We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
rishi khanna
Lucknow, India

ANA crowne plaza Kyoto just opposite Nijo Castle

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 May 2024via mobile
ANA crowne plaza Kyoto is central and just opposite Nijo castle.The rooms are a little outdated but the staff is very humble and polite.There is a shuttle service to the airport .There are plenty of restaurants in the hotel but a prior booking is recommended.Overall a decent hotel if you have a short stay in Kyoto.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£205
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • KLOOK
    £157
  • Hotels.com
    £213
0.5 miles from ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£44
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    £36
  • Hotels.com
    £51
0.6 miles from ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
£81
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £85
  • Priceline
    £63
  • Expedia.com
1.4 miles from ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£161
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    £101
  • KLOOK
    £84
  • Expedia.com
    £181
1.9 miles from ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
£62
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    £55
  • Agoda.com
    £44
  • Priceline
    £48
2.1 miles from ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£104
  • Expedia.com
    £109
  • Agoda.com
    £86
  • Priceline
    £115
2.1 miles from ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£147
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £163
  • Agoda.com
    £97
  • Vio.com
    £103
1.2 miles from ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, an IHG Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
【蓮花の湯】瞑想の湯(男性)
£108
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    £102
  • Hotels.com
    £110
1.7 miles from ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
新特別室RIKYU 庭
£61
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    £58
  • Priceline
    £67
3.4 miles from ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £70
  • Skyscanner.com
    £58
  • japanican.com
    £74
1.8 miles from ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (1,810)
Filter reviews
1,810 results
Traveller rating
566
781
300
101
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
566
781
300
101
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free shuttle castle view nice castle the bus japan station concierge taxis shinkansen slippers exit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,810 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2024

After reading reviews about 'renovated rooms' we asked at the desk when we checked in. These aren't renovated they are just a different class of rooms called Luxury standard and unfortunately for us they were sold out at the time of our stay.

The hotel itself was nice, and in a nice location. Free shuttle to Kyoto station was handy and we used many times but can get busy. The staff were really nice, very helpful, especially the bell captain which for us was a lovely lady (didn't get her name sorry) who helped us with our luggage delivery forms.

The standard rooms just really let the hotel down, they were dark and the decor old fashioned. The beds were uncomfortable and the furniture felt like it could fall apart if we weren't careful so we didn't use it as they took our card for a security deposit. There were stains on the carpet, and the curtains were discoloured from the sun. When we turned the kettle on the lights dimmed in the room. We paid for breakfast during our stay but only used it once as we didn't particularly enjoy it.

We still enjoyed our time in Kyoto, just opt for the luxury standard rooms for better comfort.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2024

京都全日空皇冠假日酒店位於二條城正前方,距離二條城前驛最近的出口僅隔兩條街,不過最近的出口沒有電(扶)梯,僅馬路對面的出口有。酒店步行距離內也有幾個公車站,酒店還貼心地在給客人的地圖上詳細列出了從酒店到京都主要景點的最佳公共交通路線。

入住前的溝通令人十分失望。酒店對電郵的回應速度很慢,有時完全誤解了我寫的內容,用英語打電話也非常困難,難以實質對話。好在,所有問題都在入住時得到解決,前檯人員非常願意處理問題,且因為我是優悅會鑽石菁英會員,也主動提供了延遲退房。我們預訂了2個房間,結果升等到2種大小相似但非常不同的房間。一間房家具較老,但可以在不同時間欣賞到二條城不同的景色;另間房配有非常新的家具、現代化但分離的浴室與廁所,還有窗邊的軟墊座椅。能同時體驗傳統與現代的豪華真的很棒。

自助早餐擺設豐富多樣,但通常需要排隊進入餐廳。我們特別喜歡製作新鮮榨取橙汁的機器。優悅會鑽石菁英會員還可獲得免費的Santeloi游泳池和三溫暖設施通行證,不過Santeloi開放時間相當有限(僅下午和晚上較早的時間),所以我們沒有時間體驗。辦理入住和退房手續都非常有效率。總的來說,在我們抵達酒店後,這是一次非常愉快的住宿。

The ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kyoto is situated right in front of Nijo-jo and merely a couple of blocks from the nearest exit of the Nijo-jo-mae station. The nearest exit does not have an escalator or elevator; only the exit across from the road does. There are also several bus stations within walking distance of the hotel, and the hotel nicely compiled the best public transportation routes from the hotel to Kyoto's major attractions on the map given to guests.

Communication prior to arrival was a major disappointment. The hotel was slow in responding to emails and, at times, completely misunderstood my message. Phone conversations in English proved difficult and did not get me anywhere. Fortunately, all issues were resolved at check-in, and the front desk receptionist was very resourceful and took the responsibility for sorting things out. He also proactively offered late check-out as I am an IHG One Diamond Élite member. We booked 2 rooms and were given upgrades to 2 very different kinds of rooms of similar sizes. One room has dated furniture but a very nice view of Nijo-jo that can vary significantly at different times of the day. The other room has refreshed furniture, a modern bathroom and a toilet that are separated, as well as some padded seats by the window. It was great to experience both traditional and contemporary luxury.

The buffet breakfast spread was nice and diverse, but there was usually a waiting line to get into the restaurant. We particularly liked the machine that makes freshly squeezed orange juice. IHG One Diamond Élite members also get free passes to access the Santeloi pool and sauna facilities, although the opening hours are quite limited (afternoon and early evening only), so we did not have time to try. Check-in and check-out were both very efficient. Overall, it was a very good stay once we actually arrived at the hotel.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ernestnywang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2024 via mobile

Honestly it’s an okay hotel but for the price I wouldn’t recommend. Some say they had a renovated room, I did not. And I wish I knew because I would’ve requested one. The front desks English is okay, honestly the information desk and cleaning lady spoke more English. So I’d probably ask them for help.

Now the room itself. It’s very old, like carpet in the bathroom old. There’s green flower tile everywhere in the bathroom. Red carpet everywhere, and our toilet flush was loose. And you cannot use your bathroom back to back. It needs at least two to three minutes before the next flush. (Not sure if this was just our room) I’ll upload pictures with this review so you can compare. But the photos they use to lure you in, could POSSIBLY be the room you get. But that’s IF you get a renovated room. It’s not awful but for the price I would never pay over $100 for this room.

It has the bare necessities. Basically.

Room tip: If you do book this hotel they offer a shuttle from Kyôto station. Book your train times accordingly.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Rosina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IHG Service, Owner at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2024

Hello, Rosina N

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We thank you for choosing our Crowne Plaza - ANA Kyoto for your stay.

I would like to take this chance to apologize for the situation you have encountered. Don't worry. I have shared your sentiment with our management for further attention.

We have a vocation in service and will do everything we can to ensure your satisfaction and enjoyment.

I hope we get another chance to show you we can do better. Our staff can't wait to serve you again soon.

Alejandro G.
Case Manager
IHG Hotels & Resorts Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2024

I'm searching to find something positive about this hotel but I can't. It's dated and should've had some basic updates made over the years.

For starters our room maintained a balmy 26 C showing that the central air conditioning won't be able gold up in the summer months. When told about this the staff offered a fan. Stains are on the wall and bed frame, again the staff was notified with nothing done. The bedside lamp fell on me when I leaned over one night, again no compensation from the staff.

The pool should've been updated. It's maintained at a consistent 25 C but there's drop down ceiling above it. Combined with the humidity the ceiling looks gross and beginning to dissolve. The TV in the pool area is from 30 years ago and maintains the classic CRT style.

It's rare for me rate a hotel a 1 star. But here we are, one of the worse hotels I've stayed in.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2024 via mobile

Checked in yesterday and after putting bags and stuff into our room, decided to have a drink and a club sandwich before we ventured out. The club sandwich was the worst I have ever had. Not only was the bread limp, but the chicken was tough, and to top it all half of the sandwich had CHICKEN SKIN, which had to be taken out, and the overall sandwich was extremely poor quality

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kc_sunshine786
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IHG Service, Owner at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Hello kc_sunshine786,

Hosting your stay is a pleasure for us. We appreciate you for choosing Crowne Plaza ANA Kyoto for your accommodation needs. Thank you for sharing your experience.

I am sorry to learn what happened. I've sent your feedback to our management team as a reference for improvements.

I hope to get another chance to host your next visit. We promise to make the value of your experience worth it for all the right reasons.

Yours in hospitality,

Jeraldine R.
Case Manager
IHG Hotels & Resorts Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews