We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of New Miyako Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New Miyako Hotel
Ranked #46 of 374 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Perfect location right across from station. Easy to locate. Close too many shops. Rooms were a good size however the bed was like concrete!! Bathroom pretty small, caravan style. But overall still a very good stay. One other downfall is the tour desk is only open for a short time in the morning. We ended up booking our tours at the station which worked out cheaper anyway!
Staff all speak good english. Would recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank IslandLover222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,133)
There are newer reviews for New Miyako Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 585 of 2,133 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel is across the road from the train station and nearby to shops and restaurants. We had the western style buffet breakfast each morning which great. Sadly we weren't in Kyoto for long but this was a great location for us

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank tonianddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is right across the street from the Kyoto JR station. You really just need to exit the station and walk a few feet to get to the hotel. The station is host to countless shops and restaurants, which makes this a very convenient hotel to stay at. You'll also see that city tours leave from the lobby of the hotel and they also drop you off there. There is free wi-fi and the staff is very friendly and helpful. If you need to leave your luggage in the hotel for any reason, they have a small room where they can keep it for you.
I have no negative comments about this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictorMiyagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at 4 different hotels during our stay in Japan and this was my favourite. I felt welcomed and the staff spoke good English and offered help whenever we needed it.
We felt relaxed and comfortable at this hotel.

The wi-fi is also free.

The hotel is opposite Kyoto station, which is huge and we had to walk through to the other side of the station everyday to take buses. We searched for a shortcut to the bus station, but couldn't find one. The buses are definitely the best form of transport in Kyoto for sightseeing and are the cheapest.

We did not eat at the hotel because of the vast amount of restaurants and cafés in Kyoto station.

The rooms were kept very clean. We placed the 'Eco' clean magnet on the outside of the door to have just the bins emptied and the towels left, but the towels were changed. The white duvet covers were also changed everyday.

The only problem with the hotel is the bathrooms, they are so small. I banged my knee a couple of times on the sink, climbing into the deep bath to take a shower. But,again the the bathroom was very clean and well stocked.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tink11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Granted, we only stayed in three locations, but this was the best hotel we stayed in. The room was very comfortable, as was the bathroom. The bathroom had the usual short tub and bidet toilet. We asked for a bed pad as the bed was hard like all others in Japan. The food choices in the hotel were amazing (but expensive like everywhere). The buffet was wonderful. We get the buffet included in our room and we ate enough to last until dinner if we wanted. There was a guest services area which was staffed by people who spoke English. They provided very helpful information to get around town.

Other info..........the Kyoto subway system is nothing like Tokyo's and we did not try it. We did try the bus system but got so confused, we gave up. We had to use taxis more than any other town and they are very expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beisenbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel was ideally located near the Kyoto railway station. As we had a 7 day JR rail pass this made it the ideal spot to get out and about.
The shopping centre & food halls in the Rail station are mind boggling in size and choice of shopping. The 11 level escalator straight up, in "The Cube" complex, is a sight to behold.
This hotel was part of a upgraded accomodation package, we bought at home, so I have rated price as average.
Our room we later found out, was one of the unrenovated rooms on the 5th floor in the main block, facing the rail station. Being a popular Hotel, the room was as clean as it could be, but was very tired looking, due to wear and tear. Scratched walls and scuff marks all around. The renovations probably need to happen a little quicker.
The room size is reasonable for Japan, rooms are not made up daily, but fresh towels are supplied on request only. Beds as usual for Japan, are firm to hard, I needed extra padding on the mattress for comfort. A request for extra padding was quickly addressed, by house keeping.
Breakfast was average with most items cold eggs, bacon & sausage, due to the serving platter's lids being left open. As they do not eat much toast in Japan, the manual toaster oven was inadequate two slices only? Waiters also needed reminding to fill your cups with coffee / tea.
There was an out side bar / pool but we did not get there, it was harder to find as you has to enter via another wing of the hotel, when we went to look at it, it was closed, 6.30 pm
If you get the chance, do the guided Nara walking tour - 4.5 km (of Japans very first capital city) and the Kyoto afternoon walking tour, 4.5km. I suggest you do not do them in the one day as we did, as you will be exhausted.
Another pleasant side trip is to the nearby bamboo forest. If the "Romance train" along the gorge is not running, (Wed) you still can go by commuter train - 40 min.

Room Tip: Our room on the 5th floor main block was quiet but you could hear traffic noise, so higher level roo...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skiclubtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very conveniently located across from the Kyoto main station. Staff was helpful and respectful. Enjoyed the amazing assortment of vending machines after hours. WiFi was weak, but I got the job done. You need to cross to the other side of the station to get into the real action of Kyoto.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#17 of 374 in Kyoto
3,039 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#33 of 374 in Kyoto
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
#51 of 374 in Kyoto
1,116 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#26 of 374 in Kyoto
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Miyako Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Miyako Hotel

Address: 17 Nishi Kujoin-machi, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8412, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#19 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: £88 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Miyako Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 714
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your New Miyako Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Miyako Kyoto
Hotel New Miyako
New Miyako Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing