, my adult children's partners enjoyed traditional Japanese style home with tatami rooms and futon beds. We ventured near by public bath which was delightful. Hiro was very attentive to our needs and we had a memorable visit to Kyoto.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location and the atmosphere of the Inn
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2013
Thank you very much for your considerate comments. We take great care in ensuring that guests experience a balanced view of the traditional and modern Japanese lifestyle, so we are incredibly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in both houses. Congratulations on venturing to the public bath. That is truly the quintessential Japanese experience! We hope you will come visit Kyoto and stay here again sometime in the very near future. Warmest regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wombie03
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Machiya”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Lovely old styled place close to transport.
Easy to access.
The place is lovely, but don't expect to be able to cook too much - basic facilities.
Lovely but not a layout that could be sustained for too many days.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2013
Thank you for staying at Suoan. Japanese Machiyas, like this one, are renowned for using a small area of land as efficiently as possible. The kitchen may not feel as spacious compared to a Western kitchen, but the design does adhere to the layout of a traditional machiya. Despite any inconvenience you may have felt with the kitchen, we hope that you were able to experience and enjoy the traditional lifestyle and accommodation of a machiya. We hope that on your next travel to Kyoto you will consider staying at Suoan or at the other machiyas that Machiya Residence Inn has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFT78
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Memorable time in Kyoto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We spent a great moment in Suo An machiya. This house is very pleasant and comfortable, in a nice and authentic style. The place is very clean, and the staff give us a warm welcome. Everybody, children and friends, have loved their travel. The access is easy and the location in Kyoto is pratical, transports and sites can be easily reached. The pictures of the website are representative.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: genral atmosphere of the house
Liked least: access of a too small kitchen for six
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you had a memorable and enjoyable stay at Suoan and look forward to your next visit to Kyoto. We wish you all the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmegaTaur...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gorgeous traditional house in the heart of Kyoto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We stayed in the Suoan Machiya for seven nights as part as our honeymoon tour of Japan and highly recommend it as an ideal base in Kyoto. The house is stunningly furnished with traditional tatami floors and seating, alongside enormous and comfy twin beds and a luxurious modern bathroom. We loved the deep stone bath! The location is perfect - a 15 minute walk to Shijo Dori and Nishiki Market, a 20 minute walk to Nijo Castle and a half hour walk or approx. £5-8 taxi ride to the middle of Gion. The subway is a 10 minute walk away, and the directions provided were excellent. There is a book in the house with maps and instructions to find the nearest supermarkets, convience store, pharmacies and post office, and instructions on how to take the bus to the major sightseeing spots. Hiro-san was welcoming and helpful, and explained how to use everything in the house, and was also kind enough to pre-book us a taxi. The cleaning lady came every 3 days to tidy, remove the bins and change the towels and sheets - it's the most luxurious self-catering we've ever been in! All in all, a fantastic and atmospheric place to stay, a hugely practical and convient location, fully stocked with amenities including wi-fi and a laptop - you really couldn't ask for more. We would definintely stay again!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The mix of traditional decor and modern amenities
Liked least: Struggled with the washer-dryer - but I think that's us, not the property...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2012
Thank you very much for your stay with Suoan Machiya Residence Inn. We are so delighted to hear you that you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful honeymoon trip. It was a great pleasure welcoming you and we look forward to seeing you again next time! Thank you for your time to make such nice comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Nov 2012
Thank you for your stay at Suoan Machiya Residence Inn. We are glad to hear that you were able to make most of the time in Kyoto. It was a great pleasure welcoming you all and we look forward to hearing from you again next time! Thank you very much for your nice comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$263
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing