We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Prince Hotel Kyoto
Nearby Hotels
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$326
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Ryokufuso(Kyoto)
US$345
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Monterey Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kanra Kyoto(Kyoto)
US$378
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$425
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (631)
Filter reviews
631 results
Traveller rating
171
315
112
22
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
315
112
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconference centersubway stationrooms are hugechoice of restaurantsjapanese restauranttea househotel is excellentjapanese standardsbreakfast buffeteasy accessconvenient hotelshort walkday passconvenience storestayed nightsgreen teaconvention
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 631 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We had to book this hotel as the more central Kyoto Hotels were booked out. There is of course nothing wrong with this hotel as it has spacious rooms for a Japanese Hotel and has very nice inner courtyard with a Japanese style garden as well as a garden surrounding the hotel. In autumn the colours of the garden are fantastic. The hotel is at the end of a metro line an close to the Kyoto Convention centre, however there are no other choices for meals and whether you like it or not you have to eat at the hotel itself. The staff are friendly but like many Japanese hotels many staff do not have good command of English but they will get someone who will.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eaa1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This Hotel is great value for money and easy to get to. There are only 2 subway lines in Kyoto and the Grand Prince is at the end of the Karasuma line (20mins from Kyoto station) and a short walk (across the road) once exiting the station. We travelled in Nov 13 which is the most beautiful time of year to visit Kyoto with the colourful autumn leaves. The surrounds of this Hotel are gorgeous with so many trees. Eating in the Hotel is expensive like all Hotels, so you can take a short walk through a wooded park to any number of restaurants. We ate at a Chinese Family Restaurant - excellent value, fresh cooked food. There is also a 7-Eleven and FamilyMart close by for mini mart & supermarket style shopping. Rooms are very spacious with huge windows and bed is very comfortable. The Hotel is circular and all the rooms look out with a corridor which looks onto a lovely courtyard garden often used for outdoor weddings. Our room on the 6 floor looked onto a forest of trees, just beautiful. Would stay again and be happy to go with our kids next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I don't particularly have any complaints about this place, I was just a bit let down! As a note, I was here for work so I am able to critique this hotel having not paid for it.

As a 5 star hotel it's a bit lacking - no leisure facilities and the rooms and décor are outdated.

The location is a bit curious as it is absolutely out the way of everything, which I suppose some people may enjoy but we found ourselves on the subway every evening into central Kyoto to find something to do/eat!

The rooms are huge, but this doesn't make up for the outdated look and facilities. It's like a throwback to the early 90's! Old décor, old kettle, old shower, old toilet.

However, the staff are absolutely excellent. Very friendly, very helpful. There's a big hole in the centre of the building for weddings which is nice and there is a traditional tea room but I didn't go to it. The surrounding area is quite nice - there's a huge quite intimidating Kyoto Conference Centre right across the street, as is the subway station so it's very convenient.

We sampled the food - breakfast buffet, lunch buffet both 2500 Yen each (which was pretty similar to the lunch) where they offer all sorts of fried goodies like chicken and pork. There's curry, rice, pasta, croissants, cakes, jelly. We also tried to hotels Japanese restaurant which offered very nice sashimi, but horrendously overpriced compared to what you can get if you go into central Kyoto.

Overall, it's a pleasant experience, but don't expect it to be like other 5 star hotels you've been to. If I had paid for this myself, I would have been quite annoyed at the drawbacks of facilities.

Room Tip: Twin singles are absolutely huge!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blinkyjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here through work as we were at a conference at kyoto conference centre. As through work I shouldn't complain as not paying but this place was a total disappointment. 5 stars seems very generous. It costs a lot to stay here, you get nothing included and they charge you at any point they can. Spent most of our time on the tube to get to better areas to eat. Really is a 3 star. No leisure facilities but does have dated big rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Padoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I've got to say there is a certain disconnect between the reviews here and what we've experienced. Yes, the rooms are large, but so were the four other hotels we have stayed at in Japan thus far. It is at the end of the train line, and there are no shops or anything of interest near by, so you're quite isolated. This wouldn't be such a problem if the hotel wasn't so stingy: no complimentary water, no complimentary tea or coffee - it's all there, you just have to pay around 3-4 USD for it (I have never experienced this before and I travel monthly with work) The food here is nothing special but they charge more than what we paid for in five star hotels in Tokyo and Osaka, and 1/3 the quality.. and selection.

If you love the Brady Bunch you will love the decor of the place. It's "far out in a groovy kind of way." Sadly, if like me you feel the Brady Bunch is dated and not commensurate with the 21st century and not the uber modern image Japan likes to extol, you might also feel a bit jaded by the hotel's look, which could certainly do with a make over. There is free wifi at least.

So if location, look, and food are important to you, I would recommend looking elsewhere. Of the four hotel's we've stayed in Japan on our holiday so far, this one is more certainly bottom of that list.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jimba_the_hut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews