We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really disappointed with this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
Ranked #51 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really disappointed with this hotel.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

A lot of pomp and flash, but little service and overpriced. We had a lovely english speaking concierge when we first arrived but when he was away sick other staff could not provide any assistance, had no idea of the things our other concierge was researching for us and seemed reluctant to help. Free shuttle bus was always full and had to wait long periods resorting to taxis in some cases. We booked a '2 Double bed' room on their direct website for my husband and I to share one bed and my son to have the other. When we arrived were told that that room type was not available in their motel and were given a room with two single beds and a fold out sofa, making the room very cramped. Would not stay here ever again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaylene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Kaylene A,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    560
    227
    79
    26
See reviews for
347
426
127
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Good hotel and good location, but the service could be way better, especially in comparison to the other Japanese Hotels. The front desk had been very slow during the check-in and our room wasn’t ready yet. Which is why we had to wait for almost an hour at the Hotel Lobby, with funny people staring at us, as if we were an alien clan. The room had been hurriedly worked upon, the floors were wet and left behind ugly footprints, the moment you walk on them. The bathroom was damp and smelt of cigarette. The room service probably did not understand English very well. We had to repeat all our orders some two-three times for him to understand. Loads of chaos and confusing for getting a simple Chicken sandwich. Not worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiderRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for one night & apart from the checkin & checkout being very efficient, we felt the rooms were outdated particularly the bathrooms. Beds were squeaky when you turned over & need replacing. But the most frustrating part was coming downstairs for breakfast and being told there was no table available and we would have to wait at least 15 minutes. We were then given a plastic number to be called so this is not an unusual occurrence. All other house guests were in the same position. I have never stayed in a hotel where there hasn't been enough restaurant tables to cater for breakfast for their guests. Given this I would have thought they could set the lounge up next door with a breakfast setup so if people are in a rush to attend meetings or have buses or trains to catch they are not going to be held up. The attitude of food service staff was not up to scratch either. There are plenty of other hotel options that I would consider in Kyoto for nxt time.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossdurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Rossdurbs,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your review. It is always our goal to provide the best possible service and create memorable experiences and on this occasion we apologize for the disappointment you had with your room accommodation and the breakfast. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you do choose to give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed one night for a whirlwind tour of Kyoto temples. Based on American standards the rooms are indeed compact though fully functional with nice little amenity items - razors, coffee, etc. We had a twin room with two small twins, a small table, two small chairs - small being the watchword. I don't think I would have liked staying here more than two nights but at the price it was fine. BTW - there is no "good" location in Kyoto if you are wanting to see lots of temples and the palace. The busses do run frequently but were very full. We finally just took taxis to the important temple sites and don't think they were more than $10-15 per trip. Lots of taxis waiting at each temple.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear sfwood,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

I am pleased to note that despite some shortfalls, you were still able to enjoy your stay and you were satisfied with the services and amenities that we provide. Guest comfort is of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a comfortable environment. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you will give us another chance and allow us to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We LOVED the ANA Kyoto. Took deluxe double with view of castle and mountains beyond - one of those sights that you simply cannot get enough of. Room was reasonably large and quite beautifully decorated. The bed was OUTSTANDING - as was the breakfast (Japanese set breakfast in gorgeous surroundings).

The only possible problem is the location, which is a good 30 minute walk from any restaurant area. There is a subway just next door, but it does feel a bit lonely after dark.

Room Tip: View of castle well worth any extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 38Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

The rooms in this hotel are a little bit dated, but this has no impact on their comfort, and they are quite roomy by Japanese standards. The hotel's free shuttle bus to Kyoto station was very convenient, and a subway station is just a brief walk down the road, so everything is easily accessible. However in terms of going out at night there was not that much in the immediate area, so we found ourselves catching the subway a couple of stops away to areas with more restaurants etc. The food within the hotel can be quite expensive. Our experience of the service was great, all staff were very polite and helpful. All in all it was a pleasant and comfortable stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had been traveling to various places in Japan and had great hotels along the way. We arrived at the hotel and inquired what the best things to do in the area where the staff member was unhelpful and advised everything was closed. However I was able to book online for various things I had inquired about. The room was small and the bed very uncomfortable. The walls were so thin you could hear the person in the next room in the toilet. We had an awful nights sleep and when we went down for breakfast in the morning we were told it would be 30-40 minute wait. This is certainly not a 4/5 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenJA1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear BenJA1234,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
#40 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Property: ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
Address: Nijojo-mae, Horikawa-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0055, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#24 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Business Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ANA Hotel Kyoto looks almost out of place with its modern exterior nestled amongst the sublime beauty and historic grandeur of Japan s old capital. This however belies the traditional hospitality and classic atmosphere to be experienced within her four walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, Rakuten, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Ana Hotel
Ana Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing