We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Common hotel”
Review of Kyoto Tokyu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Ranked #40 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Common hotel”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and I spend 5 nights at the Kyoto Tokyu Hotel. Here are our likes and dislikes:

Likes:
• Decent rate ($170/night) for Premium Room
• Free bus shuttle service to/from Kyoto Train Station every 15 minutes
• Free Internet service
• Helpful staff on providing instruction to places to go
• Courteous staff

Dislikes:
• Non-smoking rooms are shared with smoking rooms per floor. While our room didn’t have any scent of cigarettes smell once you open the room door cig smell will hit you hard.
• Poor breakfast buffet selection ($25/person), this pretty much the same comment for most hotels.
• Poor wireless connectivity, using very old school Wi-Fi technology. If you’re planning to carry multiple wireless devices bring an Apple Airport and connect it to an existing wired Internet connection, significantly more reliable and faster than the hotel Wi-Fi.
• Common Japanese size hotel room petite in size, bathroom is a bit small lack shelf space.

Info:
• 5 minutes walk to Fresco market and Lawson
• Less than 10 minutes shuttle ride to Kyoto Train Station
• 10-15 minutes walk to 7-Eleven for ATM (if you’re using US banking debit card, this is your best bet)
• 15-20 minutes walk to nearest subway station (K10)
• Taxi to/from Kyoto Train Station is about $10USD
• Bullet train (Nozomi with seat reservation) from Tokyo to Kyoto 2.5 hours, about $140 USD (one way/person)
• Limited Express Train from Kyoto to Nara 30 minutes, about $15USD (one way/person)

Overall the room cleanliness and condition were fine, the cig smell in the hallway did annoyed us (so make a run for it!). Will try a different hotel next time around.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dontlosemyluggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    516
    186
    39
    22
See reviews for
312
288
77
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Visit for one week in 2011 and forgot to post! This hotel was well sited for all Kyoto sites. All facilities excellent, although wifi was not perfect. Language barrier challenging, but staff went to great lengths to support me and my 5 colleagues.

Bedroom a little bijou although everything clean and modern. Will return for sure.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConciergeKyoto, Manager at Kyoto Tokyu Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you so much for your feedback following your stay with us Kyoto Tokyu Hotel.
We are so glad to read that you enjoyed the facilities.
Free wi-fi has been set up whole building since April 2014.
Please do come and see us again soon.

Kind regards,
Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
226 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Like everything in Japan, hotels are expensive and this one seemed even more so. That said, it was beautiful and the staff was great. We ate once there and the food was quite good...coffee was $8.20 for a small, non-refillable cup. They have a very good gift shop there with many items for making origami and other traditional crafts. I enjoyed browsing there as much as outside the hotel. The only complaint I'd have about the hotel was the beds....very hard for my liking. Might as well have been on the floor but I think that's traditional. Anyway, very nice hotel in a good location very close to the train station.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdfloyd322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConciergeKyoto, マネージャー at Kyoto Tokyu Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay at Kyoto Tokyu Hotel.
We are delighted to know that you enjoined us and we love to create a warm and cosy atmosphere throughout our hotel.

We were sorry to read that you were not happy with our beds that was Japanese standard. However when you come to stay with us we will try to sort it out for you.

I look forward to you joining us again at Kyoto Tokyu Hotel in the near future.

Thank you.
Regards

Concierge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
244 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed here on business. The reception staff is courteous, helpful and understands English. Rooms are not spacious for price, but it may be specific to country and not hotel. There is no complimentary water for drinking. The instructions in bathroom talk about water being soft for hair, but not if fit for consumption. The toiletries provided were more than generous, and temperature control for hot and cold water is finely tuned. My hair was really soft after using shampoo here. The electric charging points have two flat rectangular sockets, and i had tough time keeping my laptop and mobile charged up for 3 days. Please carry universal adapter to this hotel suited to your instrument. The hotel room guide is mostly in local language, so there is no point referring to it. There is free wi-fi everywhere in hotel rooms and meeting rooms, but you will have to ask them for print outs which they will oblige only if 1-2 pages. One has to switch AC and lights on/ off manually. The electronic safe is small one for medium sized documents. you cant put laptop or A4 size papers in it. The closet does not have light source. The hotel provides footwear which is soft and comfortable to wear. I had comfortable stay though there were few things that could have complimented it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saket G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConciergeKyoto, マネージャー at Kyoto Tokyu Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your visit to Kyoto Tokyu Hotel.
We are delighted to learn that you stayed with us and that you found our staff to be friendly and caring and also you like our amenity.

However we were so sorry we did not mention our tab water is drinkable which is
natural water is carefully filtered uses as drinking water inside hotel.
Also we did not mention againe about universal adapter .We prepared them for the guests at the front desk.

I am grateful for you taking the time to write about your experiences and hope to welcome you back to Kyoto Tokyu hotel in the future.

Thank you.
Regrds

Cncierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poway, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

There is much to like about this hotel: great location, regular shuttle to Kyoto station, very courteous staff (typical of the Japanese), reasonable price. We only gave it three stars because the room itself was very disappointing. We were on a "superior floor" and able to get a non-smoking room, but half the floor was smoking, so that was sometimes iffy. The room was neither comfortable nor well-appointed. The bathroom was about the size of that on a cruise ship, and using the shower required contortionist skills. The toilet was right next to the sink, so you could at least brush your teeth while you took a bio-break, if that's your thing. The telephone would not work properly and the sheer curtain over the window had distracting brown stains. The thermostat was sealed off, so we had no ability to control the room temperature; even in April, we were too hot most of the time. We know the Japanese like hard beds, but often there is a mattress pad for Westerners--not here. We joked that the pillows were so hard that they felt like bags of cement. The television had no English stations. The hotel restaurants are quite pricey--typical of Kyoto--but you can take the shuttle to Kyoto Station and widen your dining choices. We understand that there are limited options regarding hotel rooms for Westerners in Kyoto, so some adaptability is needed. However, there were a few improvements to the room that the hotel could have done to make our stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel has a curious arrival area, with many interior gardens and water features. The set down area leads into an upper entry foyer, then you go down a set of escalators to the main reception area, and from there you traverse the full length of the main foyer to get to the lifts. The lifts to the rooms don't connect with the upper foyer, so people with a lot of bags may find the escalators a difficulty.

The staff were friendly and helpful, however, in many cases their English was limited. The rooms are spacious and clean, but the beds were too firm for our liking (although this could be said for every hotel we stayed in in Japan). If you want to eat in, there are Japanese, Chinese and Western-style restaurants in the hotel. The breakfast buffet is very good, although there can be long queues early in the morning as many group tours use this hotel. Free Wi-Fi is provided in the rooms and in most public areas, although we couldn't make a connection from our room.

The hotel is in a good location, close to Kyoto Station and a regular shuttle bus service is provided.

Room Tip: Go for the upper floors as the lower level rooms on one side look straight out onto a large car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anw190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have a difficulty rating this hotel as if the reception staff wouldn't change our room (At 23:00 after third complaint ) from 343 to a lovely room on the 8th floor – I would give this hotel 2 but as our room was changed and the bell boy was so nice moving our luggage and even returning with two minor items we forgot – The hotel deserves 4.

We stayed at this hotel for two nights as part of an organized tour group so couldn't choose the type or room. We also didn't use any of the facilities and didn't need transportation so I can't comment on these issues.
Explanation: Although it was the end of March – The two days we spent in Kyoto were warm. The room 343 (Standard) and it's window faced the spacious lobby (under street level) which had a fountain. The window could be opened to 10-15 cm and no air. The room's facilities and it says A/C but only warm air.
Arriving back in the evening – didn't make things better in fact they must have weakened the fountain flow which "covered" the noise of traffic form the street (The only opening to the main street seemed to be opposite this roomת at a far end, and the only source of air). I asked for a ventilator (Fan) as a replacement for no A/C and this four star fancy hotel – didn't have even one. They also said there was no other room we could move to.

The third time I went down to the reception I was very angry and showed it. This time they found this amazing room for us facing an inner court with A/C, sliding doors covering the huge windows and possibility to open them. This room fits the description described in the review of Cristine s from this April.

Breakfast very nice, enjoyed the way the breakfast room staff dealt with the seating of the many guests - first you stand in an ordinary queue outside the restaurant and then chosen to sit on chairs along the wall till a suitable table is ready and at last shown to your table with many excuses as only Japanese know to give.

Room Tip: Not 343, not facing the main road, if you suffer from heat - make sure there is a/c. or at least ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#29 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#45 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Tokyu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Tokyu Hotel

Property: Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Address: 580 Kakimotocho | Gojo-sagaru, Horikawa-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8519, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kyoto Tokyu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel's contemporary interpretation of traditional Kyoto values has earned the Kyoto Scenic Beauty Award, as well as the BCS Awards for excellence in modern architecture. From the impressive main entrance, and the courtyard water feature recreating the simple purity of the city's Horikawa River, the atmosphere of quiet composure communicates a sense of calm and relaxation to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Fastbooking, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kyoto Tokyu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing